04/09 Blackie PMPS 98, +2 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116851&p=1227566#p1227566

Recap of yesterday's #s:

AMPS 135, 1.25u, 43g Evo 95% C&T
+1 90 - 33g Evo 95% C&T
+2 62
+4.5 71
PMPS 124, 1.25u, 43g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food
+1 - 33g Evo 95% C&T
+2 59

WCR: All is well with Blackie. She's currently sunning herself on our bed (I put her there) in the sun. :-D She also received a bit of brushing, as well as her daughter, Tiny, who is also sunning herself, but on the bedroom floor. Must be nice being a kitty! :-D

Question: This is cycle 20 of 1.25u; Ok to reduce by 0.25u, or not enough good #s yet? I know that the protocol states 7 days in mostly good #s, hence the question.

Just curious, and I expect a few "no" responses, anyway, but thought I'd ask since it doesn't hurt to ask, right? :-D

Sending tons of healing vines, positive thoughts, and prayers to whoever needs/wants them.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

I think it's worth a try!!

If the reduction fails, you just go back to the dose that was working...you don't have to wait any certain number of days

Good luck if you decide to do the decrease!
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

I think it's worth a try!!

If the reduction fails, you just go back to the dose that was working...you don't have to wait any certain number of days

Good luck if you decide to do the decrease!
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

Actually, for a long term diabetic, yes I do have to wait at least a certain amount of days (7, or more) to make sure that she's mostly in good #s. Or, she gets a # between 50 and 40 3x, or drops below 40 once.

She was diagnosed in 2010, and because of it, it's a bit harder for her to earn reductions. Hence my question. Thank you, though, Chris. :-D
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

Please ignore the other multiple posts. For some reason, the board is acting wonky, and I have more than 1 post. I saw that others have, too. Weird...
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

Yeah the board's been acting goofy all morning

Question: This is cycle 20 of 1.25u; Ok to reduce by 0.25u, or not enough good #s yet? I know that the protocol states 7 days in mostly good #s, hence the question.

I guess I'm not understanding then and this is a good learning opportunity for me...You've gotten more than a week of "mostly good #'s", which is one of the ways of earning a reduction

From the protocol:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. (This also includes the 3x below 50 option)

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Hopefully this will only post once this time...LOL
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

It's not answering my question. Again, thank you, Chris, for your help in this. :-D I will wait for more to chime in. :smile:
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67

Here's a wishy washy answer for you...I kinda feel like Buster is similar to Blackie in that we have been doing this quite some time and we have to wait for 3 drops below 50 before we try a reduction (which so far, hasn't stuck for us). So, if it were me, I would hold the dose for 2 more tests in the 40's. One question I ask myself is, how hard is it to get out of the 40s? I will take a reduction if it's a struggle and let it ride if it's not a big deal. I can see why you would want to reduce now. Seems like she should be able to hold it. It's cool that she's coming down in the dose oh so slooooowly :thumbup I hope some more expert eyes chime in soon - I am interested to see what others think.
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie AMPS 118 +1 80 +2 66 +2.5 67 +10 11

+10 110

You see, she HAS been reduced after being between 40-50 for 3x during the previous doses, and that's mainly the way I reduce her dose, which is a hard earned dose reduction. There may have been 1 or 2 times when she was below 40 once, which she did earn a reduction at that point.

What I would like to know is if her #s are mostly good enough to earn a 0.25u reduction at this point, and yes, she seems to be doing well overall with each new dose reduction.

And I wait. :-D
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie PMPS 98

i wouldn't, angela.

here's my thinking. she is a long-term diabetic. i see one number in the 40's on this dose, although it's possible there were others while you were gone.

the overriding factor in my mind is that she IS looking great on this dose and tonight her pmps came down. typically on cats that are hitting the "just right dose" the mid-cycle numbers come down first, which blackie's have done. next the pmps comes down and last the amps comes down.

i'm sure not every cat follows that pattern, but i've seen it happen a lot of times like that.

so, because she is doing so well right now, i'd hold this dose and see if the pmps will come down, and maybe even followed by the amps.

that's my thought anyway. does it make any sense?
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie PMPS 98

i should also add that she does have quite a few preshots while on this dose that are over 120, and i'd rather see everything under 120 before reducing based upon the "7 days in normal numbers" clause.
 
Re: Dose ? 04/09 Blackie PMPS 98, +2 65

+1 - 33g Evo 95% C&T
+2 65

That's what I thought, but it doesn't hurt to throw that question out there. Thank you, Julie. :smile: So, we'll continue to press on, and aim for 2 more #s between 40 and 50.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top