03/23 Milo Is Home!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly and Milo

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39526

It seems the dose increase is working. Milo actually hit blue yesterday and is starting off with a nice yellow, which is a great change!

Recap

amps 350
+5 193
PMPS 365
+3 450
amps 282

We shall see what today brings!
 
Re: 03/23 Milo amps 282

Good morning guys ... So glad the dose increase is giving you some nicer numbers ... I hope you see more blues and greens today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 03/23 Milo amps 282

Need some help. Since being home from work I have thought Milo was acting very lethargic, so I tested him. Recap

AMPS 282
+5 321
9.5 279
PMPS 283

Since his numbers were fine, I didn't think anything more about it, until dinner time. Milo usually come running to eat, but he will not have anything to do wit his food. I even offered him his favorite food with dried salmon sprinked on top. He didn't eat any of it and so I haven't given him his pm shot yet. Any thoughts on what I should do??
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

how's the litterbox?
you could try gravy on top of food, some kitties perk right up when they smell that.

when was the last (+ hour) he ate?
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

Any chance you can get a ketone test? Does Milo have a history of pancreatitis? Has Milo ever done this before?

Depending on your state of concern, a trip to the vet may be something to consider.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

I will try some gravy. He last ate at +3 after his AM shot. the litter box seemed fine, nothing unusual.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

Well he will not eat gravy or even hc food or even tuna. I will try to test for ketones if I can catch him and no he doesn't have a history of pancreatitis. THe only other time he acted like this was when he went hypo on me and dropped into the low 30's. I guess a trip to the vet tomorrow may be in order. I wonder if this has anything to do with him being over 500 the other day. He has drank some water this evening. I guess I should skip his shot tonight unless I can get some food in him??
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

The only thing it sounds like you didn't try was baby food.

I'd also try offering a treat. If Milo looks nauseated, then you know something is really off.

I wouldn't shoot if Milo won't eat. If you don't shoot, please keep an eye on Milo. If he seems unwell, think about an ER visit.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

I don't have any baby food in the house. I tried to give him some cooked chicken and he didn't touch it. He acts like he has been drugged. The vet has to sedate him to see him and he comes home with kind of an off look in his eyes and very lethargic. He just isn't himself at all. Should I run out and get some baby food and if so, what kind?
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

Either Beechnut Stage 1 or Gerber Stage 2. All that's in them are meat and broth -- no onions, etc. The big advantage of baby food is that you can dilute it a little and syringe feed. If you're able to syringe feed, you could give Milo a half of his regular dose.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

ok got some gerber stage 2 chicken and gravy. Milo wouldn't touch it but I have been able to syringe feed about two syringes worth... How much should I syringe feed before giving him half his regular dose?
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

I would try to get as much of that bottle into him as possible over the course of the next several hours. Remember, Lantus onset takes about 2 hours. I don't think I'd shoot more than 0.75u and keep feeding a couple of syringes worth every 30 min. Also, I'd wait at least 30 min. before shooting. I don't want you to have given a shot and Milo then throws up.

(I don't remember how many calories there are in the Gerbers. It's probably pretty low in calories. It's approx. 7% carb -- it contains cornstarch.)
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

I gave Milo .75 units of insulin about an hour ago. I am working on getting the jar of baby food in him. So far he has not thrown up, but getting the food in his is hard work. There are 100 calories in one jar of the baby food.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

That's good. (Beechnut is half the calories and no carbs. I think it's safer right now to be giving Milo something with carbs.) Also, given that the baby food is more liquidy than what you usually feed, Milo may pee more -- which may help with getting a ketone test.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo pmps 283, NEED ADVISE

I got a ketone test and Milo is high. This is the first time he has had ketones... Going to research now what this means. Guess we are headed to the vet tomorrow.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

hi Kelly,

how is he acting?
you're fairly confident on the HIGH reading? you're using ketone strips right? it was a clean sample?
your strips are still good?(check expiry date)

I'm fairly certain this is a vet appointment, I hope he's better real soon thou.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

and make sure you read those strips EXACTLY the amount of time indicated. the longer you wait, the color will change. so it has to be read (if mem serves me) in 15 sec. if showing high, cat has to be seen right away. this is an emergency
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

Kelly if Milo is reading HIGH for ketones Dian is right.....Milo NEEDS to be seen right away. Please take him to the ER.
Keep us updated please when you can.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

Hi Kelly. I hope you took Milo to the ER.
Sending healing vines and snowflakes to Milo, and hugs to you.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

Ditto what everyone said. Only a trace amount of ketones can be managed at home. This is an emergency.

