04/13 J.D. +8.5 110, PMPS 440

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
307 PMPS
185 +6.5

I wasn't sure if I should increase J.D.'s dose last night, because I woke up to the 51 the night before. But, he was pink at PMPS, I got home from work late at +12.5, and had to make a quick decision, and so I did the increase.
And Ginger had diarrhea.

I wasn't sure if I should keep the increased dose this morning, again because I don't know if it's smart with that 51 he just had. But, I decided to hold the dose. And then he hasn't eaten this morning, except for one small freeze dried piece of chicken and a bunch of grass.
And Ginger has diarrhea.

I have this delima (sp?) dilemma. J.D. (mostly, when I don't forget) gets his Azodyl when I come home at night, because it's supposed to be given on an empty tummy (like I really know if he's eaten or not in the last hour :roll: ) and he (mostly, when I don't forget) gets his Denamarin in the morning, because it's supposed to be given on an empty tummy (and usually, I think, J.D. stays asleep with me through the night and does not get up for midnight snacks?)
but now that the weather is a little better, and I want the kitties (at least J.D.) to get as much exercise and sunshine as possible, I have been letting them outside for a brief time before I go to work in the morning and after I come home from work at night. But that is right after J.D. gets his pills. And my cats love to eat grass. I used to call them my cows. Sometimes they throw up, most times they don't.
Thursday night, I gave J.D. his Azodyl and he went outside after, ate grass, and threw up his pill. Last night, I forgot to give it to him, so gave it to him this morning, and he was then found outside in the grass, grazing. I said please don't throw up your pill. This time, he did just throw up a little bile with grass and I did not see the capsule in it (I did also give him Pepcid when I gave the Azodyl). I don't know how to give them outside time, and give J.D. these pills that need to be given on an empty tummy, and not have J.D. throw up the pills because of his grass habit, with the limited time I have at home. I guess I could get up at 4:00am (+10) in the morning, but I work right up until PMPS, so I am not home at +10 time in the afternoon.

Oh well. Time to open another flavor and try to get J.D. to eat something. He happily ate just fine, last night.
 
Re: 04/13 J.D. AMPS 175, +1.25 148

Dyana said:
I don't know how to give them outside time, and give J.D. these pills that need to be given on an empty tummy, and not have J.D. throw up the pills because of his grass habit, with the limited time I have at home.
Hi Dyana; beautiful numbers for J.D. How about if you didn't let him out and eat grass for a day or two? And give when you think his little tummy is empty?
 
Re: 04/13 J.D. AMPS 175, +1.25 148

Purty blues this morning. :-D Now eat yer fuds, J.D.! That is a dilemma about letting him out and when to give the meds. How critical is it that the meds are on an empty tummy?
Liz
 
Re: 04/13 J.D. AMPS 175, +1.25 148

Morning Dyana, great numbers for J.D. What a dilemma with pills and all. I wish I could let Scratchie out for 'grazing' time but it's impossible here at the condo where there are so many 'droolers'. He has to settle for the open doors to get air - we have a lot of birds so hell sit there for hours!!

Hope his appy gets better and the pill problem becomes less of a problem! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 04/13 J.D. AMPS 175, +1.25 148, +2 141, +4 58

Oh, I'm sure I'll figure out the pill problem.
And, Anne, I have heard of people that give them on a not so empty tummy. I'll just do what I can.

I just woke up from a btb, and he still hasn't eaten. I just tried some MC FF Roasted Chicken. He sniffed and seemed interested at first when I opened the can and showed it to him, but once it was in the bowl, he walked on. He'll eat treats and bits of steak just fine. I'm going to try some MC FF Medleys next.
 
Re: 04/13 J.D. AMPS 175, +1.25 148, +2 141, +4 58

Hi J.D.. Whoa boy. Keep the green surf to a safe level. And make sure you eats your fuds!

Gosh. I have no advice on the feeding/pill quandry. I wonder too how important the empty tummy is and for how long; maybe just 30 min?

Thanks for checking in on FB.
Hope you are having a wondeful Caturday.
Karen
 
Re: 04/13 J.D. AMPS 175, +1.25 148, +2 141, +4 58

Hi Dyana,
How about this sequence: outdoor time and grass eating --> vomit --> pills --> food.

J.D., The LagoonMeister advises you to SURF SAFE!

Have a good weekend, Dyana. I hope Ginger's diarrhea has ended!

Ella & Rusty
 
04/13 J.D. +5 59, +6 49, +6.5 60, +7.5 61

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Dyana,
How about this sequence: outdoor time and grass eating --> vomit --> pills --> food.

J.D., The LagoonMeister advises you to SURF SAFE!

Have a good weekend, Dyana. I hope Ginger's diarrhea has ended!

Ella & Rusty

That sounds like a good idea, Ella. They do like to go outside when it's still dark outside before sunrise. I just have to watch the cats closer (maybe leash them both). I just feel better when they are out and about when I can see them in the sunshine. J.D. always goes directly to the front door when I first get up, so maybe I'll start to oblige him.

Ginger still has diarrhea. I don't know if I can give her J.D.'s Flagyl or not. When I asked the vet if I could stop it for J.D., I asked if I could give it to Ginger when she has these "bouts" and he said yes. I've been giving her FortiFlora. I'll wait until tomorrow. She is my ultra sensitive and sweetheart little girl.

J.D. has been eating off and on through out the day (he self fed that 49 at +6), and getting plenty of treats, mostly steak and freeze dried treats, but also a GNC Vitamin, the last of his EVO cat treats, and then a bunch of Ginger's Temptations treats. He has had about 3 walks, and is currently stretched out on the couch watching cat programs on Animal Planet.
 
J.D. ate all of his 1st Dinner, and went back again to make sure the plate was perfectly clean for the next helping.

I gave him his shot at +11.75 not only because of the high numbers and to get back on schedule, but mostly because J.D. was HUNGRY.. He does this thing where when he's hungry, he starts going after Ginger and when they get in a fight, then he starts his yowling. I created this monster, because J.D. learns easily, and the first couple of times, I gave him attention when he went after Ginger (exercise, yes, J.D. good boy) and then started howling.

So, up he goes. I'm off to the store..
 
I hope everything works out with juggling the pills and the grass. Hopefully J.D. will come back down soon. That's good he had a good appy for dinner. Sending Ginger healing vines for her tummy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top