03/30/20 Thomas J. AMPS 72, +6 67, PMPS 64, +6 69

Are there OTJ sticky notes? I've seen one before. It doesn't let you search OTJ in the search bar. I can't find them anywhere.
If all goes well I'll be starting an OTJ trial within the next month and I'd like to make sure I'm doing it correctly.
 
Last edited:
I thought I was supposed to reduce every 7 days if he stays in normal range.
This is correct unless he earns a reduction first.

Here are the instructions we give for an OTJ trial:
Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
This is correct unless he earns a reduction first.

Here are the instructions we give for an OTJ trial:
Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
Thank you! :bighug:This is the extra information I was looking for! I was also reading in the OTJ forum and found some additional information and advice from some posts.
 
Planning on reducing to a drop before doing an OTJ trial. Hopefully he'll continue doing well. I believe now that the cancer is gone he'll be doing much better, as I believe it may have been what pushed him into diabetes the last year. I think that he's probably been prediabetic for a while since he's obese and was previously on a HC dry food diet all his life, if not already diabetic that is.
Still in his cone, his stitches are still in, haven't fell out yet. Some scabs are falling off though. The big scabs seem to be stuck though, hopefully they'll fall off on their own. He's been very grumpy lately, not sure if he's hurting or just being his normal self as that's how he usually is. Doing well other than that.
 
Glad to hear the ear is ok. That's what I meant in earlier post. Darn auto word.
Oh, I read it as how is her eating doing for some reason, ear makes more sense.:facepalm: Thought you were asking about my other cat Hidee since I've mentioned her not eating well the last few posts.
Thomas' ear is certainly healing, plenty of hair growing, maybe that'll push these scabs off. I thought some stitches fell out but I was wrong, all still there, even the ones on the lip and leg. When I had absorbable stitches in my thumb and mouth they fell out within a couple weeks if I remember correctly, surprised his are still hanging on.
 
Back
Top