03/27 Diamond amps 109 +2 71 +7 54 +10 95 pmps 134 +1 108 +3 59 +4 48 +5 77

Status
Not open for further replies.
Diamond is looking good in green! :D

If I may, I suggest to add a comma after the 48 to separate it from the second reading you had in the +3 cell last night. Were you able to find the paint bucket to paint the cell? I would use lime green to highlight that 48.

And yes, Rex did go OTJ at a rapid pace. I think it correlated with the removal of all dry high-carb food after the 3rd week of insulin.
 
If I may, I suggest to add a comma after the 48 to separate it from the second reading you had in the +3 cell last night. Were you able to find the paint bucket to paint the cell? I would use lime green to highlight that 48
I do plan on fixing that. My civvie Peaches makes it almost impossible to do anything on my laptop. She rolls around and walks on the keyboard and stands in front on the monitor. I use my iPad or phone for most things. But I do need to use the laptop to fix the SS. I’ll try to sneak that in when she is sleeping. Lol
 
Really? Does this happen, another reduction? I had a feeling he was going to go under 50 again. I actually think he probably did today while I was at work too. The +7 54 was when I came home at lunch to check on him. I'm happy but, man I could use some sleep. o_O:blackeye:
 
I went to Tilly's page to review reductions.
Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.

I noticed reductions are earned slightly different than what is on the sticky.
Either way, the sticky suggests shaving or holding dose when reductions are close together. Suggestions on what I shoot tomorrow?
 
I noticed reductions are earned slightly different than what is on the sticky.
Either way, the sticky suggests shaving or holding dose when reductions are close together. Suggestions on what I shoot tomorrow?
Yes, the guidelines for reductions are a little different in the sticky versus what you'll find on tillydiabetes.com. The sticky is a slightly modified version of the German TR Protocol. The "general" guidelines in the sticky are based on the German TR Protocol as well as anecdotal evidence and personal experiences of laypersons frequenting the forum.

FWIW, considering Lantus is a depot insulin and given the closeness of the last few reductions, I would probably shave the dose rather than taking a full 0.25u reduction, but that's just me. Others may see it differently. Perhaps you'll get more feedback yet tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top