04/10 Daphne AMPS 148 +3 115 +5 143 PMPS 143 +3.5 129

Nice start this morning Karen :bighug::cat:

Things are looking up! We're waiting for kidney panel results, but the glucose seems to be settling down. You would know more about these trends, but I'm encouraged. When I told the vet that Daph is now on .25 bid, she suggested that I might consider shooting her once a day.
Do people shoot once a day???
 
Things are looking up! We're waiting for kidney panel results, but the glucose seems to be settling down. You would know more about these trends, but I'm encouraged. When I told the vet that Daph is now on .25 bid, she suggested that I might consider shooting her once a day.
Do people shoot once a day???
No way do we shoot once a day, she will be sky high at night then and it will screw up all of her BG numbers
Daphne's numbers are looking good! Don't worry she's doing great ,so are you :cat:
@Daphne'sChallenge
Do you know how to tag members if you need help?
Or if you need advice you can always put in your title
? Need Advice whatever it might be about
Then just type what ever you want
 
Last edited:
No way do we shoot once a day, she will be sky high at night then and it will screw up all of her BG numbers
Daphne's numbers are looking good! Don't worry she's doing great ,so are you :cat:
@Daphne'sChallenge
Do you know how to tag members if you need help?
Or if you need advice you can always put in your title
? Need Advice whatever it might be about
Then just type what ever you want

OK. I get it. I tag with @ (name) when I have a question. I'll look back to see the names of the people you suggested. Let me try this.
 
Daphne saw her vet today, and I confessed to working with this group, which she was fine with. However, when I told her that Daphne is now on .25 bid, she suggested that I might consider shooting her once a day.

Do people shoot once a day???

Also, I have her kidney panel numbers:
Creatinine: 2.4 ; (1/2024 1.3; 10/24 1.8)
BUN: 28; (10/2024 23)

The vet stated that the creatinine is "high normal." She said that the high protein diet might be affecting these numbers. I've been concerned because Daphne has stopped drinking water so I've been adding water and broth to her FF pates which are rather dry. Our conversation wasn't optimal because she reached me in a doctor's office. She suggested that some of the people in her practice use something called Hydracare and I might try that.

For those of you with experience in kidney issues, do any of you have any thoughts on any or all of this? Honestly, I was appalled when the vet suggested shooting once a day! Isn't Glargine a 12-hour medication? Thank you so much for your help. I feel that our little sweetie is getting better and her numbers are leveling off, thanks to the support I'm getting here. (We stopped dry Gluco Support --which this same vet advised us to use.)

Karen and Daphne

@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@DianeTylersMom
 
Last edited:
04/10 AMPS 148 +3 115 +5 143 PMPS 143

Daphne saw her vet today, and I confessed to working with this group, which she was fine with. However, when I told her that Daphne is now on .25 bid, she suggested that I might consider shooting her once a day.

Do people shoot once a day???

Also, I have her kidney panel numbers:
Creatinine: 2.4 ; (1/2024 1.3; 10/24 1.8)
BUN: 28; (10/2024 23)

The vet stated that the creatinine is "high normal." She said that the high protein diet might be affecting these numbers. I've been concerned because Daphne has stopped drinking water so I've been adding water and broth to her FF pates which are rather dry. Our conversation wasn't optimal because she reached me in a doctor's office. She suggested that some of the people in her practice use something called Hydracare and I might try that.

For those of you with experience in kidney issues, do any of you have any thoughts on any or all of this? Honestly, I was appalled when the vet suggested shooting once a day! Isn't Glargine a 12-hour medication? Thank you so much for your help. I feel that our little sweetie is getting better and her numbers are leveling off, thanks to the support I'm getting here. (We stopped dry Gluco Support --which this same vet advised us to use.)

Karen and Daphne

@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@DianeTylersMom


 
It would be helpful if you could put the lab results into the spreadsheet, there is a separate tab, along with the lab’s reference ranges, since those can vary.

Don’t worry about starting a new condo, it happens, I’m sure one of the moderators, like @Wendy&Neko whom you tagged earlier will combine them.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...el-and-vet-suggests-shooting-once-day.288654/

We don’t often find that once a day dosing works well for cats, because of their metabolism, although I suppose as with all things, there can be exceptions. The duration of Lantus is generally such that twice a day is best.
 
I will also suggest that tagging people can sometimes be a wee bit overdone, so if you have a question, better to change your title to show a question mark, which will indicate you have a question in your post that you’d like forum members to help you with :)
 
It would be helpful if you could put the lab results into the spreadsheet, there is a separate tab, along with the lab’s reference ranges, since those can vary.

