04/13 Ella PMPS 369 +2 =297 +4 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Here is the condo from yesterday:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68528

I know this is a safe number to shoot but I'm not sure if I feel comofortable leaving her today if doing so as I can't take a +2
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

Tamara,
I'm sorry, I just now woke up (late today) and need to get some coffee for this one. I'll need to look at her spreadsheet, too. Can you stall and test again in 20 or 30 minutes after the last test? You have the weekend off, to make up the time, right?
I'll be right back
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

yes have the weekend off.
re-testing in 7 minutes but i just fed her 2/8!
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

Okay, you fed her already. Just try to remember for the future, not to feed her until ready to shoot, so if we have to stall, we can get a non food influenced BG.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

176..she could be bouncing

i only fed her a mini snack and she didn't even eat all of it.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

I think today, may be one of the days you isolate her with food in a separate room, so her buddies won't eat all the food. Can you run home today, at lunch, to check her?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

I could but she will be at +6 by the time I get here.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

You can shoot the full dose, now, and leave out lots of food (and probably give her some MC food, now) and come home and check her at lunch.
Or, you can stall some more, and shoot the full dose (but she's already eaten, so her numbers should be rising, anyway).
Or, you can skip the shot (which we don't normally recommend).

What do you want to do?

Do you have the printouts of the links for shooting low numbers?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

I think I will shoot the full dose now...she'snever had the mc...so i'm not sure if she'll eat it. She is hungry for her food tho.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

You just mix a teaspoon of the HC food in with her regular LC food. Get another test before you leave.
You're going to isolate her with lots of food, right?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

yes....do u think that's not a good idea?
why can't i reduce?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

You can do a BCS dose (a one time reduced dose) if you are uncomfortable shooting the full dose, this morning.
Of say 1.00 unit of even 0.75, if that makes you feel more comfortable. We do not usually recommend shooting a BCS dose and stalling, too, as the stalling itself acts like a reduced dose and the BCS is just more of a reduced dose. But, it is your cat and you hold the needle. Also, the BCS dose normally does not affect this cycle so much as the next cycle (tonight's). It's up to you.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

Did you test her to see if she was rising more? And did you give her some MC and are you isolating her, today?
Sorry for all the repeated questions, but I would like to know.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

I tested her and went up to 176...she is eating her regular food now and she will be isolated today. Greg is giving me the car so I am actually going to leave at around 9:00am because I have a preparation period.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

yes but is my +2 going to be from when I last did her bg?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

oh no i might not be able to come back for lunch...i have a meeting!
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

The +2 is two hours after you gave her the insulin.
I would see if you can take a lunch break before or after the meeting and run home for a quick test, if you can.
That's what I would do. If that's impossible, then I would leave her in a room by herself with lots of food for her to munch during the day (I always leave out more than I think they will eat during the day).
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

I haven't fed her the mc yet. She still has more of her breffis to eat. if her numbers are higher before i leave should i give them to her anyways?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

The meeting is over lunch and it's an hour and a hlaf roundtrip. I don't think I will be able to make it home but will leave out lot's of food. If she is on a serious rise (bounce) should I still leave out food?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +158 (dosing advice)

I always leave out food for my cats to eat during the day. I would leave out some food.
Remember that if the +2 is the same as or close to the AMPS, then there could be some action that cycle.
You can do a +1.5 and post that number.

Can you fix the Subject Line of your first post to reflect the BG number when you shot the insulin. It was 176, I think.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176

I'm actually going to do a +1 right now...stand by...if you can:)
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176

+1 200...ok feeling a bit better. Not that I want her to bounce but I don't want her to give me super low before I leave the house. If she is on the rise do I still need to give her mc? Keep in mind, I did feed her 2/8 ar 5:50am so it has been two hours since she's eaten.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176 +1 200 +2=254

It seems like she is on the rise. Not sure if this is a bounce or if it's a food spike. It doesn't look like I'll be able to come home for lunch so I'll leave some food out for her.
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176 +1 200 +2=254 (question)

I'm heading out in 5. Does it seem like I should worry about her today?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176 +1 200 +2=254 (question)

Hi Tamara,
Just saw this. It looks OK to me. Leave out plenty of food for her and put her in a room by herself. You can make it up to her tonight!

