04/09 Daphne'sChallenge AMPS 189 +3 97 +4 83 +5 136 PMPS 112 +1.5 127 +2.5 139

Daphne'sChallenge

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ge-amps-217-1-75-202-4-5-115-pmps-153.288546/

Daphne seems to be doing very well on .5. Now, if I can just get her to drink more. The only thing that works, minimally, is to add chicken stock or clam juice to her FF but if I get it too soupy, she won't eat.

Meanwhile, I mistakenly wrote that she's going to the vet today for a kidney panel, but that appointment is actually tomorrow. :cat:
 
Last edited:
Hi Karen, since she dropped under 90 again you will reduce tonight's dose again to 0.25 units , she's really responding good to the lantus.
I will tag a few members to confirm that :cat:
I can't wait until you switch to the human meter lol
When you do I see Bhooma said yesterday just start a conversation with her and let her know and she will fix the 2 color codings for you and will put Daphne's SS at the end of your signature
Good luck with the vet visit tomorrow
@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
Ladies Karen messaged me and said she fed medium carbs @+4
Should she have fed regular low carb at that point.
She's new here and I'm trying to help her out
Soon she will be switching to a human meter
With using the Alpha Trak what number should she feed medium carbs
Thank you ladies
 
Last edited:
Take action on a pet meter is 68 time to feed high carbs,then check in 15 or 20 minutes again
Can you put in the remarks section on the SS you fed med carb @+4
And add it to your post today

Just a reminder about carbs
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
Last edited:
When following SLGS, you do reduce the dose by 0.25 units if they go below 90, regardless of type of meter.

There is no "when you hit this number on AT feed medium carb" guideline. It depends on many things. What point of the cycle are you at, how carb sensitive the cat is. Given that +5 value, I'd say low carb would have been fine in this case. You want Daphne to spend time in healing high green numbers and not shoot too high. Once the cat has nadired (point when insulin action is the strongest) you don't need as high a carbs to boost them. Also, some cats need a light touch on extra carbs, others need really high carbs. If you write on the Remarks section how much of what % carbs you gave when you gave extra food, you'll soon learn what works for Daphne.
 
When following SLGS, you do reduce the dose by 0.25 units if they go below 90, regardless of type of meter.

There is no "when you hit this number on AT feed medium carb" guideline. It depends on many things. What point of the cycle are you at, how carb sensitive the cat is. Given that +5 value, I'd say low carb would have been fine in this case. You want Daphne to spend time in healing high green numbers and not shoot too high. Once the cat has nadired (point when insulin action is the strongest) you don't need as high a carbs to boost them. Also, some cats need a light touch on extra carbs, others need really high carbs. If you write on the Remarks section how much of what % carbs you gave when you gave extra food, you'll soon learn what works for Daphne.

Hi Karen, since she dropped under 90 again you will reduce tonight's dose again to 0.25 units , she's really responding good to the lantus.
I will tag a few members to confirm that :cat:
I can't wait until you switch to the human meter lol
When you do I see Bhooma said yesterday just start a conversation with her and let her know and she will fix the 2 color codings for you and will put Daphne's SS at the end of your signature
Good luck with the vet visit tomorrow
@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
Ladies Karen messaged me and said she fed medium carbs @+4
Should she have fed regular low carb at that point.
She's new here and I'm trying to help her out
Soon she will be switching to a human meter
With using the Alpha Trak what number should she feed medium carbs
Thank you ladies


I bought the Relion meter and strips today, but I have 17 AlphaTrak left, and I hate to those them away. I'm frugal like that. Do you have to do a conversion on my numbers?
 
I bought the Relion meter and strips today, but I have 17 AlphaTrak left, and I hate to those them away. I'm frugal like that. Do you have to do a conversion on my numbers?

In 2023 when she went on ProZinc, she went into remission in about 6 weeks, so maybe her response isn't surprising.
Yes use up the Alpha Trak strips , glad you got the relion :cat:

Thanks for suggesting them! As you said, if I run low, I can go to a Walmart and pick up some more!!
 
When following SLGS, you do reduce the dose by 0.25 units if they go below 90, regardless of type of meter.

There is no "when you hit this number on AT feed medium carb" guideline. It depends on many things. What point of the cycle are you at, how carb sensitive the cat is. Given that +5 value, I'd say low carb would have been fine in this case. You want Daphne to spend time in healing high green numbers and not shoot too high. Once the cat has nadired (point when insulin action is the strongest) you don't need as high a carbs to boost them. Also, some cats need a light touch on extra carbs, others need really high carbs. If you write on the Remarks section how much of what % carbs you gave when you gave extra food, you'll soon learn what works for Daphne.

I didn't even realize there was a Comments section, so thanks for that tip. At the time I fed her, I didn't have a food chart link and only knew that 1 of my emergency cans was a MC, so I went with it. Since then Diane Tyler's Mom has shared a link that will help me code my food.
 
Back
Top