I hope you got Milo to the ER.

And what others said is also accurate -- the strips shouldn't be old and you need to read the results in the time frame specified in the instructions. For Ketostix, it's 15 sec.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

Milo is at the vet now and I am waiting to hear from them. I feel horrible! I feel asleep holding him around 4am-4:30am last night and didn't wake up until my alarm went off. He is no different this morning and after reading your messages, it sounds like I should have taken him to the ER.... :sad: and of course, the ketone strips I have are expired...and a friend gave me a packet of the kind you sprinkle in the litter box, but I couldn't find an expiration date on it, so I have no idea if I had a good reading or not. I will update as soon as I know more. Milo's BG reading was 188 this morning.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo high ketones NEED ADVISE

I have no idea how that form of ketone test works (so at one level, I'm quasi-relieved.) I'm very glad you got Milo to the vet.

Going forward, get a box of Ketostix!! Please update us and let us know how Milo (and you) are doing.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo At vet now, waiting to hear

boy how scary .. please update when you can .. you are in our thoughts and prayers!
 
Re: 03/23 Milo At vet now, waiting to hear

Finally heard from the vet. I just don't get it sometimes. I told them that I thought it was probably ketones, and so they did blood work first to rule out anything there and to test his kidney functions. All came back normal, so then they did the urine test and yup-- ketones.. So now they have to do another blood test to see where his electrolyt levels are and are starting him on fluid... This could have all been deteremined and started if they would have listened to me. I just feel like Milo has been suffering all day for no reason!!!

I haven't heard back yet as to where his electrolyt levels are. They are going to call me and then show me how to give fluids at home. This is a new experience for me. When does it turn into DKA? or is that what he already has?
 
Re: 03/23 Milo Vet Finally Called

A lot will depend on Milo's electrolyte levels. If they are out of whack, it's DKA and cannot be managed at home. The titration of electrolytes is a slot process and there needs to be constant monitoring. Here's a link to info on ketoacidosis.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo Vet Finally Called

Sending vines that his electrolytes are okay, and he can come home, soon.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo Vet Finally Called

wow...just seeing this...

sending tons of healing vines for milo...and some restful vines to you.
 
Re: 03/23 Milo Vet Finally Called

Kelly, I'm just reading this. I hope that all will be OK with Milo. Sending positive thoughts, prayers, and healing vines to your boy tonight. Try to stay positive.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/23 Milo Vet Finally Called

I am glad he is coming home--The packet the vet gave you is the Purina Glucotest Urine Detection used to measure urine glucose--I used to use it to test Moonie--You dig out the little squares after Milo pees on them & they give a glucose reading..Graph is on the package.
Praying for Milo's complete recovery. Sending healing vines tonite!!
 
Re: 03/23 Milo Vet Finally Called

Milo is home. His electrolyte levels were normal, so I am giving him the sub q liquids twice a day and taking him back to the vet on Saturday. He still will not eat, so I force fed another jar of baby food to him. The vet recommended only giving him .5unit of insulin. Hopefully Milo will return to his normal self soon!!
 
Kelly --

The recipe for ketones is usually a high BG level (although we've seen several kitties lately with numbers in the 200s), not eating, and not enough insulin. It's a delicate balance when you have a cat that has no appetite and you need to give insulin. I'm concerned that 0.5u may not be enough.

Please get Ketostix and test for ketones. You'll need to catch Milo in the litterbox and dip the strip into his urine stream.
 
Glad he's home Kelly and I hope you can get him to eat. What a day you've had....I hope you are able to get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top