03/25 Gizmo PMPS=108, +1=112, +2=112, +3=90, +4=117, +5=118, +5.5=128

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
03/24

AMPS 150

I hope everyone has a fantastic Caturday. I will if I can get a couple more hours of sleep - I am going to try.

We had a band of thunderstorms that blew though here last night - right after the +5 and getting to bed. It was scary (and they don't usually scare me). There were tornatic warnings all around and from the sound of the wind and rain hitting the windows and house we had straight line winds and one branch hit the bedroom window (had to be a loose branch) that almost broke it. I have no idea what the outside looks like or if there is any damage to the vehicles.

So... In actuality I got to sleep around 11p.

Remember to always give thanks for your blessings! :):bighug:

 
How scary. I'm glad you were safe. I hope you don't have a big mess outside to deal with. Hopefully Gizmo will surf safely today and let you get some rest. Cute video.
 
Glad your windows are intact and I can only imagine what the yard looks like.

Looks like Gizmo behaved last night and nice start. Hope that he will surf along today and you can get some much needed rest.
 
Well, we are up. Just tested +2.5: 101!!

It is just getting daylight and we shall see. Hubby said the AC got locked in a bad cycle when we lost power and when the power came back on the compressor was humming/buzzing. He got up when he heard it (apparently after I was asleep) and turned it off and waited 30 min and turned it back on and it went back to normal. I will call for a service check up this week. Need to do that anyway. Need to get the spring check up done anyway and the coils cleaned.

He said while he was waiting a lightening bolt hit one of our oak trees in the back. We need to go check it out later (back yard needs to drain a bit) and see if it killed it. I sure hope not. This is one we planted to replace the 150 year old oak tree that we lost in another storm. It is now as tall as the house and beautiful.
 
+4.5=59

Nadir is in about an hour. His autofeeder just turned for his +4.5 LC snack (he isn't interested but will probably eat in the next 30 in or so). Do I just let him surf at this point? I think yes, but want to check.

No trees down, no damage to the vehicles or house that we can see at the moment. It did take our flag pole and bend it backwards over the roof. It is actually pretty impressive. I will post a picture of it a little later.
 
I love the video. Thanks for sharing.

I usually tested every 30 minutes when in the 50s. If he goes lower, I would encourage him to eat if he is still is not interested in what was on offer.

That storm sounds scary:oops:. I hope your oak tree is okay. I was wondering when you said AC then I remembered you are in Texas. Our heat is still on.
 
I would encourage him to eat if he is still is not interested in what was on offer.
I put a sprinkle of Bonito Flakes on top and plopped him down in front of the food bowl and told him to eat. He obeyed :D

I was wondering when you said AC then I remembered you are in Texas.
It will be 81* today. We have had the A/C running off/on the entire winter (used loosely). We only had one big cold snap this year. The bugs are already horrendous. :eek:
 
+5.5=74

That was an absolutely beautiful cycle!! Am going to give him a break in testing. Will get +11.

Going to go get a new bird feeder and a new humming bird feeder. The hummers are already migrating. My old bird feeder has finally died. It was a good one, but a battery for it is almost as much as a new one.

We get tons of birds in our back yard.
 
Oh boy... that sounds scary. I lived in Tennessee for 5 years and heard the tornado sirens only twice, but it was pretty scary. One time, I had supplies in the bathroom and a big comforter thrown in it... all ready for Chase and I to jump in if we needed to. Thankfully, it passed. I hope that Gizmo surfs and comes back up some. I LOVE the video... absolutely love it. :) :bighug:

PS... I like how you have Gizmo's SS set up. I track everything Chase eats, too, because he is super sensitive to what he consumes. Your SS is much easier to read, then mine. Think I'll change mine... starting today. Thank you. :) I'm such a creature of habit and have never been very creative because I often stay stuck. So it's great to have so many wonderful people here who take such good care of their feline babies. :) I get great ideas from a lot of you. :)

Oops... I think I'll leave the SS as it is. It's easier for me to read since that's the way I've been doing it. LOL. I'm SUCH a creature of habit. So yeah... I wonder where Chase gets it from. LOL
 
Last edited:
I had supplies in the bathroom
:D

BTDT! Last night I was already out of bed and had grabbed him and was headed down stairs but it passed fairly quickly. I put his hard sided carrier in the 1/2 bathroom downstairs and we just hang out in there until it passes. During hurricane Ike he spent the night in the carrier with me on a cot beside him in the den downstairs. No way I was "going to bed" upstairs - lol. That was one looong night.
 
:D

BTDT! Last night I was already out of bed and had grabbed him and was headed down stairs but it passed fairly quickly. I put his hard sided carrier in the 1/2 bathroom downstairs and we just hang out in there until it passes. During hurricane Ike he spent the night in the carrier with me on a cot beside him in the den downstairs. No way I was "going to bed" upstairs - lol. That was one looong night.
We didn't have a basement so our only option was to be in the most interior room.
 
I have never heard of a bird feeder that needs a battery.
I was thinking the same thing. o_O

Lizzie, that storm sounds terrifying. I am scared to death of tornadoes. We lived through one in Florida on Christmas Eve when I was about 5. Tore up the air force base we lived on, but we had no damage. The power was out and we had to open presents by lantern light. I'm not sure, but I think it came back on just in time for Mom to put the turkey in the oven!

Gizmo is sure spending some quality time in the lagoon! Love it! :D
 
Never been in an earthquake but I am terrified of those. You know when bad weather and hurricanes are coming and can prepare, with an earthquake there is no warning!

I am also terrified of a house fire. Way too many of those close to me growing up and in recent past my Aunts house burnt down with two of my Aunts in it, along with four cats and two dogs. They lost all four cats :( and everything in the house.
 
Yikes on the wind last night. We get "strong storms" and tail ends of pacific hurricanes (typhoons), but in all my life nothing worse than a little roof tile coming off. I hope your oak tree is OK. That's a little close for a lightning strike.:nailbiting:

That was an absolutely beautiful cycle!
I was thinking the same thing, that's why I popped in. :D This TR stuff is agreeing with him. :)

Loved the video's. My dad's squirrel proof feeder just closes a gate if something heavier than a bird comes on it. The first video, I thought the cats were just praying for something better than dry food.:p
 
+11=136

Wow!

He has done a lot of sleeping today. He got down and got inside the box that the birdfeeder came in "just to check it out - cuz it's a box" He isn't really acting interested in food but has eaten when encouraged. Doesn't act off, just tired I think.

Here is the picture of the flag pole. That is PVC - very hard and sturdy. We haven't found anymore damage. Trees all look good. We had most of the pine trees taken out a few years after we bought here - oh, and two huge Chinese tallow (chinaberry). The tree guy said - the pines and oaks would bend and be alright in the wind, but the tallow's would snap and take out the house - those were the first to go. We spent over $5000 taking down trees.

wind.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top