03/22 MISSY PMPS 382, +2 297

Missy & Tammy

Member Since 2020
GOOD MORNING...

AMPS 220....Bouncy girl is at it again :oops:
I'm not understanding the frequent bounces. No big drops, no big lows...yet she bounces still. Maybe liver training school is out for spring break.:banghead:
 
Question for the pro's...
I don't know if this is a coincidence or not but I have noticed the last few times I have given Missy an injection in her neck area her numbers are high. Missy is long haired so I am very careful giving injections. I always separate her fur and pinch the skin holding it up between my fingers (making a pocket) so I can clearly see where I am injecting and that it is in fact going in. Her dose is also so small only .10U so I have been leaving the needle in for a second or two pushing in the plunger to ensure she gets every last drop of insulin.

In my mind her shots have been fine and I've had no concerns. I did notice on March 20th and again this morning her fur smelt like insulin and numbers are high. The injection site both times was her neck area. My question is... is it possible for insulin to leak out of the injection site? After seeing her in pink now for most of the day I have been a little worried that something happened with her injection this morning, but I don't know what. I can also 99.9% say that the needle did not come through the other side. There was also no wet spot. However, keep in mind .10U barely leaves any trace of moisture.

It's frustrating for me because I feel like she's making progress and then we have days like this. There is also the possibility coming of a dose increase for her. If anyone has any advice I'd love to hear it. I've decided to avoid the neck area for a while and inject around the shoulders. That seems to work best for her. Was today a bounce or fur shot I guess remains to be seen.

Thanks everyone for any advice! :bighug:

@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
What length needle are you using? I'm not confident that the tiny amount of insulin that you're injecting is 'leaking'...

From looking at her SS, I think she's having a good long hard bounce.

Did I share the pancreas/liver story with you already?
 
What length needle are you using? I'm not confident that the tiny amount of insulin that you're injecting is 'leaking'...

From looking at her SS, I think she's having a good long hard bounce.

Did I share the pancreas/liver story with you already?
Hi Sue
The needles I am using are the BD Insulin Syringes 6mm (1/2 unit).
I have not heard the pancreas/liver story yet but I would love to... :)
 
What about switching up her injection site? I know that Pearl seems to have better response when I shoot her in her sides, down near the belly. The scruff of the neck doesn't work for us real well. I do think there is some logic in this for some cats. There is that graphic in the stickies somewhere on all the places you can shoot. I think sometimes the scruff can get more scar tissue from fluids etc. What do you think?
 
What about switching up her injection site? I know that Pearl seems to have better response when I shoot her in her sides, down near the belly. The scruff of the neck doesn't work for us real well. I do think there is some logic in this for some cats. There is that graphic in the stickies somewhere on all the places you can shoot. I think sometimes the scruff can get more scar tissue from fluids etc. What do you think?
Hey Margaret...
Yes I do move around her injection sites. Interesting you find better responses in Pearls sides. I'm going to try that as well. I feel the neck isn't a good place anymore for whatever reason. Thanks for your tips... it's always nice to hear from you. Hope you are keeping well, getting rest and your babies are good too. Have a great night! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Margaret...
Yes I do move around her injection sites. Interesting you find better responses in Pearls sides. I'm going to try that as well. I feel the neck isn't a good place anymore for whatever reason. Thanks for your tips... it's always nice to hear from you. Hope you are keeping well, getting rest and your babies are good too. Have a great night! :bighug::bighug:
Hope you and Tammy are well, too. Chessie is better from her surgery, and Pearl might be having an IBD or Pancreatitis flare, not sure yet, but in general I am getting more rest that is much needed! Thanks for your wishes, girl!
 
You don't have to inject into the scruff. I only tried it a couple of times with Butters, but found it easier around her shoulders.
You're not the first bean who has noticed that the location of the injection might affect her numbers. i have read of others who have said the same thing, fwiw. If I were you, I'd just rotate the injection site around the shoulders and not bother with the scruff.
 
Hi Sue
The needles I am using are the BD Insulin Syringes 6mm (1/2 unit).
I have not heard the pancreas/liver story yet but I would love to... :)

This is a little story I wrote to another member when she was trying to understand bouncing:

I wish I could draw a picture of that little pancreas...it's got a little tired face today on your kitties @@Butters & Lyla and @@Lisa & Oberon - that little guy is just pooped out...and has it's little tiny feet up on the sofa...just kinda taking a little nap...only problem is it's so tired and worn out, it's having trouble waking up from that nap...:facepalm:

So while that little guy is resting, help him out and gently, slowly and carefully, increase the dose of 'helper juice' aka insulin - that you're giving. The thing with these little pancreas fellows, is the darn thing wakes up from it's nap and gets all energized and says, 'Hey I can help!'...and starts making insulin and making a contribution...and that's when you've got to back off from the help aka insulin you're giving...and let the little fellow help out...but then he'll get tired again...and well 'sigh'...just gotta sit down and maybe even put it's tiny feet up again and take another snooze...how long will he rest for this time? No one really knows...but when you're helping with the insulin you give and get those greens, it's really hard to tell if he's actually allowing a little bit of homegrown insulin go...or if he's holding onto it tightly while he's resting - but the green numbers are healing numbers...so either way, that pancreas is happy when those numbers are down - less demand - so he's not running so fast on his tiny little 'gerbil wheel' trying to crank out the insulin...:D

And then let's not even get started on what Mr. Liver thinks of all this activity...because he's the guy in charge of STORAGE! He's constantly storing a supply of gylcogen (sugar basically) JUST IN CASE! He's a real life-saver when it comes down to it...because when that blood sugar goes too low (from your contribution and little pancreas fellow working a little too much)...then he comes to the 'rescue' and dumps a nice big load of sugar into that bloodstream...because he doesn't want anything bad to happen to those organs - like the brain and heart and other important organs that need that 'food'...sugar is a form of energy to the body...and that makes everyone happy except for you...and well, the liver gets a little over-enthusiastic sometimes and dumps all it's got reserved and then there's too much sugar in the blood stream and that's not really a very good thing either - all that sugar coursing through the veins isn't very healthy...kinda hard on those kidneys to deal with all that sugar then...:woot:

And so it goes...it's a real merry go round in there with all these players...so just test, test, test...and count based on your dosing method - since those are tried and true and will help you with the pace of a healthy progress back towards a regulated orchestra in there...:joyful:

And for now...I'm pooped just writing about it...:rolleyes:
 
Back
Top