04/07/12 Ella PMPS 354 +2 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Good morning!

Ella was 353 at AMPS. She had a nice poo ( I was worried about the consistency from the diet change).
I'll do a + 2 but then will be out for a bit of the afternoon so I'll do what I can:)
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353

Good morning Tamara!

I looked back at last night, it looks like Ella had a nice yellow night. I'm glad to hear that she's not having GI issues from the diet change. :-D I'll check back for the +2.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

+2 381....well that's disappointing :sad:

I thought she was going to give us a similar pattern like the cycle before. I wonder why she would be rising?
I haven't even given her the second portion yet. We did move the shot times but only by 15 minute increments.
Thoughts?
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

She is in transition, there are a lot of variables in play....the reduction in dose, the change in food. She may have gone lower last night, and she could be bouncing. It's hard to say right now.

I wouldn't read too much into it at this point. I would stick to the plan, let's see what happens.

I know it's really tempting to compare cycles, but patterns with Lantus are typically not measured in hours, they are often several cycles long. It will drive you crazy if you try to compare each cycle to the previous one and try to figure out every little blip. ;-)
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

Ok thanks Laurie,

Should I still stick to the food schedule? I'm actually an hour and a half late as she wasn't hungry to eat her +1.
There's a lot of food to get into her within a day :-D
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

Also, would she still have insulin in her shed from when she was given 3 u and perhaps using that over the last few days?
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

Yes, I would stick with the food schedule..if she hasn't eaten her early snack, I would give it to her now.

It absolutely could be the shed draining from the higher dose, there's no way to tell when the shed has fully adjusted to the new dose. There is less and less influence from the larger dose as time passes. She may need to go up in dose, but I don't want to jump the gun on suggesting an increase right now....let's see what happens.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

Ok thanks!

She ate 1/8 at +3 instead of 2/8. I 'll try and get the other one in about half an hour and if not I'll add it to her +9 snack.
I'll be out from 11:00am to 3:00pm so I will get a +4 and then a +8 or +9.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381

That sounds fine on the food and tests, enjoy your time out! :-D

Are you back to work Monday? I'm just trying to figure out how much time you have to monitor closely.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308

+4 308

She dropped 80 points...is it ok for me to leave?
I can feed her the last 1/8 for the morning if that makes a difference?!
I'm back to work on Tuesday:)
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

Is it possible to get another test in 30 minutes or so? Or will that be a problem for your scheduled outing?

ETA: I mean 30 minutes from last test, not 30 minutes from now.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

Hi!

I hope the transition weekend is going well!

Here for moral support :smile:

I've been checkin in from time to time, but looks like you are getting some great advice.

Tanya and Elie
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

We're supposed to be on our way out but I can test again. She just ate another 1/8
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

checking in 5...stand by:)
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

275

what do you think?
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

I think she has room to drop and she's not dropping super fast, but I can't tell you that she will be safe for 4 hours. There are no guarantees, unfortunately.

Is there a way that you could come back and check her in a couple of hours?
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

Would it be helpful if I waited until noon to do another test?

If I have to come back I will....
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

I think you could do either one...either wait and test at noon (she may be on the way up then) or come back in a couple of hours and check her then.

You just don't have enough data yet to predict what she will do, Tamara.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

ok will wait until noon. will you be around?
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

My thoughts are that the food is helping to keep her up. She may just surf along in the yellows....no guarantees.

It's your call, I would encourage you to come back and check her for safety's sake. If you can't do that, I'm not sure what I can tell you. She has room, but I can't say that she won't drop to low.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

I will shorten the outing as much as I can. Will there be a time when I can leave the house without worry? Fd is really stressful for the both of us:(
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

Hi Tamara,
Yes, there will be a time when you can leave the house without worry! You will get accustomed to Ella's patterns and you will be able to "read" them. But you're not there yet! :smile: Leave some food out for her when you go (you may have to put her in a room by herself because of the other kitties). She's in good, safe numbers now, and you are getting close to what is presumably her nadir, but as Laurie says, we don't know what she might do since her food and her dose are "in transition". Do you have far to go to your outing? Sometimes with Rusty, if a dinner party conflicts with his shot time and the party isn't far to travel, I simply leave the party for a half hour or so and then go back. Perhaps something like that might be possible for you.

I think Ella is looking very, very good today. You're doing a great job!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

Yes, it will get better! The issue right now is that we don't really know what Ella's patterns will be with the change in dose and food. Every cycle that you collect data helps. She may be perfectly fine today, I just can't say that's the case with any degree of certainty because she's still adjusting. The data so far would suggest that she will surf in safe numbers, but we have seen cats take longer to adjust to diet changes.

