04/01 Furball, AMPS=262, +3=256 +5=207, PMPS=353

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67595

I am using the SLGS Protocol.

I just changed Furball's dose from 1 unit to 1.5 units at yesterday's PM shot. I don't know whether to give her dose this moring becasue she is not really eating. She usually eats 3/4 of a can of 9 Lives Tuna and Egg, but this morning she has only eaten about 1/4 of a can. Her AMPS is 262. Should I give Furball the 1.5 units, less, or nothing? I am scheduled to give the shot now. Any advice is appreciated.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

I don't know how big those cans are can you give me the weight of food she has eaten?

Does she often turn her nose up at her food or do you think she might be ill?
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

They are 5.5 oz. cans. Every now and then she doesn't eat very much, but the last couple of days she has not wanted to eat as much in the morning, but has eaten well in the evening. Usually when she doesn't want to eat much I can coax her to eat about half a can, but not this morning. I don't know if she is not feeling well since she is eating in the evening. If she wasn't eating both times, I would think she might be getting sick.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

I just checked on her and she still hasn't eaten any more. She doesn't act like she feels sick. Actually she seems really perky this morning.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

That was the quick answer to allow you to shoot and stay as close to on schedule as possible I assume you're probably a touch behind now.

Now for the longer answer, that is enough food on board to give the shot and since it doesn't seem that she is actually off her food, just not so hungry right now, you will be able to get more food into her later.

Her PS number is also a little lower than she has been used to and as the BG levels come down Furball will eat less food as she will be utilising what she does eat better.

Vyktor is free fed and he often doesn't eat anything at shot time. As long as you're confident they're going to eat later it's not a problem.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

Thanks. I am going to give Furball her shot. I was just concerned since I just raised the dose that it would be too much without her eating her usual amount of food. I am about 30 minutes off schedule. To get back on schedule, I will need to move one shot time 30 minutes earlier tomorrow. Is that correct? Or can I move this PM shot 30 minutes earlier?
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

You should always ask if you're uncertain or concerned at all so good job there :-D

You generally shouldn't move more than 30 mins in a day so moving the shot time back again tonight may not be the best option. I think it's better if you move back tomorrow, either in one 30 minute hit for one shot or move both shots tomorrow back by 15 mins each. If I get off track I prefer to take the 15 mins per shot option myself. You just need to remember to adjust your testing times too so doing it in two hits can get a little more confusing.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

If Furball's numbers are relatively high at PMPS, you could move your shot time back by 15 min. The effect of a 15 min. move is pretty negligible.

Since you are following your vet's instruction to increase the dose by 0.5u, could you please get a +2? I'm a big fan of a +2 test. If you see that your +2 is appreciably lower than your pre-shot test, there's a good chance you're going to have an active cycle. If Furball is going to throw you a curve, I'd like you to be prepared (vs. surprised) if her numbers drop.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, Need to Give Insulin But Barely Ate

I wasn't able to get a +2, but I got a +3 and was surprised it wasn't that much lower than the pre-shot. Since her numbers dropped so quickly last night, I thought they would today too. I am going to get a +5 reading in a little while since this seems to be where her nadir is.
 
Re: 04/01 Furball, AMPS=262, +3=256 +5=207

Furball is surfing in relatively flat numbers today. Flat yellow is good. :smile:

For some cats, flat yellow cycles are a signal of a more active cycle coming up soon. Keep an eye out in case this flatness is a signal that her dose is about to kick in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top