03/28/22 MICIO: AMPS 72 SKIPPED THE SHOT

yes, Micio's bp was checked last on the 16th March and it was 172/107.
Micio still very tired, only wake up for food or to go pee or drink. Worried about next time he'll go poo and will end up with another seizure then we'll go straight to er
They need to check him for constipation. The straining can cause vomiting and other problems as well. I am still thinking of you both this evening.
 
Yes, Semintra...I remember now and I remember asking the vet about it but he recommended Benazepril to begin with instead.
I think I read that aluminum hydroxide cause constipation and that's something Micio doesn't need...will take a look at link you sent me, thank you!
A calcium based binder has worked for me in the past. Epakitin is what I have used. High phosphorus will interfere with the nerve impulses reaching the hind legs and can cause inability to jump and ataxia and just generally weak hind legs. But if Micio is only at 5.5, I do not think that’s high enough to cause this. I have also used aluminum hydroxide and I reserve it for the more significantly elevated phosphorus levels.
 
It is very possible that Micio’s phosphorus has jumped quite a bit since January 31 when it was 5.5. Darcy’s was at about 12 when he was having a great deal of trouble with his hind legs and could no longer jump. When the phosphorus came down he could walk and jump again.
 
Micio's calcium is getting towards the upper end, which contraindicates a calcium based binder.
 
Micio’s calcium is in the high side of normal, so you don’t want to add more calcium to his diet by using a calcium based binder.
How is Micio today? What has happened? Have you been able to have him seen by a competent veterinarian?

Micio's doing much better today, went from very lethargic all day yesterday to more attentive, walking around the house a bit and now resting in front of the opened kitchen door enjoying some warm breeze. He poo a bit this morning but he was fine, fingers crossed he won't have seizures anymore. His BG's still pretty good, even with the reduction though...
Still looking for a reputable vet clinic in the area, if not then I'll try to schedule an appointment with the IM at the ER hospital I've been before, may take some time though cuse verybody are booked I'm not the only one making financial decisions here, lately it has been very costly and I'm trying to do the right thing...feel so bad for those that can't even get meds or the minimum care for their pets.
 
Micio's doing much better today, went from very lethargic all day yesterday to more attentive, walking around the house a bit and now resting in front of the opened kitchen door enjoying some warm breeze. He poo a bit this morning but he was fine, fingers crossed he won't have seizures anymore. His BG's still pretty good, even with the reduction though...
Still looking for a reputable vet clinic in the area, if not then I'll try to schedule an appointment with the IM at the ER hospital I've been before, may take some time though cuse verybody are booked I'm not the only one making financial decisions here, lately it has been very costly and I'm trying to do the right thing...feel so bad for those that can't even get meds or the minimum care for their pets.
I am so happy to hear that he is doing better! This makes me smile. I am sitting in the parking lot of my vet right now. Waiting. One of my cats hurt himself somehow and is limping on his hind right leg and he cannot hold his tail up right— it’s kind of down and to the left. We shall see.

I understand the expenses. :bighug:
 
I am so happy to hear that he is doing better! This makes me smile. I am sitting in the parking lot of my vet right now. Waiting. One of my cats hurt himself somehow and is limping on his hind right leg and he cannot hold his tail up right— it’s kind of down and to the left. We shall see.

I understand the expenses. :bighug:
Wishing you and your kiddo a fast recovery...maybe he just felt from somewhere in the wrong position, just happened to my other cat 2 weeks ago when, I believe, she felt from her cat tree trying to come down. She could barely walk but luckily she somehow "healed" in 2 days and back to her normal, but since I took apart/split in 2 that 6" tall cat tree though, trying to minimize accidents. I have so many cat steps all over the house (to help the cats climbing everywhere) that soon we're going to trip on them and get hurt! Picturing my cats driving us to the ER and wait in the parking lot now...
 
Back
Top