03/22 Raven AMPS 355 +4 259 +5 225 +8 170 PMPS 149 +1.5 120 +2 90 +3 88 +4 86 (Dose increase)

SophieFRA

Member Since 2023
Hi all, didn't get around to posting yesterday, but all well yesterday -- Raven finally had a normal bowel movement (which was incredibly exciting). Today was the day of his dose increase from 1.75 to 2us this am. He started out higher than usual at 355 and I measured his nadir at +8 at 170 (though I didn't measure at +6 and +7 -- so it could have been lower).

Unfortunately he threw up again today. But I'm hoping it was just an isolated occurrence. We had some solid poop in the box again. So that makes 2 good poop days in a row.

I just did call his vet office and they said they will not know in advance when the sonographer will arrive.
It could be any time between 8am and 1pm. They said they take care for diabetic cats very seriously and would be checking on him to make sure his BG doesn't drop too far from fasting. But she said she'd leave a note for the vet to call me back. So perhaps I can get more clarity.

@Margaret (and Pearl)
@Bandit's Mom

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...165-8-214-upcoming-ultrasound-fasting.275510/
 
Update: unfortunately he’s dropping pretty fast. 90 at +2. I will measure every 20 mins and it he goes lower I’ll give him a teaspoon of higher carb wet food. I do have one that’s rabbit given that he’s now on a limited ingredient diet. So I hope he’ll eat it. Otherwise I’ll have to break out the regular high carb food.
 
He’s been pretty stable between +2 (90) and +3 (88) - without food. I just gave him his regular 10pm meal (smaller portion of raw rabbit). Fingers crossed it will continue to be stable.
 
Lovely stretch of greens tonight. A little food after every test helps them surf good numbers :)

Yay for the normal poop!
Yes I was really worried when he dropped so early but we’ve been stable through +4. Going to sleep for an hour and a half and then I’ll take another test. Did one just now at 4.5 after a little more food at 94. Feeling good about that.
 
You're good for the night :)
Thanks so much! It was a relief. Very happy to get some uninterrupted sleep. This morning he was back at around 350 and I gave the regular 2u shot. I forgot to write down the exact number in my SS before I left the house for work but it was something around that. It’s saved in my meter so will update this evening.

However given that he usually has lower numbers in the PM cycle I’m now wondering what to do this evening depending on his PMPS (shot due at 6:45pm EDT) given that he’ll have to fast starting at 10pm for his ultrasound. If he’s below a certain number, would you give a reduced dose this evening?

And is there a number for AMPS tomorrow under which you would not shoot at all rather than giving a half dose as recommended by vet?

I was able to speak to the vet directly last night and she said they really didn’t know when the Sonographer would be there. Often they do not find out until she’s there. But she recommended calling again this afternoon to see if they can get an update. Otherwise I will start fasting him at 10pm.

Thank you!!!
@Bandit's Mom @Margaret (and Pearl) @Chris & China (GA)
 
See what the others say, but I would give the full dose tonight and feed till +4 or +5. Tomorrow morning I might skip the shot if he can't eat at all and you don't know how long he is going to be gone. Maybe you could give a teeny dose like 0.5U. I will defer to more experienced folks on this :-)

Hopefully you will get more clarity this afternoon.

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
 
I agree with Bhooma about tonight’s dose and would see how tonight goes and the Ambg. I’m a chicken when it comes to dosing and not being able to feed plus a super chicken about leaving them at the vet so would most likely skip the morning dose but is bouncing maybe a token dose. See what Wendy thinks thing. If I knew the ultrasound would be early I’d shoot.
 
I would see how he does today and tonight before deciding in the morning what to dose. Raven's responses so far to green have been pretty bouncy. It's entirely possibly he'll bounce through the entire experience. In that case, not giving the half dose would result in even higher numbers. The only time I gave Neko less than half dose before anaesthesia was when I knew she was angling for a reduction (got a 72 on the dental vet's AT with a token dose :eek:). Oh, plus the time I did a fur shot. :banghead:

For insurance, you can give him MC for his 10pm snack tonight. And take some along to the vet's office for him to eat when he gets out of anaesthesia. I've heard of some cats just getting high carb junk if nothing is brought in.

It annoys me when vet's don't know when the travelling ultrasound vet will be in. My clinic knows what hours the travelling vet will be in ad gives clients a time when their vet will be getting the scan. That way I just have to wait in the car while the ultrasound is done, easy in and out. In preCOVID days I actually went in and helped hold/calm kitty while it was done.
 
I would see how he does today and tonight before deciding in the morning what to dose. Raven's responses so far to green have been pretty bouncy. It's entirely possibly he'll bounce through the entire experience. In that case, not giving the half dose would result in even higher numbers. The only time I gave Neko less than half dose before anaesthesia was when I knew she was angling for a reduction (got a 72 on the dental vet's AT with a token dose :eek:). Oh, plus the time I did a fur shot. :banghead:

For insurance, you can give him MC for his 10pm snack tonight. And take some along to the vet's office for him to eat when he gets out of anaesthesia. I've heard of some cats just getting high carb junk if nothing is brought in.

It annoys me when vet's don't know when the travelling ultrasound vet will be in. My clinic knows what hours the travelling vet will be in ad gives clients a time when their vet will be getting the scan. That way I just have to wait in the car while the ultrasound is done, easy in and out. In preCOVID days I actually went in and helped hold/calm kitty while it was done.
Thank you so much for your advice and everyone’s! They called me back and confirmed sonographer will be in between 8 and 10am. Drop off is at 7:30am. So at least it’s a bit more predictable - although still quite a range.

What is MC? I was planning to bring some lightly frozen raw food for the vet office to store to give him right after. That’s the limited ingredient food he’s currently eating and they said they can store that if I leave clear instructions.

@tiffmax @Bandit's Mom
 
I also agree with all. Can’t wait to hear what the ultrasound shows! With that arrival schedule you could wait in the parking lot. Ultrasounds take like 10 minutes! And shouldn’t require sedation perse. We give Gabapentin. Not sure how Raven usually does at vet. They may ask to give an injectable sedative if he ends up being too wiggly. Wait would be a couple hours total max if you stayed there while he got his test ;)

MC is medium carb food. Maybe around 11-13% carb.
 
Yes we’ll have to see. I do have quite a lot on my plate with work, but maybe I can do some work from the car. Especially if they can get me a better estimate when I get there.

I see. I don’r really have any medium carb food that’s rabbit. The Rawz rabbit still hasn’t arrived. Got held up in transit. I have the raw food which I believe is zero carb and I have Instinct original rabbit pate, which I’m confused about. I found online that it has really high carb content - 16 % on dmb or something like that but just double checked the canned food list on the FB Feline Nutrition group and that says 3.something % — very confused now.
 
Back
Top