03/23 Blackie PMPS 164, +2 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66860&p=727511#p727511

I'm not sure if I'm going about this the correct way or not with regards to her fuds. While she's on the fat unit, do I manipulate the food to try and bring all the #s into the green?

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Question 03/23 Blackie AMPS 172

Hi guys .. no answer from me on the food question .. This is a little higher then blackie normally starts at, but I'm sure she'll be green in no time .. have a great day!
 
Re: Question 03/23 Blackie AMPS 172, +3 93

+1 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 93 - 0.30 oz. raw turkey cutlet
PMPS 158, 1u fat, 0.80 oz. FF T&G + 0.20 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 121 - 1 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.30 oz. raw turkey cutlet
 
Re: Question 03/23 Blackie AMPS 172, +3 93

hi angela. imo, you've manipulated her curve enough to increase the dose to 1.25u, but you'll want to monitor.
the idea behind food manipulation in blackie's case is to prop up her nadir so you can add more insulin... which will hopefully bring down the preshot numbers. i wouldn't eliminate food if she needs the calories. instead, i would feed at times early on to prevent her from going too low.

just my thoughts...
 
It was suggested to me on the 17th to fatten her dose, not increase it by a 1/4 unit, so that's what I did. She's been on the fattened dose since the morning of the 18th. I removed only 0.20 oz. of the FF T&G and replaced it with Evo 95% C&T as she was continually climbing. At both PS times, she's now getting 0.80 oz. FF T&G and 0.20 oz. Evo 95% C&T after her fattened dose. The omission of the 0.20 oz. FF T&G seems to be working for her as she's no longer climbing. She's getting a total of 6 oz. wet and 0.60 oz. of raw turkey cutlet a day. If the fattened dose doesn't work after a period of time, then I'll increase it to a 1/4 unit. So far, so good.

Thank you for the suggestion, Jill. I appreciate it, and will take it into consideration if she needs it. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top