nslade001
Member Since 2018
Edited to add: I stopped miralax and egg yolk while she had diarrhea, but stayed on pumpkin and SEB; now she's back on miralax and also d-mannose, and pumpkin and SEB and yolk.
Hi everyone, Willow is doing awesome! Her appetite is great, hungry and eating like a horse, she's relaxed, alert, bright. Hopping up on our bed in the day and, now, through the night, which she hasn't done in *forever*. Peeing well. Sleeping well. Only problem...she hasn't pooped since Monday morning.
Very brief history....had been on Clavaseptin for a very bad UTI, which helped the UTI but made her largely inappetant and, eventually she vomited and had bad diarrhea on Friday the 15th. Gave a night break from antibiotic and switched her to Baytril once daily in am. By that afternoon her poop was formed, and perfect by/on Sunday! Problem is Sunday night I started her on D-Mannose 1 tsp hourly for 4 hours, just after the last dose she developed diarrhea, which continued all night, ending with a small bit Monday morning at 10:45.
And that was it. Nothing that day, or night, or all day and night Tuesday. Yesterday she started going to the litter and *trying* to poop, but nothing. She did this periodically through the day (go to litter, strain, maybe urinate, maybe lie down a brief moment, then either try again or leave). Sometimes she'd lick her nose a bit (nausea)immediately after pushing. But no hiding, or constant trying, or anything like that. Even the straining wasn't dramatic, just a hard push. And she only tried twice an hour in the morning, every 2 hours in the afternoon, every 3 hours in the evening, and only visited the litter twice last night for good pees ... she doesn't have a strong urge to go, and isn't in any discomfort that I can see, and hasn't even gone to try yet this morning and we've all been up 1 1/2 hrs.
What to do??? If I didn't monitor poops, I seriously wouldn't know anything was wrong. Should I just wait and see if it passes, unless she becomes obviously uncomfortable? I did a quick exam last night and she didn't seem painful on belly palpation, just pissy (and all I could feel was fat, she's on a diet) and I didn't feel any hard/impacted stool at the end of her rectum or 1/4" in (didn't go deeper).
Oh, she also earned a reduction yesterday!
Thanks for reading my novella. Any and all advice very much appreciated, as usual. Thank you all so much, with love, Nikki
PS: hope you all had a great night, and wishing you and your kitties a lovely day of safe surfing
AMPS 5.3 (95)
1.05 U Lantus
+3 4.3 (77)
+4 4.7 (85)
+7.5 4.8 (86)
PMPS 5.9 (106)
1.05 U Lantus
+3 6.1 (110) ... 1/2 hr after passing a little poop!
+4 4.9 (88)
Hi everyone, Willow is doing awesome! Her appetite is great, hungry and eating like a horse, she's relaxed, alert, bright. Hopping up on our bed in the day and, now, through the night, which she hasn't done in *forever*. Peeing well. Sleeping well. Only problem...she hasn't pooped since Monday morning.
Very brief history....had been on Clavaseptin for a very bad UTI, which helped the UTI but made her largely inappetant and, eventually she vomited and had bad diarrhea on Friday the 15th. Gave a night break from antibiotic and switched her to Baytril once daily in am. By that afternoon her poop was formed, and perfect by/on Sunday! Problem is Sunday night I started her on D-Mannose 1 tsp hourly for 4 hours, just after the last dose she developed diarrhea, which continued all night, ending with a small bit Monday morning at 10:45.
And that was it. Nothing that day, or night, or all day and night Tuesday. Yesterday she started going to the litter and *trying* to poop, but nothing. She did this periodically through the day (go to litter, strain, maybe urinate, maybe lie down a brief moment, then either try again or leave). Sometimes she'd lick her nose a bit (nausea)immediately after pushing. But no hiding, or constant trying, or anything like that. Even the straining wasn't dramatic, just a hard push. And she only tried twice an hour in the morning, every 2 hours in the afternoon, every 3 hours in the evening, and only visited the litter twice last night for good pees ... she doesn't have a strong urge to go, and isn't in any discomfort that I can see, and hasn't even gone to try yet this morning and we've all been up 1 1/2 hrs.
What to do??? If I didn't monitor poops, I seriously wouldn't know anything was wrong. Should I just wait and see if it passes, unless she becomes obviously uncomfortable? I did a quick exam last night and she didn't seem painful on belly palpation, just pissy (and all I could feel was fat, she's on a diet) and I didn't feel any hard/impacted stool at the end of her rectum or 1/4" in (didn't go deeper).
Oh, she also earned a reduction yesterday!
Thanks for reading my novella. Any and all advice very much appreciated, as usual. Thank you all so much, with love, Nikki
PS: hope you all had a great night, and wishing you and your kitties a lovely day of safe surfing
AMPS 5.3 (95)
1.05 U Lantus
+3 4.3 (77)
+4 4.7 (85)
+7.5 4.8 (86)
PMPS 5.9 (106)
1.05 U Lantus
+3 6.1 (110) ... 1/2 hr after passing a little poop!
+4 4.9 (88)
Last edited: