03/22/22 MICIO: AMPS 145 / 80@ +3 / 60@ +6 / 78@ +7 / 69@ +9 / 69@ +10.75

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 151 / 123@ +3 / 123@ +5.75 / 134@ +9 / PMPS 154 / 92@ +3.5 / 107@ +5.75

Micio's BG's on the lower side today; trying to look ahead for next insulin shot and, just in case he'll drop more than we need by shooting time, should I give him some LC now in order to raise his numbers for later or wait untill testing before feed/shoot? @Suzanne & Darcy https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2927914/
Forgot to mention, since he started Benazepril, he seems slower and a bit instable then normal. It says "could cause diziness" on the bottle though, already called the vet but will get back to me tomorrow.
Could that also cause a drop on BG's?
 
Last edited:
I never noticed a change in BG's with benazapril.

You could have fed at +10, but it's a bit late now. When they are low, and unless you know how much of a food bump he gets, I'd avoid feeding after +10. Unless you are OK with a shot time two hours after that. Which is one of the reasons I tried to test by +9 to +10.
 
I never noticed a change in BG's with benazapril.

You could have fed at +10, but it's a bit late now. When they are low, and unless you know how much of a food bump he gets, I'd avoid feeding after +10. Unless you are OK with a shot time two hours after that. Which is one of the reasons I tried to test by +9 to +10.
I did test @ +9 and +10 but wasn't sure what to do. Going to test now
 
I never noticed a change in BG's with benazapril.

You could have fed at +10, but it's a bit late now. When they are low, and unless you know how much of a food bump he gets, I'd avoid feeding after +10. Unless you are OK with a shot time two hours after that. Which is one of the reasons I tried to test by +9 to +10.

Got a 85@pmps and still need to feed. Thinking on shooting 8.25u...?
 
I never noticed a change in BG's with benazapril.

You could have fed at +10, but it's a bit late now. When they are low, and unless you know how much of a food bump he gets, I'd avoid feeding after +10. Unless you are OK with a shot time two hours after that. Which is one of the reasons I tried to test by +9 to +10.
Forgot to say: when I test Micio, I always give him either baby food or cooked meat but there shouldn't be any carbs on it so, not sure it will influence the bg's or not
 
Test treats are fine if low/no carb. If the nadirs you are seeing with 8.5 units are causing some stress/sleepless nights, try 8.25 units as his new dose and see what it does. Think of it as an experiment. I focussed on where the nadirs were, and were I wanted them to be. With an acro, you don't need to focus on maximizing tightly regulated green numbers.
 
I never noticed a change in BG's with benazapril.

You could have fed at +10, but it's a bit late now. When they are low, and unless you know how much of a food bump he gets, I'd avoid feeding after +10. Unless you are OK with a shot time two hours after that. Which is one of the reasons I tried to test by +9 to +10.

I shot 8.25u (per ur suggestion on previous post) and we'll see how he does.
Trying to understand what you mean above...by "fed at +10, did you mean the full/regular meal? Why "shot time 2 hours after that"?
Could you rephrase that, please? Whenever you have the time, thank you
 
Trying to understand what you mean above...by "fed at +10, did you mean the full/regular meal? Why "shot time 2 hours after that"?
Could you rephrase that, please?
Carbs last a couple hours in their system. If you feed at +10 or earlier, then those carbs will have worn off and then you know that the preshot value is not influenced by carbs and you know it's a true number. If you feed after +10, then the preshot number may be artificially and temporarily increased by the food. So the question is, would he have been in safe numbers to shoot if he hadn't had the carbs. If the answer is no, he could drop into unsafe territory when those carbs wear off. So I was talking about just a snack at +10.5, which is what I presumed the "some LC" you gave at +10.5 was. If you do end up feeding at +10.5, and you don't know what his number would have been without carbs at PMPS, you can delay the shot and redo the PMPS 1/2 hour later to get his true number not influenced by carbs. More details here:
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
 
Carbs last a couple hours in their system. If you feed at +10 or earlier, then those carbs will have worn off and then you know that the preshot value is not influenced by carbs and you know it's a true number. If you feed after +10, then the preshot number may be artificially and temporarily increased by the food. So the question is, would he have been in safe numbers to shoot if he hadn't had the carbs. If the answer is no, he could drop into unsafe territory when those carbs wear off. So I was talking about just a snack at +10.5, which is what I presumed the "some LC" you gave at +10.5 was. If you do end up feeding at +10.5, and you don't know what his number would have been without carbs at PMPS, you can delay the shot and redo the PMPS 1/2 hour later to get his true number not influenced by carbs. More details here:
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
THANK YOU!
 
Back
Top