03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, PMPS 326, +7.25 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Good Morning!!

J.D. was starving when I first got up at +10. He was 272. Probably because he only got two 1/4 can FF meals last night, instead of his usual three.
At +11.75 he was 248, and at AMPS he is 197. So, that's a drop of 51 points in 45 minutes, but I felt okay giving him his full dose.

But, I see him drinking water, that is not a good sign. I hope I did the right thing.

Yesterday

Question: I have told lots of people at work, that I have to shoot 12/12, and they respond with my cousin's sister's pool boy's mother is diabetic, and she doesn't have to shoot on a strict schedule. Where can I find some information about the 12/12 guideline or rule? Anyone?

Edited for spelling.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197 question re: 12/12 shoot schedule

Hi Dyana, I am sure you did the right thing, maybe he was drinking water because he had less food and therefore less water? Scrabble woke me up an hour early wanting to be fed but gave him a couple of chicken treats to suffice him so I could get another hour sleep, lol! I know I read somewhere and if I can find the link I will send it to you, that the reason for the 12/12 shot schedule is cat's metabolism is twice as fast as a humans that is why they need to have insulin every 12 hours. Hope this helps! Hope your day goes well!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197 question re: 12/12 shoot schedule

Dyana,

Hi, I don't have time to look the 12/12 scheduale up for you as I am on my way to work and still have Sara's condo to write. But Lantus as I was told works best on a 12/12. Maybe they use a different insulin?

Have a great day.

jan and sara
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197 question re: 12/12 shoot schedule

Nice AMPS for J.D.
I was looking for something about the 12/12 shooting but could not find it right now. I will look again and post if I do.
Michelle is probably right in her explanation.
Have a good day. :-D
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +1 185

Thanks ladies! One of my employees is on Lantus and I don't think he sticks to a schedule, but I know he shoots twice a day, but he's really a special case (he's on a 4800 calorie a day diet and is only 4 1/2 feet tall and maybe 90 pounds :roll: )
I was asking because they always bug me when I run out the door a little after +11.5, and wonder why I have such a reserve about changing my schedule 2 days a week to work until +13. It's the reason J.D. has to go to work with me every other Sunday, now, because I'll be at work until +13.5.

Well, he's not dropping so fast since eating (anti-jinx). So, I'm not going to worry, today.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197 question re: 12/12 shot schedule

Good Morning Dyana and J.D. Nice AMPS.

I've read/been told both what Michelle and Jan mentioned.

Now about your co-worker whose cousin's sister's pool boy's mother who is diabetic...are you sure they have the right DX? :lol: Are you sure they didn't mean they know a cousin's sister's pool boy's mother who is on a diuretic? Made me laugh this morning! Thanks for that!!!!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197 question re: 12/12 shot schedule

Nice blues this morning for JD, Dyana! I do believe the reason of the 12/12 schedule is because of what Michelle said...
I bet those co-workers are the same ones who have said at least one "he's only a cat", too. I certainly am blessed with a boss and co-workers who understand that Spot and all my furkids are more than "just animals" to me. I remember once, at my one p.t. job, one of the fellows had to put his 18 yr. old kittie to sleep and he was pretty messed up over it and asked to come in late that particular day. The owner of the company said something to the effect that "it's only a damn cat, why don't you just break it's neck and it it over with" and then told him that if he was going to come in late, he may as well take the whole day off w/o pay. He was a true idiot. His son, however (who just so happened to be my now XBF) was a lot more sympthetic.

Well, enough of my ramblings....I hope you guys have a great day...and maybe JD will give ya some greenies today!!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

I'm at work. I just left J.D. dive bombing. At +2 he was 116, that's a drop of 69 points in one hour.
I left eating 1/3 can of 8% Friskies and the other 2/3 are in his timed feeder. And he has a frozen can of LC FF thawing. Do you think that's enough?
I'm even more stressed, because what if he used all his stored glucose from his liver yesterday for his bounce?
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

You know J.D. will be fine. He's done this before and all is good.

I've run into the same issue about the 12/12 schedule. I don't think this is an issue of metabolism. I think it's a carry over from how shorter acting insulin is used. While other insulin is also shot 12/12, most vets/MDs will tell you that you have a one hour "window" on either side of shot time when you can give a dose and still remain on schedule. This isn't the case with Lantus. You have maybe 15 min. The rationale is due to the pharmacology of the insulin. The problem is that old knowledge is being applied to a new(er) insulin.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

Thanks Miriam.
Thanks Gabby for the info. That makes sense.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

Hi Dyana, I worry when Stu has those dramatic drops, too. But if J.D. has food available, he should be fine.

Ella
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

And also, I have heard that their "cousin's sister's pool boy's mother" has been know to stretch the truth at times. :lol:
No one really believes her - EVER! :lol: We all know that!!!

There are different types of insulins....my nephew shoots after he eats. So, we use the longer duration insulins (Lantus and Levemir) and there is a certain protocol for dosing with those ....
JD is doing great...keep up the good work!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

Dyana, cabana-boy may have a different insulin, which works differently. Lantus/Lev is a background insulin, meaning it works indirectly and at a slower rate. It's designed to slowly release over time (thus, the 'shed'), but it's duration in cats is +/- 12 hours. Other insulin is designed to be absorbed rapidly, and can be shot multiple times during the day; their "onset, peak, and duration" are faster. Lantus is a "basal metabolic insulin", whereas the others are taken up faster, distributed faster, works faster, and wears off faster.

In human medicine, it's a lot like the difference between tylenol/motrin and naproxen...tylenol/motrin is dosed usually 4-6 hours, and only lasts 4-6 hours. Aleve (naproxen) is dosed twice a day, and lasts generally about 12 hours. Both do the same thing - relieve minor pain - but one works much faster, and is metabolized much more quickly - than the other. In humans, Lantus lasts often 18-24 hours, and can be used to give a baseline, background insulin. Humulin works by getting absorbed faster, is used faster (and why we see such dramatic drops), and is depleted faster; that's why we shoot Humulin at each meal and at bedtime.

If you want a more medically-directed explanation, I'll go dig up my pharm book and get it to you, but the above is the "short" answer, and how I explain it to my patients.

Hope it helps...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, +2 116 Support Appreciated

Just wanted to know I am watching out for your and J.D! I know the feeling all too well of not being there when he is dropping. I am sure he will be fine with enough food. When will you be home? Sorry if you posted a time, but I was trying to read through quick, I am dealing with Scrabble hitting the 40's again, I really can't believe him lately! Have a good day, don't worry, I know easier said than done but I am sure he will be fine!!!
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. PMPS 326

Thanks everyone, for your well wishes and support and telling me everything is going to be okay.
I hate it when I walk in the door and there are no kitties right there to greet me. As was the case this evening. But they soon came out of the bedroom and all is well.
I have to get off this computer as we are having a hell of a lightening storm. Twice it was so loud I thought it hit my building, and the first time, the whole building shook. Scary!
I'll be back later.
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, PMPS 326, +2 273, +3.5 188

Not bad at all.
Unfortunately, this little chicky has to go to bed. Ni~ni LL
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. AMPS 197, PMPS 326, +2 273, +3.5 188

what a nice day for J.D. :smile: It's great to see him put together two good cycles in a row (anti-jinx).
 
Re: 03/22 J.D. PMPS 326, +2 273, +3.5 188, +7.25 122

He woke me up using the old smother the bean's face with your belly routine.
BTB.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top