03/25 Furball, AMPS=388, PMPS+400

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67050

Furball's numbers went up today. It is kind of discouraging to see that happen. Since I had not done a curve until yesterday, I didn't know how big of a drop the insulin would have on her glucose, so Friday I only gave her half a dose. This seems to have caused a bounce. I hope it doesn't last too much longer. I have to give the numbers from her curve yesterday to my vet. My vet already wants me to give Furball 2 units of Lantus. She is basing this only on the pre-shot numbers I had been giving her. I don't want to up the dose from 1 unit. I don't think she needs it, unless the numbers don't come back down. Before I gave her the half dose Friday evening, her numbers were starting to come back down. She has only been on insulin for just over one week.

Furball will be going to the vet on Tuesday for a re-check of her ear infection. I will be discussing all of this with the vet at that appointment.
 
hi carla! don't get discouraged yet - it's just one weekend of numbers! hang in there! i'm going to super-celebrate that you're getting the hang of the testing. incredible job today getting numbers into your spreadsheet! you must've figured out some way to persuade furball to let you test. and her ear must be bleeding better for you as well.

when her ear infection resolves you'll probably see better blood sugar numbers. it's common for the BG to drop when an infection resolves.

are you still planning on running a curve at the vet's on monday? you mentioned that last week.

if i were guessing why the high numbers today, it would be that nice little blue spot on furball's ss on friday night. that 190 is so much lower than she's become used to, her liver has reacted to it.

a cat's body gets used to whatever BG range they have been hanging out in, and then whenever the BG drops, some cats will have a big response to it. the liver releases stored sugars and counterregulatory hormones to save the cat from the perceived "hypo" and then the BG goes high. that can last up to 3 days. so if you have a curve run at the vet's tomorrow, it's very possible that she will see the same kind of numbers as you got today and think that furball needs a dose increase.

what we would suggest that you do is hold this same dose, wait for the bounce to clear which could be monday night even, get at least one before-you-go-to-bed test every night and we can help you interpret what's happening.

Sienne gave you the TR Protocol, i think it was yesterday or the day before, for you to print out and take to your vet. that's a very good protocol and most of us here follow that.

the link here is for a second protocol called Start Low Go Slow that might be a little easier for you to manage. it sounds like you really can't get any tests in during the daytime cycle and are struggling to get them in at night as well. you don't have to do as much testing with this protocol because you're not trying to keep her in as low of numbers. for this protocol you adjust dose no more than once a week, also doing a curve to see what the numbers are then. take a look at it and see if it's a better fit for you.

if you want to follow that, we can still help you figure out next steps. i think it would be helpful if you took a look at both of those protocols and decided which was the best fit for you. that way people are going to give you appropriate advice.

you probably want to be checking ketones as well. you can buy ketostix at any pharmacy and you test fresh urine to make sure there's no ketones developing.
 
Since I was able to get the curve done over the weekend, I am not taking Furball to the vet today. It is getting very expensive very fast and I really can't afford anything I don't really need to do. Also, I figure Furball's numbers will be up at the vet since she would not be happy to be stuck there all day.

I will compare the protocols. If I try the other, do I start posting in the other forum?

As far as ketones go, do you have to test in fresh urine? I don't usually see Furball pee. Is it okay to put in the litter? I'm confused how that works, so I haven't tested for that yet. Thanks.
 
You can still post here using SLGS but you need to put it in your signature block (large and bold) so people don't give you the wrong advice. I would always mention it again in your posts where you are seeking dose advice too, just to make sure it isn't missed.

I'm sorry but I have to say your vet is an idiot if they want to change the dose based on PS numbers only and doubling it is just ridiculous.

Testing for ketones - the urine needs to be less than an hour old or to have been refrigerated. Litter will soak up all the urine so you need to replace it with something non-absorbent like aquarium gravel, lentils, or even chopped up plastic shopping bags to get your sample.
 
I think my vet doesn't really know what she is doing and I'm going to have an argument with her tomorrow when I take Furball in for her ear infection. I am faxing the vet my curve results today so we can discuss it. The good thing is that I control what dose I give Furball, not the vet. However, if my vet won't work with me, I may have to look for another vet who will.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top