04/11/17 Squallie AMPS 111, +5/54, +7/55, PMPS 62/72, +2/66, +3/59, +5.30/71

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know we want to get our kitties into "normal" bg ranges to give their pancreases a chance to heal, but is it okay for Squallie to be spending so much time in the 50s? Should I try to bring him up a little? He seems perfectly happy.
 
:D

Q1.6. What is the goal of treatment?

A1.6. The overall goal is a happy and healthy cat with a normal lifespan. Ideally, this is achieved by using diet and insulin (and possibly drugs and exercise) to get your cat's blood glucose as close as possible to normal glucose values (under 120 mg/dl or 6.7 mmol/L) without ever descending into unsafe hypoglycemic levels (under 40 mg/dl or 2.2 mmol/L). For some cats, particularly that lucky minority that can be controlled with a low-carbohydrate diet alone, normal blood glucose values are attainable ("normalization"). Most other cats, particularly those who do not respond consistently to food and insulin, or those who have health problems which interfere wish their ability to get to near-normal blood glucose values, may need to be kept at higher overall blood glucose values in order to avoid the risk of hypoglycemia. For these cats, a more realistic goal is "regulation,"

http://www.felinediabetes.com/fdmb-faq.htm

I would just enjoy it.
 
111 is a normal number and with meter variance I wouldn't call it a bounce. Sometimes when the are continuing to see nadirs in the 50's a drop below could be in the horizon. Since you're following the 3 and under guideline I'd just say Squallie has become a well regulated cat and you're both doing great.
 
Okay, his PMPS is 62, so I'm stalling. What do I do if he doesn't come up appreciably? Reduced dose? Skip shot? Apparently, on 3/27 I shot a 66, I must have been out of my mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top