03/27 Ella PMPS 102 Please HELP for dosing!

Status
Not open for further replies.
My vet said that if she was 103 after eating that I should give her 1 unit and that if she was 102 and hasn't eaten then I should wait an hour and then give her 3 units (her normal dose).
We tend to do things a bit differently than how your vet is suggesting. Most of us don't feed until we've gotten our pre-shot test and we do not feed after +10 (unless your cat is in low numbers -- the 40s). The rationale is that if you feed more than 30 min. before you test, you haven't any idea what the number is that you're shooting. With dry food, this can inflate the numbers. We tend to be very cautious with a dose recommendation if food is on board. Most of us test, feed, and shoot while our cat is eating. All of this probably takes me under 5 min. with Gabby.

The other issue is that if you give a temporary dose reduction, especially if this is happening with some regularity, it plays havoc with the numbers. We've all given a reduced dose (a BCS or "big chicken sh*t" dose) at one time or another. You just don't want to make a habit of it.

After this evening's experience, I'd encourage you to read the post I linked previously. It will help to explain the options in greater detail.
 
I agree with Sienne and Gabby...

Something that we observed with our guy, is that when we were giving too much in the morning, the insulin was lasting longer into the evening...After 2 days of feeling like we needed to skip...and we skipped, we lowered the dose so we could give an am and a pm shot of the same dose size.
 
She may spike high, but she may also come back down. Once you start changing the diet, it's really difficult to predict what will happen. Yes, even a small change can have dramatic effects. If you shoot (even a small dose) you could be in for a wild ride overnight. I can't tell you how often you will need to test, it will depend on the numbers. It's likely that the lower numbers will come later on, in the middle of the night, after the dry food spike wears off. Can you stay up all night if you need to?

If you skip, she may go high, she may not go that high. Skipping one shot will not have a long lasting effect in all likelihood. The problem is that I can't predict what will happen....ECID. It is not unusual to have to skip shots when you are transitioning the diet.

Skipping is the safest way to go. I can't tell you not to shoot, but I would skip. Ella will get back on track.

Does she have a history of ketones? I didn't see any ketones on her ss...
 
Unless Ella is HIGHLY ketone prone, no, it does not. Ketones usually are the result of infection, not enough insulin, and not eating. Many people here have skipped shots, given a fur shot, reduced their cat's dose and the cat has been fine.
 
I test then feed but by the time she finishes her food it is within 15 minutes.
 
Thank you so much for taking the time to help me through this. I really do appreciate it :-D

I'm certain that she will spike high tonight. If she is high in the morning should I shoot her at 3 u?
 
I wouldn't shoot 3u in the morning, no matter how high she is. I would reduce the dose since you are transitioning to wet food. I would get some tests tonight, and please update the SS if you can. Can you can post a +11 (+23 really) in the morning? That will give us a chance to look at what happened overnight and talk before shot time. You shoot at 7:30 AM (ET)?
 
No Worries...we all know how stressful it is to figure out the food/insulin/BG balance :?

Are you still going to wait until this weekend to try to switch to wet food?

Again, the food makes a big difference in BG and dosing. So depends on what you are going to do tomorrow with the food.
 
Yes I can do a +11. Just so you know, I feed her 1/4 cup at 7:15, tablespoon of wet at +9 and 1/4 cup at 7:15pm

I just told my vet about the food change tonight and she told me to give her a 1/4 of wellness at +9 so I will increase that amount tomorrow. I was only giving her a tbsp so perhaps I starved her into the low numbers as she was not satisfied with that.
 
I wasn't planning making any big changes now. My vet wanted to see how she would do with the 1/4 cup of wellness at snack time and keep her at 3 u for another week to see how the numbers played out.
 
Are you feeding Wellness dry or canned? A 1/4 cup of canned food is a LOT of food!! Also, if you're feeding dry at +9, you are going to see the effects in around 2+ hours. When we suggest not feeding 2 hours before shot time, it's based on canned food.
 
Sounds good.

How do you feel about the wellness wet? Does Ella like it as a snack? When we went from a 1/8 dry snack to a wet one...we gave about 1/4 can of the wet...(or 2-3 heaping tablespoons) I remember you were asking about that.
 
i'm not suggesting you do this at this time, but i want to ask the question: is she liking the canned food enough that you think you could switch her over to it completely at some point in the near future?
 
356:(

Her food always spikes her. How will she manage so high unitl the morning?
 
Julie,

She's eating the wet with encouragment. I could try switching her to wet sooner but my schedule is so limited to make sure she doesn't get into trouble. That's why I was thinking Easter weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top