millerb said:
Laurie: My vet told me that if his sugar was under 250 to lower the dose by one unit, so that's why I was giving 2. I asked her Monday if there was every a time when I shouldn't give insulin if his BG was low (like tonight, for example), and she said no, he has to have some insulin, even if it's just 1 unit. I was afraid tonight to give him the full 3-unit dose with his BG at 60, so that's why I gave just 1.
This is all new to me, so I'm learning as I go along. We've just been on Lantus 2 weeks today.
Thanks for that info, it helps. I can understand the vet telling you to reduce the dose below 250, and even though that isn't exactly the way we suggest people do things, it's not a bad thing to do in your situation. If you are concerned about giving the full dose on a lower PS number, it's ok to shoot a BCS (big chicken sh-t) dose. With dry food in the mix, it's best to be cautious, so 250 is not a bad number to use until you get him transitioned to wet food. Once you get him transitioned, you will be able to shoot lower PS numbers with the full dose, but for now, you did fine reducing. I'm glad you reduced the dose to 1u tonight, that was good instincts on your part.

The important thing to remember is that if you shoot a low number like you did tonight, even if you reduce the dose, you need to test often early in the cycle and feed as necessary to keep him from dropping too low until his numbers stabilize at a safe level.
As Serryn said, please don't shoot below 50....normal BG is between 50-120, shooting a number below 50 is quite risky...you have very little margin for safety. If you ever are in doubt about whether to shoot or not, please just stall, don't feed, and post on the board for help.
You won't learn everything in one night, and I'm probably dumping too much info on you all at once....I don't want to overwhelm you.
I think you should reduce the dose, how would you feel about trying 2.0u BID? We usually reduce by 0.25u, the reason I am suggesting a larger decrease is because you are transitioning from dry to wet food, and you have not been able to shoot the same dose AM and PM. I'm hoping that if you reduce by that much, you will be able to shoot the same dose BID. What do you think?