04/11 Bubba AMPS 315; +3.5 225; +8 199; PMPS 243; +4 199

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

While Bubba had some daytime blues after the reduction to 6.5U (from 7U) on April 2, he never recovered/stabilized properly. This precious boy of mine needs to like greens and blues!!
After a reduction, can cats just not stabilize again and require an increase so soon? Anyone know?

***:cool::D:cool::D vibes***

**go away :nailbiting::oops:**
 
Bubba is way more perky today...dad gave him some cat nip this morning and he was rolling around, bathing and eating it up LOL
He tried to poop but nothing came out; he's had a couple of good poops the last few days, so hopefully it will pass soon... gave him 1/8tsp extra of restoralax in a snack this afternoon (normally he gets 1/4tsp in his breakfast every morning)
 
Last edited:
Thankfully Bubsin had a pretty stable day today in the yellows and no PMPS pink!

let’s see what tonight does for my boopsie boy
 
After a reduction, can cats just not stabilize again and require an increase so soon? Anyone know?
Yup, happens a lot. There are many reasons for it. In a cat with a fragile pancreas, sometimes they aren't healed enough to take the reduction. In a cat with a secondary condition causing insulin resistance, there can be other factors at play, such as antibodies or excess growth hormone. That's why the protocol explicitly talks about failed reductions.

OK Bubba, let's see some blues next.
 
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom

I posted this last night, but in case you missed it (which is totally ok!)
question for you:
On April 6 Bubba was 5.8mmol / 104 at PMPS. It was that night Bubba dropped to a lime and had some nice greens too. I know with TR we shoot whatever dose we’re at when BG is above 2.8mmol / 50…but since Bubba had a lower than usual preshot, should I have given less than 7U? or stalled & waited to see if Bub's BG increased on its own? if so, what would I do then? would the dose be a little bit lower than 7U? - still enough to coast him to greens, but not so much to cause a lime. He ate dinner and a few meals afterwards, so he had a full stomach.
I’ve read the “when to shoot low” document, but am still wondering and trying to figure it all out with the data I have. Thank you!
 
When following TR, we shoot as low as 50 (2.8). Neko never gave me that chance, I only shot 51 a couple times. :p On 3/15 you shot a 103 and you've shot a number of lower blue preshots. So I wouldn't call 104 low for Bubba.

This is the document you were referring to? Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

One option is to stall, but you knew he was on his way up because he'd had a 67 at AM+7 that day. So you didn't need to stall to see if he was coming up. That option is good if there is a large gap in testing during the day, and people don't know if the BG is on the way up, down or flat. And stalling is only something you do the first couple times, until you have better data on how Bubba handles lower numbers. Reduced doses are not my favourite option. Due to the nature of the depot, the first part of the cycle will play out like you shot the full dose, unless you do a lot lower dose. A little lower won't do it, especially with a higher dose cat. It is an option if you cannot monitor that cycle, or need sleep, etc. Best option is to post and ask for help, and have people run you through the options that relate to that particular moment.
 
When following TR, we shoot as low as 50 (2.8). Neko never gave me that chance, I only shot 51 a couple times. :p On 3/15 you shot a 103 and you've shot a number of lower blue preshots. So I wouldn't call 104 low for Bubba.

This is the document you were referring to? Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

One option is to stall, but you knew he was on his way up because he'd had a 67 at AM+7 that day. So you didn't need to stall to see if he was coming up. That option is good if there is a large gap in testing during the day, and people don't know if the BG is on the way up, down or flat. And stalling is only something you do the first couple times, until you have better data on how Bubba handles lower numbers. Reduced doses are not my favourite option. Due to the nature of the depot, the first part of the cycle will play out like you shot the full dose, unless you do a lot lower dose. A little lower won't do it, especially with a higher dose cat. It is an option if you cannot monitor that cycle, or need sleep, etc. Best option is to post and ask for help, and have people run you through the options that relate to that particular moment.


thanks Wendy; I was thinking in hindsight if I could have done something different, or the like to learn/know alternatives for future. Yes, it was that document and I think a paragraph from somewhere else, but I can't find it :oops:
 
After 4 bouncy nights of pinks and yellows (boo!), we got a blue tonight! albeit it's right on the border for yellow, but I will take it! :) :)
Bubsa finished his dinner and is now relaxing/bathing
 
Back
Top