Steve & Merlin
Member Since 2019
Because Merlin desperately needs to put on weight, I have been feeding him higher calorie food that is also higher in carbs. If you look at his SS you will see that doing this only modestly raised his BG numbers from mostly green to blue/green. Then suddenly tonight he is spiking very high. He will probably hit 500+ for his AMPS. We seemed to be in a very stable situation where he was getting more calories at the expense of an acceptable BG rise. No dose increase needed. My questions are:
I increased his carbs without increasing his dose and his BG only went up a little. Was this small response to the increased carbs due to him scavenging his depot for the extra insulin to keep his BG numbers good? Was I slowly depleting his depot and now this spike indicates the depot was exhausted? Or, is this, as I originally suspected, the result of a fur shot?
If I depleted his depot, should increase his dosage to accommodate the higher carb food?
Since he started spiking, I have put him back on his LC food.
Thanks for any help.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-22-merlin-amps-109-3-48-150-pmps-203.212262/
I increased his carbs without increasing his dose and his BG only went up a little. Was this small response to the increased carbs due to him scavenging his depot for the extra insulin to keep his BG numbers good? Was I slowly depleting his depot and now this spike indicates the depot was exhausted? Or, is this, as I originally suspected, the result of a fur shot?
If I depleted his depot, should increase his dosage to accommodate the higher carb food?
Since he started spiking, I have put him back on his LC food.
Thanks for any help.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-22-merlin-amps-109-3-48-150-pmps-203.212262/