She has room, the odds are she will stay in a safe range...she may perfectly fine, but I am not going to say that there's no risk, because that would be irresponsible.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

just checking in to see how you're doing. looking great so far. i'll be back in a couple of hours and check in then as well.

and yes, it gets infinitely easier. transition times are much more difficult.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 is it ok to leave h

Back at home after a quick lunch with friends and jaunt around the market!

+8 275

Thanks for all your kind and caring words. It's been four months since I haven't left the house without a sinking feeling in my stomache.I just hate leaving her when I go to work during the week and I can aleady anticipate being a total mess when she gets into the greens...even though that's where I want her to be!
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

@ Ella...I've done the leave the party trick before but it's a bit harder when we're visitng family or friends in town. Sometimes I wish I could just pack her up with me but that would stress her out.
Lately we've hosted dinner here so that I can be around for her insulin times. It's all fine and dandy but sometimes it's just nice to leave the house and check out what else is going on in the world. The city was packed today and so vibrant. It gave me a lift!
@Tanya...thanks for checking in. I really appreciate your moral support:)
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

we've carted punkin to family gatherings 2 hours away just so we could monitor him. when we get far enough that we're definitely not going to the vet's he usually relaxes and stops complaining. i tell myself this is just one phase of life - and it does take accommodating but it's worth it. love that little furball. even when he covers me with his hair! :lol:

ella's looking good. nice definite curve today.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

I think spreading out her food helped a bit. She wasn't hungry after her am ps feeding until +4. The original plan was to give her 3/8 at AMPS, 2/8 +1, 1/8 +9, 3/8 PMPS and 2/8 +1

Unless I isolate all day with an autofeeder I'm not really sure what else to do. Any other suggestions for getting 1 3/8 of food in her a day on my schedule? I leave at 7:30am and come back home between 4:30- 5:00pm

Ella is a yowler!!!! She gets SO nervous when she goes in her crate especially since her big stay at the vets!
When we took her back for her check up after the pancreatitis attack she was so upset and thought we were going to leave her there!
Poor thing.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

Hehe..We've moved twice across the country...and moved with 3 kitties in the backseat of our car for 3 day - 8-10 hour/day road trips :shock: hehe.

Elie is a crazy buddy who doesn't care where he is or where he's going lol. Our vets office is about a 10 min walk...and we take him in a cat carrier shoulder bag...and off we go for our walk! lol Not a peep. My hubby jokes that we'll make him into a dog that goes everywhere with us...and we'll walk him down the street in his harness! HA!

Good curve today!
@Julie - Saw punkins numbers while at the vet...musta been pretty relaxed! That's good :mrgreen:

Tanya
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

I saw your question about dentals in Punkin's condo. Any kind of inflammation (such as gingivitis), infection, or pain can raise BG numbers. There have been several cats here who, once they had their teeth cleaned saw much better numbers. If you take a look at Mikey's SS, you'll see what happened to his numbers after February when he had his dental. Needing a dental has also thrown cats out of remission.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

Hi Tamara

Just popping in to see how Ella is doing today. I'm glad you could get out for a bit. I'll be hanging out again tonight to keep an eye on you all....let's see if Julie joins us or decides
to get out again and have a life :lol: :lol:

You all are doing great!
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

Hi Sienne,

Thanks for visiting:) Worldtraveller and kitty were curious about the dental but I also appreciate the explanation:) Good to know for future dental work!

Thanks for checking in Marjorie!
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella AMPS 353 +2=381 +4 308 +4.5=275 +5=293 +8=

Elie is one cool kitty!!! I don't think I could convince anyone in my crew to go for a walk in a pet carrier! Then again, I NEVER thought Ella would eat wet food!
 
Hello everyone,

Ella +2 320

Any specific tests that you feel would be helpful to do for data?
 
With meter variance, these numbers are purty close. How about a +4....I almost said +5 but if she's still high at +4, you should go to bed.

Tomorrow morning is her sixth cycle at this dose so we might start thinking about a dosecrease for sometime after that depending on how it goes tomorrow.
 
Re: 04/07/12 Ella PMPS 354 +2 320 +4 273

+4 273

I'm tired but can set my alarm if necessary....let me know:)
 
if i were you, i'd go to bed. there are no guarantees in any of this, but a person's gotta sleep too! it doesn't look like ella's got a diving pattern and she's pretty high still. your choice.
 
i will set my alarm for + 6 and if i can get up i will:)

enjoy the evening:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top