04/03 Frankie AMPS 328; +2 484

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan and Frankie

Member Since 2013
Hey All... I'm still here... were still fighting highs, but I'm starting to get much lower preshot numbers.. today looks like a food spike. I have been very busy with work so it has been hard to get a lot of tests in. Whole cat report is good. She is just like a kitten right now (mind you almost 10 years old) Thank you for all the help... I'm considering going up to 1 unit, but I am going to need to wait until next week because I am going to need my neighbor to give her a shot on Saturday and I don't want her to have to worry about testing. If I get the dose set up in the syringe for my neighbor, is it okay to cap the needle and put it in the fridge? I don't want her to have to try to figure out a .75 ml dose. Thanks again... hope all its well with you sugar kitties :-D
 
How long would it be between when you would draw up the insulin until your neighbor has to shoot? If it is just going to be a couple hours you should be fine, but if it is going to sit a whole cycle then typically we don't prefill Lantus syringes because of its acidic base (Lev can be prefilled).

Another alternative with having basically a pet sitter coming in to shoot is to take an used syringe, fill it with colored water to the desired dose, cap that and leave it as basically a template for the sitter to draw up and compare to.

You must have been reading my mind I was about to leave you a note and ask how you and Frankie were doing. :-D Glad to here she is feeling good and being a kitten again. You missed the party the other night when both Autumn and Lucian decided to throw a late night hypo party... :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'm so glad to hear that she's doing well. Numbers aside what really counts is having a happy cat. I can tell by the number of toys strewn around the house that my furkids are reliving their youth....although they often pretend to be much too mature for such games when I'm watching.

Ouch Mel - I often do what he's describing - fill both the am and pm syringes and stick the PM in the fridge, and I haven't seen any difference in the effect I know that sometimes its done for human patients, particularly older folks who have trouble seeing the markings on their syringes, and since Lantus doesn't need to be mixed - is the concern that it would somehow eat through the syringe then?
 
Honestly I don't know...remember I have a Lev Kitty...my Lantus boy only needed 2 shots, so I am just going by what is listed in the stickies over on the TR board. I think it is probably because it can eat into the silicone coating inside the syringe...but I really have no clue. Other than I know that Lantus is an acidic base and Levemir is a neutral base.

I know a few have capped a filled Lantus pen when they have had to shoot late for various reasons like a hiding cat, or stalling a shot...but I know it isn't recommended for long period of time.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Honestly I don't know...remember I have a Lev Kitty...my Lantus boy only needed 2 shots, so I am just going by what is listed in the stickies over on the TR board. I think it is probably because it can eat into the silicone coating inside the syringe...but I really have no clue. Other than I know that Lantus is an acidic base and Levemir is a neutral base.

I know a few have capped a filled Lantus pen when they have had to shoot late for various reasons like a hiding cat, or stalling a shot...but I know it isn't recommended for long period of time.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

With me ithe prefilling is for two reasons - one is to make sure I don't forget it in the evenings - and because after a long day at the office staring at small print - its tougher to see the markings. I know the manufacturer doesn't recommend prefilling - but then again, they say its only good for a month, and most people seem to be managing just fine for a lot longer (thank heavens cause my vial was 160 dollars).

So I'll have to do some research - thanks.....

Em

I think I found it - the ADA did a study a while back on the life of various human insulins http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/26/9/2665.full

The important part (and where I think the sticky came from) is here - and the bottom line is that prefilled, refrigerated syringes became turbid after two to three days depending on the syringe used. It actually looks like the Lantus still met specifications in all but the Walgreen syringes, but I don't think anyone would shoot cloudy insulin -I know I wouldn't.



"The stability of Lantus when it is prefilled into syringes and stored up to 7 days was evaluated using four different types of syringes (Aventis, data on file). The following syringes were tested (200 syringes of each type): 1) BD Ultra-fine, U-100, 0.5 ml, 30 G ×½ inch (Becton Dickinson [BD]); 2) BD Ultra-fine II (short needle), U-100, 0.5 ml, 30 G × 5/16 inch (BD); 3) Walgreens super thin syringes, U-100, 0.5 ml, 29 G × ½ inch (Walgreens); and 4) Reli-On insulin syringes, U-100, 0.5 ml, 30 G × 5/16 inch (Wal-Mart).

The syringes were stored either at 41°F (5°C) or 77°F (25°C) for up to 7 days, after which the Lantus solution was tested for filtration time, byproducts, insulin glargine content, and m-cresol (preservative) content. The Lantus solution was visually inspected and pH measured every day (except days 4 and 5). Microbial contamination was not evaluated in this study.

Results Visual appearance at 41°F (5°C).
The Lantus solution became turbid more quickly in the Walgreens syringes compared with those of BD and Reli-On. By day 3, the Lantus solution was turbid in all four syringe types. After 2 days of storage in the Walgreens syringes, the Lantus solution did not meet specification."
 
Then you should be fine to draw it ahead of time since it sounds like the only real problem with prefilling is if it is going to set for days and days like prefilling before a vacation with a pet sitter. Just I believe like with Levemir you want to store it sitting in a cup or something so that needle is pointing up, so it doesn't leak into the cap, or laying flat on the fridge shelf.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
WOOHOO!!!!!!! Go Frankie Go!!!!!

How's the rest of the family? Got the nursery ready yet for the two bundles of joy?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
How's the rest of the family? Got the nursery ready yet for the two bundles of joy?

Just picked up a glider rocker and ottoman on a local Facebook board for $50 and it's in great condition. just needed a wipe down, some carpet cleaner and a minwax touch up pen and it's good to go... we are gathering odds and ends but not quite in the nursery planning mode yet. A lot of our friends and family have been giving, or lending us stuff and I have no problem with that.

Currently trying to get qualified for purchasing this house from her Dad... been working on taxes and qualification stuff with most of any spare time I get, so spending on CCs is a no no right now and larger purchases could screw up our reserves needed. Should have an answer by tomorrow yeah, or neigh... either is fine because we pay her Dad on a personal loan now and pay off a ton of principal every month, but I need to get back into paying a mortgage to build my credit back up and get some write offs... taxes killed me this year.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top