03/22 Skipper: AMPS HI, and I dropped it again

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerb

Member Since 2012
I am an unfit mother. Last night, when I was attempting to wrap my 2nd vial of Lantus that I've purchased in one week, I dropped it again, and it shattered. I couldn't save anything. This was at about 8:45 p.m. I dissolved into tears, as my pharmacy closes at 7 p.m. Needless to say, Skipper has not had his morning dose, which he normally gets at 4:45 a.m., and it's now 7:50 am. He ate breakfast but threw it up. I can't call the vet or the pharmacy until 9 a.m., and I am beside myself. I am staying home from work until I can get this resolved. What is wrong with me?
 
I'd have insulin vial anxiety after what you went through. Its post traumatic stress syndrome caused by a pharmacist that hates cats. The pen route is what you need. Even get it at a different pharmacy to reduce stress. Sending you big hugs this morning. Hang in there.
 
(((Beth)))
I'd be a lot more worried if Skipper was sick and/or had a current history of DKA. The good news is that you're not doing something like stepping on Skipper or falling over him.

The bad news is that this is an expensive "oops."
 
I did test his urine this morning and he has no ketones, so that's reassuring. He doesn't seem to be any different from usual, and probably thinks he won't have to get a shot today.

Thanks for the support. I feel horrible, and now I'm going to have to go crawling back to the pharmacy and beg again.
 
(((Beth))) an unfit mother wouldn't be so upset. These things happen to everyone. Please don't blame yourself. I thought you did an amazing job with the pharmacist getting more yesterday. Skipper is lucky to have you in his corner.
 
Oh Beth, you are SO not an unfit mother. An unfit mother wouldn't fight the pharmacist for her young like you did! Mistakes happen, things fall. It happens to all of us. (Maybe a different pharmacist will be on duty today?? Here's hoping!!)

Excellent news with the negative ketones.

Definitely check out the pen route...you'll feel much more secure if you don't have to worry about the insulin shattering, and in the long run it's more cost effective to boot.

Hugs to you....you are an amazing bean, and Skipper knows it!

Amy
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've been in skipper's condo before, so welcome from us! Sorry to hear this is the second vial you've dropped .. I have to say, if you can afford the pens, that is probably the best route to go .. Hugs to you, cause it sounds like you need them today! Just hang in there, you'll be ok .. have a great day!
 
Just to update: I spoke with the vet's assistant and she authorized another refill, and told me not to give Skipper a shot this morning, just to wait until his normal dose. I told her his BG was over 600 this morning and he vomited, but she said the vet said to skip it.

And, the nice pharmacist was on duty this morning and she gave me no hassles, except she questioned me about dropping the vial twice, and said, "It's really expensive." I said, "Yes, I realize that." Tell me something I don't know. Sorry, I'm a very sarcastic person.

My coworker, who is an artist who does detail work, is taping and rubberbanding the bottle for me today since I am afraid to touch it. She's the only person I trust to do it.

When I call my vet Monday for the weekly phone check in, I will ask about the pen.

Here's a question: Can I prefill syringes or does that negatively effect the insulin? I wouldn't do a lot, just a couple at a time, but am not sure it that's ok.

Thanks!
 
aw, beth. that sucks. try not to doubt yourself, though - it's something that anyone can do. :YMHUG:

you don't want to prefill the syringes. there's a coating inside to make them glide and my understanding is that it degrades the insulin if it's in there too long.

punkin & i did the video in the sticky "lantus/lev: taking care of your insulin." the title's something like that, at the top of this forum page. anyway, i don't know if you noticed, but i store our insulin when i buy a vial, inside a little A & W mug. it's perfect to hold it, it keeps it from falling around in the fridge shelf too. maybe something like that would help. the handle is really nice to be able to hang onto.

i haven't found something like that to work for the pen, but as people have said, the pen basically provides a little carrier for you. some people store theirs in the box it came in. i buy a single pen at a time, so no box.

your vet is trying to help you stay on schedule. if you were to shoot early, then you'd want to shoot 12 hours from that shot. it's logical to just hold out for whatever time you'd shoot tonight, or maybe a little bit earlier than that.
 
I would definitely go the pen route. I plan to when this vial poops out! I use the vial right now, and it's in the box, stuffed with a tissue. It lives in the door section of the fridge, wedged in between the shelf rail and the parmesan cheese where it can't get knocked out. It doesn't get removed from or put back in the packaging anywhere but on the counter...NEVER over the floor! Otherwise I'm sure I'd have had the same thing happen!

I wouldn't prefill the syringes. I asked about doing it even a couple of hours early and it wasn't recommended as the insulin starts to degrade fast.

Try not to worry too much about the skipped shot, we've all had them (or a fur shot) for one reason or another! As long as the ketones are negative, you'll be back on track in no time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top