03/26 Jackson - AMPS 424, +6 312, PMPS 333, +5 178

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
I stalled for 6 cycles because of that fur shot on 03/22, and increased this morning.
Hopefully, not on a high before the break.

He always screams when he sees the lancet getting close to his ear. He often lashes out fast and hard with his right paw at the hand holding the lancet the instant he is poked. This morning, it took 4 pokes to get blood, and he actually had his claw out and got me in the thumb. Nail clipping time coming soon.

I took the prescriptions to WalMart and they had to order a box of the syringes. They had to leave a message for my vet because the script for Lantus did not say pens, and I didn't want the big vials. My vet's office called to say the script was changed to the pens, and I should be able to pick them up anytime.
 
Oof, I'm sorry he's reacting so badly to the ear pokes. Mine used to fight for his life when I'd try (back in 2021), and we eventually gave up on home testing altogether (which I would never do now, we were so lucky he never went hypo on his way to remission). Do you "burrito" him or anything?

Good luck getting your insulin pens! Please come down nice and gently, Jackson.
 
Deanna, I used terumo needles, freehand obviously and drew blood every time. It’s how my vet preferred to test. Just something to consider
 
My vet's office just called and the overnight shipping to MSU was $158, and they sent my vet some numbers and told her for interpretation it will be another $18.00. I was expecting maybe $20 or $30.
I asked if she could forward his regular blood work and urinalysis, but she hasn't yet.
 
Deanna, I used terumo needles, freehand obviously and drew blood every time. It’s how my vet preferred to test. Just something to consider
I use the One Touch which I have boxes of (I think they are 28 guage). I also have other lancets that I can try that are thinner. Maybe if it wasn't so thick he wouldn't scream as much.
No I don't burrito him.
 
WalMart has a 75 cent cash back if you buy 3 cans of Fancy Feast, so I buy 3 cans (two of gravy lovers and one of Salmon and Shrimp pate). I was putting the cans away today and thought he gets the Salmon and Shrimp if he gets a blue. The only fish he ever gets is freeze dried salmon treats. He was happy.

I woke up and thought it was 3 AM and whats the use of testing, and then I saw the clock and it's only 11 PM (+5), so got a test. BLUE!!!!! 🩵
 
Last edited:
Back
Top