03/26 Richard AMPS 409 +6 367 PMPS 365

Alex&Richard

Member Since 2026
03/23

Yesterday Richard got his first blue on the current dose! Today though he is back to 300-400 range. Ketones are in his usual range for this BG. Looks like either he is still adjusting to the dose, or just really don't like going below 200.
I'm still trying to find some LC food he is willing to eat. Best case for now is mixing ~18% with ~6-7% and tuna (~0%), which should result in ~10-12% on average. Hope this would be enough for now.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Sometimes it takes a few days for the dose to settle so you can see what the dose will do for Richard.
It's good you saw a blue yesterday. Let's hope you will see more of them soon.

With SLGS, after 7 days you can plan on doing a curve and if warranted, give a .25 unit increase.
Come on Richard, let's see those blues 💙 💙 💙

Have you looked at the food charts to see if you can find a low carb food he may like?
Good luck with the food situation! 😻
 
I'm still trying to find some LC food he is willing to eat. Best case for now is mixing ~18% with ~6-7% and tuna (~0%), which should result in ~10-12% on average. Hope this would be enough for now.
How many days has it been since you have been feeding him this mix? Just curious to see if there is any improvement in his numbers since.

How is he doing but for his numbers? Eating OK? Spirits OK?

I'm going to tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Marje and Gracie for their advice on whether you can fasttrack his increases/follow TR with the new food mix you are feeding, considering he has a history of DKA and his ketones were up to 2.2 a couple of days ago.
 
How many days has it been since you have been feeding him this mix? Just curious to see if there is any improvement in his numbers since.

How is he doing but for his numbers? Eating OK? Spirits OK?

I'm going to tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Marje and Gracie for their advice on whether you can fasttrack his increases/follow TR with the new food mix you are feeding, considering he has a history of DKA and his ketones were up to 2.2 a couple of days ago.
Certainly if you are feeding all canned food now, you can switch to TR which should help to increase doses faster than SLGS. However, we only fast track if nadirs are above 300.

Keep in mind, the TR protocol allows for increasing by 0.5u every six cycles if nadirs are above 300. With a history of DKA, we could fast track that after every four cycles on TR. Right now, he’s not quite there but if the trend starts of nadirs above 300, please tag one of us to help fast track.
 
Certainly if you are feeding all canned food now, you can switch to TR which should help to increase doses faster than SLGS.
Thanks, Marje. Richard is eating all-canned food but not low carbs. Alex is feeding a mix which he thinks is around 10-12% carbs. Can he still follow TR?

By fasttracking, I meant that could he increase faster than every 7 days - in the event he can't follow TR (due to not feeding low carb canned).
 
Hi, I'm feeding him like this for more than a week already. I'm still experimenting with brands trying to find something low carb that he is willing to eat.
He is doing fine for his BG - active, drinks a lot, has good appetite if offered food he likes.
As for ketones, the reading on the meter do seem to corelate with his BG. For example 2.2 a few days ago was while his BG was above 400. Next day with BG of 150 ketones dropped to 0.9.

I'm a bit reluctunt to increase the dose having a reading of 150 just a few days ago.
 
Can he still follow TR?
Of course he can.
By fasttracking, I meant that could he increase faster than every 7 days - in the event he can't follow TR (due to not feeding low carb canned).
Again, only if all his nadirs are above 300. We can do fast tracking with SLGS but nadirs need to be above 300. If we are fast tracking, we stop when we start seeing nadirs below 300.

Hi, I'm feeding him like this for more than a week already. I'm still experimenting with brands trying to find something low carb that he is willing to eat.
He is doing fine for his BG - active, drinks a lot, has good appetite if offered food he likes.
As for ketones, the reading on the meter do seem to corelate with his BG. For example 2.2 a few days ago was while his BG was above 400. Next day with BG of 150 ketones dropped to 0.9.

I'm a bit reluctunt to increase the dose having a reading of 150 just a few days ago.
As long as you are doing SLGS, you would gather data for a week, run a 12-hour curve with tests every 2 hours, and then based upon the nadir, determine if the dose goes up or down. If you switch to TR, increases can be more often depending primarily on the nadir.
 
Back
Top