03/27 Furball +10.25=303 AMPS=349 Furball Home +9.25=343 PMPS=262

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-267-10-5-183-pmps-235.135176/#post-1393976

Furball was happy & purry this morning. She's looking for food already. She didn't understand why she didn't get her post test freeze dried chicken. I hate fasting.

I set an alarm for 11:30 last night so I could try and get her to eat more food and remove all the food before midnight. She didn't want to eat, so I gave her some HC. That probably contributed to the pink this morning. I gave her half a dose of insulin this morning since she's so high. In the past when she's had dentals and I've skipped her dose, she's gone really high.

When I went to adjust the calipers this morning, I realized I've been writing the wrong dose on her SS. I forgot I increased not too long ago from 2.25f to 2.5 units. I've been writing the 2.25f on her SS out of habit. I'll have to search her condos to see when I increased. :facepalm:

I have to drop her off at 8:30, so about 2 more hours of her looking for food to go.
 
I'm feeling for you, it's so horrible not being able to feed them or explain why :(

Piling on some more good vetty vines for Miss Furball, and some predental scritches.
 
Best wishes for Furball for her dental today and it is hard when cats need to fast.
 
Morning Carla :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Good dental vines for Furball! Good cal I think on the insulin, and the fuds last night. I hope all goes well, am sure it will.

Have a good day today, try not to worry. :bighug:
 
I just talked to the vet and Furball is done with her dental and awake. She didn't have to have the one tooth the vet was going to x-ray removed. She did have one cavity and the vet did a crown amputation, so she has one stitch. I had them do bloodwork and everything looked good, except her BG which was 281. That's not bad for everything going on today. I'm supposed to pick her up at 2:30.

Thanks everyone for the dental vines.
 
Fantastic news! And no extractions. Very considerate of her on the BG this morning, makes the decision easier for the bean too.

:):):):):)
 
So happy it's over and Furball is doing well!!

From what I understand, doing a crown amputation is usually something they do when they're dealing with FORL, so it's a good thing you got her in! Those can be terribly painful

Hopefully this will be the beginning of great numbers for our sweet Furball!
 
Max had 3 stitches but they dissolve. Make sure you get antibiotics and if you don't have any some bupe for pain when you pick her up. I'm glad she is doing well and her blood tests were good.
 
Yay for getting it done with - doesn't sound like it was too bad, but maybe it was enough to be affecting her BGs.

Hope she feels ok tonight. We're sending healing thoughts your way.
 
Thanks everyone. Furball is doing good. She was a little hyper at first, but has finally calmed down. She was 343 when I finally got her home. Since she was dropping at PMPS and I'm not sure how well she'll eat tonight, I gave half a dose again. So far, all I've gotten her to eat is baby food. She wasn't interested in her normal food. I was not given any pain meds since there were no extractions. I was given an AB (Antirobe Aquadrops) to give twice a day. I was typing this update and realized I forgot to give it to her and had to stop and find her. She saw the syringe in my hand and ran and I had to catch her. Poor kitty. I finally got it in. The bottle doesn't say how many days to give it. I'll have to call the vet tomorrow and ask.
 
Yay! Now you just need to eat some fuds Furball it's great she's feeling feisty enough to do a runner on you :)
 
I gave the Antirobe for a week after Neko's extraction. I am glad she's home. Eat your fuds Furball.
 
Hi Carla, I'm so glad that Furball had a good dental day and that she didn't need a lot of dental work. Sending her some good eating vines this evening (maybe she'd eat baby food). I'll bet you're very happy that today is over! Have a good evening.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

Thanks for visiting Rusty during his IM vetty adventure.
 
Antirobe aquadrops is a form of clindamycin. It works on anaerobic bacteria like what is found in mouth cavities (not tooth cavities, but in the flesh). Punkin got diarrhea and then C. Diff from it - so just as a heads-up, i'd give Fortiflora or some kind of probiotic (yogurt?) to counter that before it begins in Furball, just in case.
 
I'm so glad all went well with the dental and there were no major issues. How funny that she was feisty when she got home - my kitties are usually loopy/sedate. I generally only offer baby food the first night - the anesthetic can upset their tummies and make them not want to eat.

Sending lots of healing vines for Furball.
 
I'm glad she's home. Max would only eat baby food at first too but he did have 3 extractions. Still I'm sure her mouth is a little sore from the probing. I bet she will be fine by tomorrow. Hope so. Gives you a break from testing too. I bet you could use some extra sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top