04/01 Bambi PMPS 243, +3 30, +3.25 48, +3.5 36, +4 47, +4.25 58, +4.5 57, +5 49, +5.5 58, +6 52

Caglar and Bambi

Member Since 2023
Previous post

Having a hard evening. After a low PS 2 days ago morning and a reduced dose + a 2-hour delay Bambi had some PS levels in the high 300s, but after keeping the lowered dose and schedule on time, and having a usual PMPS of close to 250, her BG very unusually dropped to 28-30 at around +3 this evening.

I'm monitoring every 15 mins and gave 3 teaspoons of HC liquid snack (25% carbs) at each reading as in the guide. Last reading: 47. This is a record number for me and I'm pretty stressed out, any other advice?
 
I don't know who is usually on at this time that we can try tagging who can give advice... I'm not able to give advice, unfortunately, but was wondering... you're following SLGS, correct? Looks like she dropped below 90 and earned a reduction this morning. What about a little honey or karo? I hope someone experienced comes along soon!
 
Ok, sounds good. Nearly time for +5, will post in a bit. I'm a bit calmer now but had a bit of a shock at first. It's also almost 04:30 here so also a bit tired but it's ok.
 
Well done everyone – you, Bambi, and @Angela & Cleo

Setting an alarm is wise. Make it a LOUD alarm. Carbs do wear off. You can feed some LC now then take another test when the alarm goes off to confirm that Bambi is staying up on her own would be good – to make sure Bambi is rising on her own.

A bit of housekeeping:
Can you put just the PM numbers in the title? It will give anyone looking at thread titles a clearer picture.
Can you update the spreadsheet so people can see your roller coaster of a night in one glance?
 
Just an observation, with SLGS you reduce when you get a number under 90. You didn’t take one after am cycle on March 29th and again after today’s drop earlier under 90, dose wasn’t reduced. Bambi was telling you tonight with those lows that her dose was too high. I’d go down to 1.25u tomorrow.

As Kel @Red & Rover (GA) mentioned, numbers can bobble around with HC intervention, so setting an alarm is a good idea to be sure she is safe.
 
Can you put just the PM numbers in the title? It will give anyone looking at thread titles a clearer picture.
Can you update the spreadsheet so people can see your roller coaster of a night in one glance?

Thanks Red, I have edited the title and updated the spreadsheet as you suggested.
 
Just an observation, with SLGS you reduce when you get a number under 90. You didn’t take one after am cycle on March 29th and again after today’s drop earlier under 90, dose wasn’t reduced. Bambi was telling you tonight with those lows that her dose was too high. I’d go down to 1.25u tomorrow.

As Kel @Red & Rover (GA) mentioned, numbers can bobble around with HC intervention, so setting an alarm is a good idea to be sure she is safe.

Thanks for the suggestion. Due to Bambi's high start dose and past results, we were just discussing that the nadirs could be considered a bit lower for reduction a few days ago which made sense to me at that time. I had only seen a light green twice with her at higher doses and the last one was 3 weeks ago. This sudden drop showed otherwise I guess, I will lower to 1.25u.

I took 2 more readings each hour after the numbers started to become better before going to bed for 3 hours and the PS is now 371.
 
Have you been transitioning her to a low cab canned diet? She might need much less insulin after the food change. What is she eating now?

Not really, I just started to give 1/2 a pouch of Proplan DM wet food (6% carbs) right after her PM shot. (Since 3 days to administer Methyl B12) Other than that she's on the same Proplan DM dry food (16% carbs) that I was feeding her. I've been giving the dry food in 10-12g portions 5-6 times spread throughout the day usually around every 3-4 hours, except when I sleep where she goes without food for 6-8 hours.

I was going to start transitioning today or tomorrow but I think I'll wait a bit more after the adventure yesterday evening. I'll need to keep a close watch.
 
Thanks again to everyone who helped and offered advice yesterday, it was a pretty rocky night for me. Just wanted to give an update:

Bambi rose to 371 in the morning at AMPS. I took quite a lot of readings throughout the day and her nadir seemed to be at 120. She started rising after +6 and rose all the way up to 426 at PMPS. I continued her lowered dose at 1.25u and will try to monitor her as much as I can. I guess her condition is pretty stable for now, but I feel I will need further advice in the coming days according to her levels, especially if she starts getting lower readings. The incident yesterday made me a little bit shaky, even during regular shots at safe numbers, so I hope I will get back some confidence soon.

Cheers everyone.
 
Back
Top