04/03 Furball, AMPS=303, Question About Feeding Times

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67727

It looks like Furball may finally be adjusting to her new dose. I wish I could come home from work during lunch to get a reading, but I work too far away.

I am thinking of getting a timed feeder to give Furball an extra meal during the day. How does this work out for those of you who do this? Thanks Julie for the answer yesterday. I know everyone was thinking of BigMac yesterday, so I thought I'd ask again. I'm so glad BigMac came through the surgery okay.
 
I think with your schedule, a feeder is a great idea!

I've not had good luck with the 5-compartment feeder. I've tried it twice and both times there was something wrong with the motor. I do have a low tech, 2 compartment feeder that has worked wonderfully.

If you look at the TR Protocol sticky, you'll note that we generally recommend that you feed multiple small meals. This puts less of a burden on your cat's pancreas. It would also be best if you provide food before nadir. Once your cat is past nadir, there's less insulin available to help offset the effect of the food. Beyond those general guidelines, when you feed and what's best for Furball is a matter of trial and error. Julie's suggestion sounds good -- feeding at pre-shot, +2 and +4 may be a good place to start. What I would suggest is to do this consistently, both during the AM and PM cycles and getting good data evenings and other days when you're at home so you have a way to tell if this is helping with Furball's numbers.
 
Hi guys .. we have the 5 compartment pet safe auto feeder. It works well for us .. we were using it at night, when mocha was on insulin .. since she has gone off, we now only use it when we both need to be gone during feeding times. She get's locked up in kitty prison (aka, our bedroom) and twix our civvie remains out in the rest of the house. There are five compartments, but remember that one is going to show as soon as you put it down. So if you have to leave it down at say, midnight, but don't want her fed until 2 a.m., you would really only have 4 compartments to work with .. otherwise she'd just gobble up the food in the open compartment at midnight .. make sense?
 
Thanks for the information. I'll check it out. I should have mentioned I also have to feed two other cats with Furball, so I'm not sure how that will work out.
 
I hear you on the multi-cat feeding :-D

Mine are like Devon's...i feed the civvies in my bedroom, and Binks in the kitchen.
So, naturally...every opportunity they get, they're swapping rooms to see if there's anything tasty left... :roll:
"the food is always gravier in the other dish" :lol:

I still feed Binks mini-meals even though he's been OTJ for almost a year.

Furball...try the lower numbers!

bully_cat_teases_other_cats-21.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top