03/24 Chaos PMPS 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39598

Good morning, everyone! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

If you look at Chaos's SS, he hit blue rather early last night and could possibly have seen green...but I can't prove it. Today he checks in with a sunny 247 and we're hoping to see him drop onto the blue floor soon. This is his 8th cycle on 2.5u. I am seeing almost all blue nadirs so I know I have a couple more cycles to go before I should increase, but here's the thing: I look at his spreadsheet and have a terrible time making sense of it. I see more green when he was at 2u than I do at 2.5u. It seems like the pattern is that I raise his dose, then he raises his numbers to match. I'm starting to wonder what's going on here. Does anyone have any experience with a cat who responds the way Chaos does? Is there anything more I can do? His feedings are regular, always LC wet food, and around the same times every day (as if Chaos would let me forget or be late with a feeding! :lol: ). Shots and tests are regular too, obviously. I feel like I'm doing everything possible but failing miserably at getting my baby boy regulated. :cry:

Chaos is getting used to the new couch though they are not best friends yet. He doesn't seem stressed any more, so higher numbers probably shouldn't be attributed to anxiety at this point. Poor little Rain Man kitty...his shorts are on the highway (lol Celi!!) and his testing spot is gone, but he's coping. Not as much fussing about tests in a strange place today. I think it's that "new couch smell" still.. it's fading but if I can smell it, you know it's punching poor Chaos right in the nose.

I'll be making enough buttercream to drown a horse today in preparation for the weekend's cake-a-thon. And shortbread, DH wants shortbread so we can eat it with the rest of that lemon curd. Plus fried chicken for dinner. I will be planning brief escapes from my kitchen to check back in here and of course get tests on kitty. I know as much BG info as possible would be helpful so I'll try to test Chaos every couple hours today and post the numbers.
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

Good morning guys ... I'm sorry about the frustration you are feeling with chaos and his numbers .. Remember, you are not failing at getting your kitty regulated .. you are doing everything you can for Chaos .. It could be his Vita-men are just not working right .. That's what we always said about mocha ... she had some lazy vita men for awhile! I hope that someone else can come along and make sense of his SS for you ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

Violet & Chaos said:
This is his 8th cycle on 2.5u. I am seeing almost all blue nadirs so I know I have a couple more cycles to go before I should increase, but here's the thing: I look at his spreadsheet and have a terrible time making sense of it. I see more green when he was at 2u than I do at 2.5u.

I'm not sure why you think you need to hold Chaos' dose. What I'm seeing on your SS is that you're holding the doses too long. The longer a cat is at a dose that isn't bring numbers to where you want them, the cat gets used to being at that BG range. Chaos was at his previous dose for 18 cycles. If you go back to the protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Also, from what it looks like, it's not clear that Chaos nadirs have been under 200. You could hold the dose for another 2 cycles or you could increase.
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

I'm actually feeling a little bad for Chaos ohmygod_smile He really is a Rain Man Kitty isn't he. Wasn't Chaos the all white kitty who thought he was hiding? I can't remember.

Sounds like you have a busy day. I'm tired thinking about it :mrgreen:
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

Can I invite myself to your place for dinner? Fried chicken, buttercream, shortbread and lemon curd YUM!!! :lol:

Hope you figure out the Chaos dose and you see those greens we all long for
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

Hey Violet, Good luck with increasing the dose, whether you decide to do it now or in two cycles from now. It does seem that Chaos is bouncing less since you went to 2.5 units, but you do want to see that whole range of numbers come down. I have seen the same thing with Rusty: he seems to get "stuck" from time to time and I have increased the dose (probably not as soon as I should have). Right now he seems to be consistent in a good range (antijinx), but I would not hesitate as long as I have in the past if he should start inching up again. As they say: "sometimes you have to go up in order to come down".

The cake! the lemon curd! Oh my!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

nom nom nom. buttercream frosting! a woman after my own heart. what is it people see in canned frosting. :shock:

i had a very brief stint with cake decorating. when the cake sorta collapsed that was on its way out the door to a birthday party i decided perhaps this wasn't for me! :lol:

you're doing just great, violet. don't feel badly - consider most owners would never even try to manage their diabetic cat - and remember than Chaos is happy to have you! I hope you get some better numbers soon!
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, dose advice please

Morning Violet! happy buttercream, and cake baking... sounds wonderful. :-D

Good luck with the does increase. Mannie gets stuck too, needs a little extra to get things rolling again. I know that for me I too tend not to be as aggressive with dosing as I should be. Sometimes it is difficult to tell if it's a bounce that i need to wait out, or that he just needs more. It does not help that he is also a diver. well whether you increase now or wait the additional 2 cycles, I hope it will bring down Chaos's levels over all. Good luck!

Have a great one today!
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, +3 261

:lol: :lol: :lol: Yeah, Karrie, Chaos is the all-white kitty who thinks he has an invisibility cloak! He still does that once in a while, it cracks me up!

Well, with upward action instead of downward (261 at +3 today) I believe I will go with that dose increase tonight. We aren't getting anywhere at 2.5 and I am probably not aggressive enough with the increases. We shall see how he does. You've all heard of "green with envy", well, I am envious of others' greens!

As for the buttercream, shortbread, lemon curd and fried chicken, I wouldn't turn any of you away from my table. DH and I take a bit of pride in eating and cooking well and avoiding all that fake processed crap. All bets are off when we're exhausted and have to call the pizza guy, though! :lol: 2 batches of buttercream down, one batch of shortbread, two fried chicken breasts, and sewing new living room curtains left to go today. Wheeeee!
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, +3 261

Look at you go with all that cooking. I baked for the first time in my life last night... a loaf of bread in our new breadmaker :lol: And it turned out 1/2 the size of what it should have been. DH is the chef and baker here. I think people who cook have to be somewhat artistic. I am not and need to follow directions to a tee. And I can't multitask which is a recipe for disaster. One thing at a time. If I leave the room to quickly get something, I get sidetracked and I spend a half hour doing other things.

I thought it was Chaos that did the hiding. LMAO!!! Glad he still does it once in a while.

Wish Chaos was an all green kitty too. I bet once you find the right dose he'll start going back down the dosing ladder.
 
Re: 03/24 Chaos AMPS 247, +3 261

I'm glad Chaos is getting a little used to that new couch smell. I can only imagine how it must have freaked him out to have such a change.

Like I have said before, I wish I lived closer so I could take advantage of your culinary skills -- you should definitely start doing private catering. I work in geriatrics, and I know someone who has started a catering business that is like Meals on Wheels but it is much better and she delivers to older adults who can't cook anymore. Every week, they pick their food from a selection of meals on a menu that is always changing. The meals are frozen so they buy either 1 to 2 weeks worth at a time and keep in their freezer. I think she charges about $15/meal and they deliver to the house. Might be a good business for you if there are lots of older adults in your area or younger people who don't want to cook.

I love shortbread and fried chicken! Yum!!
 
OK, the dose increase has been implemented. 2.75u for Chaos tonight! Here we go... wish us luck.

So I was getting frustrated with the sugar dance again today...but I was rewarded for my efforts and feel so much better now. Chaos had one of his rare cuddly moments and hopped up on the new couch with me. He sprawled out on my lap, accepted chin scritches, and generally loved it up for a little while. Sooooo good. He seems to know when I need that! cat_pet_icon

The icing is done, the curtains are finished, and the shortbread is perfect (according to my mother). The chicken is in the works and smells awesome. This has been a good day!

I'm not sure how great I'd be at private catering... the baking I can handle, but cooking full-time would leave poor DH without a home-cooked meal ever again! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top