03/23 Richard AMPS 421 +7 232 PMPS 515

Alex&Richard

Member Since 2026
03/21

Looks like dose increase is not going well for Richard. His BG spikes heavily. I was not able to do more checks today, and not sure will be able to do them tonight past +4 or +5. Will try to make a few tomorrow mid-day to ensure he is not dropping too low. Though even with existing checks, he should not probably be below 90, unless the BG change is more than 100 per hour.

Are such BG spikes after dose increase are common/normal? Did anyone have similar experience, and if so, what was the resolution?
 
You might be seeing New Dose Wonkiness which is:

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

Info - New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) and Failed Reductions
Hope you are right. But I will try to get some extra checks just to ensure he is not hitting greens. Has not catch blue yet after increase though, but who knows.
 
Back
Top