04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309 +3=272 +5=243 +7= 212

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Good morning!

Ella's liver didn't like surfing on the greens too much:(
Is it common to bounce this much when increasing a dose?
I realize that it is hamrful for her body to remain in higher numbers if she was on a lower dose but I'm wondering if the swooping bg's are healthy for her too?!
her appetite isn't as good this am. Hopefully I can get her to eat more before I leave.
Thanks for your continued support!
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

You did a good job last night, Tamara.
If she doesn't eat that much before you leave, does she have food accessable to her during the day, if she decides she's hungry later?
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Thanks Dyana!

If she doesn't eat her morning meal I will isolate her with food.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

hi tamara! just read through your condo from yesterday - i'd read earlier in the day pre-excitement, but all of your questions had been answered at that point and i didn't post.

you handled everything just right. way to go! and everyone survived!

the bounce is normal. when you weigh out the different things that happen and how important they are, your most important goal is getting her BG into normal numbers (50-100) and keeping her there as long as possible. the bounces happen, the high numbers happen, you can't completely control those things.

but getting her below 100 is a success, and having her be there for several hours is another success. that's what's important!

the more time she spends there, the more her liver will learn to recognize it as a safe range of BG numbers, and hopefully, will allow her to remain there.

hope you're having a good day at work today. i'll be curious how long she takes to clear the bounce and show you some blues/greens again. it might be as much as 3 days. we just hold the dose the same during a bounce.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Hi Julie,

She's been clearing her bounces quite quickly. Just to clarify, are these bounces the same as Somogyi rebound?
If so, I've been doing some reading and that can also happen when there is too much insulin as well. I understand that I have to keep her in the low numbers for her liver to get used to them but looking at the ss, her first bounce was when she was bumped to 4 units and it was decided that it was too much. Could it be possible that 1.25 might be a tad too much? I know I mentioned this yesterday but after reading up on Somogyi effect it got me thinking:)
Please excuse my ignorance...if I'm totally wrong:)
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

the short answer is that no, she isn't getting too much insulin.

sienne has done a bunch of research on somogyii - maybe she'll post it for you. i don't recall the details, but the bottom line is that the person who came up with this idea was in the 1930's, i believe, and had just a few people in the study. no cats. no further confirmation of the whole idea, but the word won't go away - people bring it up regularly here.

i suspect the reason it comes up is because we see the bouncing. that is not indicative of too much insulin - it's indicative of the cat having developed a tolerance for high blood glucose to a point where the liver thinks that's where it's supposed to be. the cure for it is more insulin, commitment to getting them into the 50-120ish range, (i should have said 120 earlier, rather than 100) and keeping them there.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Thanks for clarifying this for me Julie. Sienne did share some info on liver regulation with me yesterday along with some other folks.
I'm so tired today!!! I wish I had a live in cat nanny for the evening shift :lol: :lol: :lol:

Out of curiosity, If I see those green numbers again, do I need to test every 30 minutes or was it a bit over the top?
It was definitely a good experience for me...and I did learn something but if I don't have to stress so much..I'd rather not!
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Hi Tamara!

I just caught myself up on yesterday's condo ... what a night eh? I remember when we first went through that with Kitten...oh my the nerves lol. But it does get easier and you learn to relax when you see the greens. Just remember, those are the numbers that you want to be seeing after all :) (just not too low, but Ella was great last night!). You did a fantastic job!

Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Thanks Lil! I'm burning through those strips like nobody's business! FD is going to make me broke and stressed out but my lil Ella is worth it:)
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

I wish I had a live in cat nanny for the evening shift.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Binks decided I was his 24/7 little servant...
We were worn out and "financially embarrassed" by the end of it...
but we sure had some laughs along the way!

What a night you had!!
hang in there, girl!
You'll learn the "valuable secret of cat-napping" quickly :lol: :lol:

celi & binks

cat+nap+here.bmp
 
Re: 04,12 Ella AMPS 419

Thanks Celi!!!! I'm def feeling like that cat right now! I can't wait for bed!
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410

Hi, Tamara! You did great - and those green numbers are wonderful. The bounces will come and go, and they are always hard to see, but in time they will lessen. Hang in there!
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410

Thanks for the support Randa!

Mookie is one pretty kitty!!!
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410

it's hard to say how often you need to test - it depends on the number, where it falls in the cycle (ie, have you passed the nadir yet?) and how that particular cat responds to carbs.

as you gather information and experience, you're going to know the answer to that question. sorry to not be more concrete with the answer, but that truly is it.

for punkin, today i caught a 50 at +4.75. i know his usual nadir is around +5.5 and he's pretty consistent with it, although if he's skating low it can go til +6.5 or even later. so when i saw the 50 at +4.75, i started carbing and retesting every 20-30 minutes until he was til +6.5 and rising. but that's punkin - your job is to figure out what ella's patterns are. cats are just all so different on this.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410

Hi Julie,

I'm getting the feeling that the wet food doesn't bring her numbers up all that much as whenever I have fed her at +9 it doesn't seem to affect her ps number that much. However I do know that she is carb sensitive as I saw her sky rocket on the dry.
Since she's high right now can I just do a +2? I probably won't have it in me to get a +6 tonight but I will get a bg before I go to bed.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309

+2 309 which 100 points less than pmps. Is tha considered a big drop?
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309

I would consider 50 points an hour, with food on board, a decent drop. I would test again in an hour or two.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309 +3=272

i think you're going to want to master the art of sleeping in between testing. i park on the sofa and use my cell phone alarm until i think i'm done. then you go to bed when you want and just wake up to check.

only 37 points in the past hour - she's slowed down.
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309 +3=272

+5 243

think i need to wake up again?
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309 +3=272 +5=243

She isn't coming down really fast but if she's clearing the bounce again, she could slide all night. How hard would it be to sleep for two hours and then test? I'm probably the worse to answer because my Graciemwas the most unpredictable cat ever on lantus. I never could go to bed for the night if I didnt having rising numbers. So I'm conservative! :-D
 
Re: 04,12 Ella PMPS 410 +2= 309 +3=272 +5=243

+7 212

She is still sliding but very slowly.
 
I know you must be dead tired -- we've all been there. This protocol isn't easy to follow, and having to test late at night is one of the reasons why it's hard. You're a great mama bean to Ella. :YMHUG:
 
Tamara....gosh I know you have to be exhausted. She is coming down fairly slow...I wonder if you an sleep for three hours?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top