? 03/30 Shmee +10 130, AMPS 324, question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Member Since 2018
Previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-29-shmee-amps-390-6-88-first-green-photos.193316/#post-2160083

Good morning,
Looks like the bounce from yesterdays blues has started this morning. I am grateful he did so well yesterday (and last night!).

Question: I wanted to order a bag of Young Again for my Shmee to snack on, I think he would like them as treats since he used to eat dry food for so long, and I thought it would be a great way for him to get some extra calories. But the TR protocol calls for wet food only, and a prior post of mine someone also said TR is strictly wet food. But then last night I saw someone feeds a small amount of YA as a snack and they are TR. Is there some leeway, or should TR be strictly wet food only?

PS - my cat shelves (or "cat walk"!) will be completed today. I hope he loves them! I will try to get his first experience of them on video :)

Happy Friday!
 
Hi Amanda. I am one of those who gives a little bit of YA to my TR kitty. Technically, the TR protocol says not to be feeding dry as the dry food is metabolized slower than the wet food . I give about 1/4 of tbsp. at the 2AM feeding as I don't want to deal with raw food in the middle of the night. Also, Bubba is tightly regulated and I am home all the time to test and keep an eye on him.

I think if you are using it a pokey treat and he is eating such a small amount of it, I personally don't think there is a problem. Others may feel differently. I would only get the smallest bag then bc you won't be going through it very fast. If you call them, they will send you a sample so you can make sure he will eat it. My two went wild over it! Also, when Bubba has a GI issue and doesn't want to eat, I can always count on him to eat some YA for me.

Can't wait to see a video of Shmee on the cat walk!
 
Hi Amanda. I am one of those who gives a little bit of YA to my TR kitty. Technically, the TR protocol says not to be feeding dry as the dry food is metabolized slower than the wet food . I give about 1/4 of tbsp. at the 2AM feeding as I don't want to deal with raw food in the middle of the night. Also, Bubba is tightly regulated and I am home all the time to test and keep an eye on him.

I think if you are using it a pokey treat and he is eating such a small amount of it, I personally don't think there is a problem. Others may feel differently. I would only get the smallest bag then bc you won't be going through it very fast. If you call them, they will send you a sample so you can make sure he will eat it. My two went wild over it! Also, when Bubba has a GI issue and doesn't want to eat, I can always count on him to eat some YA for me.

Can't wait to see a video of Shmee on the cat walk!

Thanks Bobbie, I will probably give them a call today for that sample, and wait to see what others opinions are too.

You said 1/4 a tbsp, so that just equals a few pieces a day? That is what I had in mind too, just one or two pieces as snacks here and there. Maybe after his shots as a reward.
 
I hope Shmee comes back down soon. I like the catwalk. That is really cool.

I think if you just give a little of the dry food like treats it will be okay. I sometimes give Furball Temptations as an after test treat.
 
Amanda, if Shmee likes them also, I will send you some as well since you are only going to be using a pokey treat a ball will last a very long time and could go bad before you could use it. So, let me know. My last bag was 3 lbs and I am trying not to give Forrest any since he has been so constipated. And it will take a very long time for me to get through the bag.
 
I am going to be a purist and suggest you not try YA if you want to stick with TR. There are a lot more other treat possibilities out there. Dry food is not good for cats. Period. Full stop. There are many health reasons not to feed any dry.

Bobbie has been doing this FD dance for a while now, she has a pretty good idea how the Bubster reacts to food. Personally, I would not mix dry with a raw diet, too hard on the GI system. At this point, if you are now on all wet food, why ruin a good thing? There are higher calories low carb wet foods out there if you want Shmee to gain weight.
 
Personally, I would not mix dry with a raw diet, too hard on the GI system
I did not realize that. What if I were to do all raw food , but at the +8 PM he would get the equivalent in canned food or even all meat baby food? Would that be easier on his GI system?
 
I thought Temptations were really high in carbs. Maybe if you haven't all ready, you could get a sample bag of YA and see if FB would like them. If she does, I would gladly send you some of mine to use as her pokey treat as they are zero carbs.


ETA: Actually, they are less than 1%
I thought Temptations were high carb too, but they've never raised Furball's BG. Thanks for the offer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top