Try not to worry!

Ella
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176 +1 200 +2=254 (question)

i think you did fine, tamara. i would try not to worry as well - you're going to make yourself crazy and unable to concentrate at work!

just tell yourself this is a marathon you're on, not a sprint.

enjoy your day as best as you can! hugs!
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176 +1 200 +2=254

Ok it's a marathon and I'm already so exahusted!
It's hard not to get worried when I'm not home to test. I feel like I really can't take total advantage of the tight protocol if I'm away all day. How am I supposed to help her surf numbers when I'm not around? As a result I'm up late at night gathering data to better understand her patterns and I have to say it's taking a toll on my emotional and physical health. I'm taking everyone's word for it that it gets easier ;-)

Sorry if I sound like a freakazoid in the mornings. Some of that comes from sleep deprivation and the stress that she might go hypo if I'm not home to catch her.

Happy Friday!
 
Re: 04/13 Ella AMPS +176 +1 200 +2=254

you're not a freakazoid, don't worry! although the word made me totally crack up! :lol: everyone worries. i'm just trying to reassure you a little bit. ya gotta go to work, so what's the choice?

i'm guessing if you're a teacher, you probably have the summer off, right? might be that we can just focus on maintenance for you right now for ella (which we already kinda are), and then when school's out you'll be able to relax a little more and go more for Tight Reg.

how does that sound?

are you in an end of may school district or late june?
 
Re: 04/13 Ella PMPS 369

Hello everyone,

Well Ella had another bounce.
It's my understanding that we don't increase or decrease doses until all bounces have stopped so I think this is going to be an epic marathon!

Julie: I do have the summer off although we don't finish up until the end of June. The other night Greg and I were chatting about the possibility of just maintaining her until the summer as well but if we hold off another 2-3 months and she remains in the hig numbers then she may have a reduced chance of getting OTJ... right?
It's difficult because I want her to get better quickly but currently it's at my own expense. Perhaps I need the experience of shooting a low number and seeing where it takes her without my interference, meaning leave her in a room with food and see what she does? I don't know much about hypoglycemia but if a cat doesn't bounce is it likely that they will take care of themselves if they have food available? If so, that would make me feel a bit safer but I'm sure there are no guarantees.

I'm glad it's the weekend:)
 
i think if i were in your shoes, tamara, i think i would get a multiple compartment feeder and if i were worried about her in the morning, i'd put her in a bedroom with a little bit of food every 45 minutes or so through the middle of her cycle. i had to leave punkin today at a 52, and i set 2 compartments with a tablespoon or so of high carbs in each one of them and went out. one opened 30 minutes after i left, then 30 minutes later the other compartment opened.

when i have run home from school at 11am and had to leave again in 5 minutes and he was low, i set the feeder to open 4 times at 30 minute intervals to get him past the nadir.

the feeder has bought me a lot of peace of mind.

i don't think any of us can answer the question about timing - did you read the post on glucose toxicity and how diabetes works? the only specific thing i recall from that info was that Rand did a study that said in normal cats, a sustained BG of 540 resulted in almost no pancreatic action in 3-7 days. Ella's not at 540, i know cat's pancreases can heal and damage is reversible up to some point, but i don't know what that point is. i doubt anyone knows. you have to weigh out the risks. the flip side is that cats do tolerate high numbers for a period of time. beyond that, your guess is as good as mine.
 
Hi Julie,

It sounds more and more like I need to get an auto feeder. I should probably also make sure she'll eat the high carb food before leaving it out as she is sooooo finicky!!! I imagine that I could mix it in with her regular food? Do you think a tsp of gravy mixed in with regular food will suffice?

I will be returning the fountain today as Ella doesn't use it and she hasn't asked me to water her since she started the wet food! YAY! While I'm out and about I will look for the auto feeder as it probably will give me peace of mind...unless it chooses to go on strike!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top