Re: 04/05 Cow AMPS 81
meand4 said:
Ill be able to get some tests in now. Last few days we have not been around all day.
If I can only get one test in per cycle...what would you say is the best time to get?
here I am with my linkee-links

check it out,
From
New To The Group sticky:
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
No saying test every hour, I bolded some options for you..... note the +4 and +5, if that is near your bedtime, for example, very handy spotchecks to get....
Kitties tend to go lower in the evening cycle, and you very well could be missing some great numbers in the evening, not to mention a possible low number to earn a reduction :mrgreen:
If you can only get one check, I would aim for either the +3 or a nadir check. On a day off, you can do a curve, every 2 hours, or a mini curve, every 3 hours. Keep in mind nadirs can change. So a few cycles of these checks could be very informative.
So anyway, you know what? Numbers are looking really good. There's good things happening here. But do try your best for a bedtime check, safety first. ;-)