Don’t worry about starting a new condo, it happens, I’m sure one of the moderators, like @Wendy&Neko whom you tagged earlier will combine them.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...el-and-vet-suggests-shooting-once-day.288654/

We don’t often find that once a day dosing works well for cats, because of their metabolism, although I suppose as with all things, there can be exceptions. The duration of Lantus is generally such that twice a day is best.

I'll get that tomorrow AM. I only got a phone call from the vet (as I was with my husband at his doctor's office) so I don't have the ranges, but I can call the office tomorrow and get them.

I'm all in tonight. Thank you for helping me through this. Daphne's numbers just now were encouraging at +3.5 129.
 
so I don't have the ranges, but I can call the office tomorrow and get them.
Karen the reference ranges are already in the spreadsheet in the lab tab
Did she send the blood out or do it in the office
If she sent them out who did she use ,I forget what lab place ranges are listed on the spreadsheet , sometimes you have to change them depending on what lab she sent them to
Tell the vets office to e mail you a copy or go pick them up if it's not to far from you
@Daphne'sChallenge
 
Lantus is not a once a day insulin. That would be a huge mistake. You are starting to see better numbers. If you are feeding all lc wet you could switch to TR. You would have not reduced the dose with the 83. Are you feeding a different dry or all wet now? Adding water to the food and not feeding dry will be good for her kidneys. Cats don’t drink as much when fed all wet or raw food as there’s more moisture in their food.
 
@tiffmaxee why would she have not reduced when she got the 83?
She's not feeding any dry food
Help me understand or were you talking about if she switched to TR then no reduction ?
On her post from 4-9 when she hit 84 she was told
When following SLGS, you do reduce the dose by 0.25 units if they go below 90, regardless of type of meter.
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee why would she have not reduced when she got the 83?
She's not feeding any dry food
Help me understand or were you talking about if she switched to TR then no reduction ?
On her post from 4-9 when she hit 84 she was told
When following SLGS, you do reduce the dose by 0.25 units if they go below 90, regardless of type of meter.
Yes. I was saying since she’s not feeding dry she could follow TR if she chooses.
 
She suggested that some of the people in her practice use something called Hydracare and I might try that.
I found an old post here by a member and she said
THe ingredients are: Water, whey protein isolate, glycerin, guargum, liver flavour, potassium chloride. A250219.

See what anyone else says about the Hydracare ingredients and see if they think they are ok
@Daphne'sChallenge

You can read about it here and reviews
https://www.proplanveterinarydiets....dra-care-feline-hydration-supplement#overview
 
Last edited:
Also, I have her kidney panel numbers:
Creatinine: 2.4 ; (1/2024 1.3; 10/24 1.8)
BUN: 28; (10/2024 23)
Do you have other parameters in the kidney panel? SDMA, electrolytes, calcium, phosphorus etc?
Her creatinine has jumped quite a bit in the last 3 months, but SDMA is a more accurate parameter of kidney disease since many factors can raise creatinine including dehydration.


Honestly, I was appalled when the vet suggested shooting once a day! Isn't Glargine a 12-hour medication?
Cats don't get a 24 hour duration on insulin due to their faster metabolism, which is why they get insulin twice a day, unlike humans. Please continue to give her insulin twice a day.
 
Last edited:
However, when I told her that Daphne is now on .25 bid, she suggested that I might consider shooting her once a day.
You can consider it, but I'd reject it. In my time here, I have seen exactly two cats dose once a day, and it was more like "as needed" and more like 0.1 units. So unusual cases of cats that just needed a tiny bit of insulin support occasionally and getting mostly solid green numbers. Daphne doesn't fit that description. She needs two doses a day.
 
Karen the reference ranges are already in the spreadsheet in the lab tab
Did she send the blood out or do it in the office
If she sent them out who did she use ,I forget what lab place ranges are listed on the spreadsheet , sometimes you have to change them depending on what lab she sent them to
Tell the vets office to e mail you a copy or go pick them up if it's not to far from you
@Daphne'sChallenge

The vet is real close, so I'll get a copy today.
Lantus is not a once a day insulin. That would be a huge mistake. You are starting to see better numbers. If you are feeding all lc wet you could switch to TR. You would have not reduced the dose with the 83. Are you feeding a different dry or all wet now? Adding water to the food and not feeding dry will be good for her kidneys. Cats don’t drink as much when fed all wet or raw food as there’s more moisture in their food.

I'm only feeding her FF pates with a little organic chicken broth. Also used clam juice.
 
Back
Top