03/27 Bubba AMPS 227; +6.5 265; PMPS 356 (increased dose); +3 259; +5.5 184

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

nice yellow this morning. Giant pp pile in box.

This morning was cycle 11 on 6.5 U. I wonder if I should increase or wait it out a bit more since Bubba had his off day yesterday. Of course I start my set tmrw so won’t be around to monitor should I increase (there’s always bad timing when it comes to this!). Mom would be home but it stresses her out if Bubba drops low lol.
Oh and Bubba finished his round of onsior last night.let’s seee how Buprenorphine does to manage pain alone.
 
Should I increase to 7U tonight? Bubba's nadir has been all over the place the last few days too.
There’s been an uptick in his water intake and urine output as well… :nailbiting::blackeye:o_O
 
Last edited:
Ugh. I am so frustrated. Bubbas sugars are gross again today. He’s drinking and peeing a bit more too. He was drinking while lying down too hahah.
@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom should I increase to 7U? His nadirs have been all over the place and I don’t know what to do. :blackeye:
:(:banghead:
Thank you
 
Last edited:
I gave Bubba 6.75U.

I start my set tomorrow so won’t be home if sugars go sideways and low numbers stress my mom out.

things were looking so good, then the last two days have gone to junk :blackeye::(o_O I’m easily discouraged when things don’t go well for my boy so I’m stressing again. He also didn’t want much of his dinner tonight either. Going to add some steamed fish to encourage appetite.
 
Sorry, I'm only just getting online. Maybe a 0.25U increase is the nudge he needs to see better numbers. Hang in there. FD can be quite a rollercoaster and I know it's hard not to let our moods and emotions go up and down with their numbers! :bighug:


He also didn’t want much of his dinner tonight either. Going to add some steamed fish to encourage appetite.
Did he eat okay later?
 
Sorry, I'm only just getting online. Maybe a 0.25U increase is the nudge he needs to see better numbers. Hang in there. FD can be quite a rollercoaster and I know it's hard not to let our moods and emotions go up and down with their numbers! :bighug:



Did he eat okay later?
That’s ok Bhooma! That’s why I went up 0.25 from 6 to 6.25 to 6.5 to see if the nudges would work… they do but then I gotta increase anyways. Haha. But at least Bubba saw better #s with this most recent 6.5U than his original run on 6.5U! Seems like he goes up to yellows and pinks towards PMPS the last few weeks too.
He just finished most of his dinner now around 3hrs later after his original dinner time lol
 
Good luck with the new dose.

I've been wondering if Bubba has another condition that is causing some insulin resistance. His insulin needs seem to be drifting up, and if a cat starts doing that, and their dose is over 6 units, we usually suggest getting them tested for a couple secondary endocrine conditions. The ones that are most common are acromegaly (hypersomatotropism) and IAA or insulin auto antibodies. Neko had both those conditions. Acromegaly is caused by a benign pituitary tumour that sends out excess growth hormone and causing the diabetes, and recent research in Europe showed 20-25% of diabetic cats has it. Not all of these cats had higher doses, but we find that being on a higher dose most often means something else is in play. IAA is less common, but we have some cats around with just it, or with acromegaly. Testing for both is a blood draw that is sent to Michigan State University. If your vet doesn't deal with them directly, I think it can be ordered through Idexx, though it was another lab when Neko had her tests done. The reason for mentioning the conditions is that it can impact dosing, and there are treatments for acromegaly,. IAA on it's own does eventually become self limiting.
 
Good luck with the new dose.

I've been wondering if Bubba has another condition that is causing some insulin resistance. His insulin needs seem to be drifting up, and if a cat starts doing that, and their dose is over 6 units, we usually suggest getting them tested for a couple secondary endocrine conditions. The ones that are most common are acromegaly (hypersomatotropism) and IAA or insulin auto antibodies. Neko had both those conditions. Acromegaly is caused by a benign pituitary tumour that sends out excess growth hormone and causing the diabetes, and recent research in Europe showed 20-25% of diabetic cats has it. Not all of these cats had higher doses, but we find that being on a higher dose most often means something else is in play. IAA is less common, but we have some cats around with just it, or with acromegaly. Testing for both is a blood draw that is sent to Michigan State University. If your vet doesn't deal with them directly, I think it can be ordered through Idexx, though it was another lab when Neko had her tests done. The reason for mentioning the conditions is that it can impact dosing, and there are treatments for acromegaly,. IAA on it's own does eventually become self limiting.


Thank you Wendy. We have a follow up appt with his vet next week (re: phosphorus levels & query CKD) - so I will bring up the above with her next week :)
 
Back
Top