04/07 Jackson - AMPS 331, +2.5 253, +4 269, +7 341, PMPS 320, +2.5 246, +5 230, +9.5 295

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
Increased dose by 1 unit this morning.
New shot time is 5am and 5pm. I can get a test right before I start work at 8am (+3) and at my break at 10am (+5). This morning I pretty much woke up at 3am and stayed in bed until 4am. Trying to get used to this.
 
Action already.
I have to get ready for work in 5 minutes, but can take a super quick break at +4.
 
I tried to measure using my calipers. I was told to try 0.1 of R eventually. I don't have the R yet. When I measured from the lip of the syringe to the zero line with the calipers and then compared that to the other lines on the syringe, it came out to match 1 unit.
I then tried to measure 0.5 units further down on the syringe and it is such a tiny opening on the calipers. How do you measure 0.1 on the calipers? The zero line won't help, it depends upon how the individual syringe was marked.
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie
Spreadsheet Question: Why is the square turning black when I try to add what kind of treats I gave him?
When I added FD Beef to the +4 box it did not turn black but stayed yellow.
1775579163625.png
 
If I had some R, I could give him 1 drop right now at +7, correct?
@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
You can but I’m sorry I can’t stay with you if you do.

@Marje and Gracie
Spreadsheet Question: Why is the square turning black when I try to add what kind of treats I gave him?
When I added FD Beef to the +4 box it did not turn black but stayed yellow.
View attachment 77720
I don’t know. Did you try to manually change it to pink?
 
Most people start doing R experiments at PS time. But you aren't a newbie. If you can test now and the next 4 hours, you could try R. The thing to remember is that you are trying to figure out how the R impacts the numbers, when laid on top of what the L dose is doing. If you don't have a good idea how the L action alone would be working, the it's hard to tell what impact the R is having.
 
Also, 1 drop on an acro seldom does much, unless their overall L dose is much smaller. I used 2 drops R on Neko when she got below one unit Lev.

Depending on the type of syringes you have, the lines don't help you measure the dose when using calipers. Neko's last dose, I figure about 0.25 units, was below the zero line on the last set of BD's I had. Measure using calipers from the end of the plunger pushed in, which should like up with the zero line - but often doesn't.
 
One more thing, you generally don't want to shoot R the same cycle as a L increase, which you did this morning.
 
Sorry @Wendy&Neko I got confused when you wrote this:
I thought when you said "More like 0.1 units" that meant for acros and "I've seen a 30 unit cat max out at 0.5 units" so that was for acros too.
Let me know if you want to try an experiment with R and if so, when you have it (and more syringes) in hand. I'm back home now, though still jet lagged. Typically with an acro we'll start with a slightly higher dose of R than with a lower dose cat. More like 0.1 units. Acros really vary in how much R they need. I've seen a 30 unit cat max out at 0.5 units and way smaller dose cats need more. ECID, even more so.
 
I am bushed from waking up at 3:00am. There is no way I am staying up to give R tonight. I will be lucky to get up for a +2,
 
I got home from WalMart just in time for Jackson's test, shoot, and feed.
They already tried the Lantus Savings Card and that would only give me the 5 pens for $90.00. They tried the GoodRx code and that wouldn't go through.
The pharmacist I knew there way long ago when she had an 18 year old diabetic and J.D. was 19 years old said the codes didn't go through because it needs to be for a 30 day supply. She said my vet wrote 7 units? BID. She said at 7 units the box would last 68 days (I don't know where she got that from) and it needs to be a 30 day supply. But I saw the prescription and my vet wrote the prescription as UTD On a prescription, the abbreviation ut dict or utd stands for the Latin phrase ut dictum, which translates to "as directed".
I told them to give me back the prescription and I'll try other pharmacies.
Then I realized that my last pen (started on 03/29, only 10 days ago) is over half way gone already, and I told them to re-apply the prescription again. waited 15 more minutes for that, and I paid the $90.00 for the box, and raced home for Jackson's shot.
I got more test strips, syringes, a bottle of R, and the Lantus. Still need to get some Karo.

I am surpized that Jackson is lower at PMPS than he was at +7.

Anyway, I need to sleep. I am exhausted from waking up at 3:00am. Hopefully, maybe, I can try out the R on Saturday morning when I am off and can make up on much needed sleep during the day.
 
As for my comment on ranges of R doses for acros - it really is ECID. I've seen one 30 unit acro need no more than 0.5 units, and most others around that dose on several units of R. In general, almost all needed to start the R experiment at 0.1 units, and increase from there if needed.
 
As for my comment on ranges of R doses for acros - it really is ECID. I've seen one 30 unit acro need no more than 0.5 units, and most others around that dose on several units of R. In general, almost all needed to start the R experiment at 0.1 units, and increase from there if needed.
Thanks. I understand now.
How does one measure 0.1 unit?
I can do a drop by pushing in the plunger and holding it in while inserting the needle and then releasing the plunger.
 
The pharmacist I knew there way long ago when she had an 18 year old diabetic and J.D. was 19 years old said the codes didn't go through because it needs to be for a 30 day supply. She said my vet wrote 7 units? BID. She said at 7 units the box would last 68 days (I don't know where she got that from) and it needs to be a 30 day supply. But I saw the prescription and my vet wrote the prescription as UTD On a prescription, the abbreviation ut dict or utd stands for the Latin phrase ut dictum, which translates to "as directed".
If, for next time, I can get my vet to write the prescription for "20 units BID or as needed" that would be 40 units per day divided by the 1500 units in the 5 pens it would last 37.5 days if I don't measure out more than I need each time as I do. That should work.
 
@Marje and Gracie
Spreadsheet Question: Why is the square turning black when I try to add what kind of treats I gave him?
When I added FD Beef to the +4 box it did not turn black but stayed yellow.
View attachment 77720
Sorry to just get back to you on this but I finally had a chance to look at it. It’s because in the formatting, if the letters “HI” are in the text, it automatically makes it black. I revised it for you to just read “FD Chk” and it’s pink.
 
Back
Top