04/08 Mowgli PMPS 184; what should I dose?

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
Hi all!

Quick question! Mowgli’s BG is only 184 for his PMPS I think that 1.5u could be too high a dose for him tonight, Should I follow SLGS and give him a “token dose” of 0.5 or so?

Advice appreciated!
 
Can you wait 20 minutes without feeding and see if he is coming up or going down?
I can, I did already feed him ~80g friskies wet food, so I’m not sure if his BG would be an accurate read. I definitely want to keep him on a 6/6 schedule so I want to be able to dose him at 6:30pm (20mins from now) at the latest
 
Unfortunately, once you feed, the carbs can influence the BG, and you won’t know unless he is rocketing up, whether he is going up or down on his own. Let’s see what the next test says anyway.
 
@Wendy&Neko yes I agree, based on his feeding I would like to dose based on the 184 reading. Do you think 0.5 would be too low?

His BG was 209 45mins after his PMPS and eating 80g
 
Last edited:
I’m going to give him half a fancy feast give him 1u, and monitor closely for the next few hours.

Hopefully it will work out :nailbiting:
 
Eventually, with experience and data, you will be able to shoot anything above 90. The lower the preshot, typically means a flatter cycle. You have to feel comfortable with what you shoot. I would still get a before bed test because the depot can influence the PM cycle. Think of tonight as an experiment. It is probably too low a dose, but you won’t know until you try. Go back to 1.5 tomorrow..
 
You are welcome. We all remember what it was like to be new. And of course I have to see how the Canadian kitties are doing.
 
Back
Top