03/21 Furball, AMPS=349, PMPS=319

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Monday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66660

Just wanted to give an update on Furball. She's holding steady. Yesterday was a crazy day. Still having to fight to get readings, but today was better. Although this morning she didn't want to eat, so I had to skip her shot. She ate good this evening. Hope everyone else's kitties are doing good.
 
hi carla! as long as furball isn't vomiting or acting sick, she doesn't have to eat the exact moment you need to give her the shot. lantus is forgiving in that way - the older insulins you had to make sure they ate before you gave the shot, but that's not the case here.

if she's acting sick, vomiting, or you have some reason to suspect she is off and won't eat in the upcoming few hours, then you would hold off and post here to ask for advice.

lantus doesn't begin to work (the "onset") until about 2 hours after the shot is given.

so glad she's doing better. she'll get used to the testing. great job going on that. did you have trouble with testing the 2 times this week that you didn't have preshot numbers? before long you'll get blood on every poke. just keep at it, keep rewarding - and reward you too. i think it's harder on us to stay at this sometimes!
 
The ? on Furball's spreadsheet is from when I had trouble getting a reading. She was fighting me pretty bad for a couple of days there. The problem I have with holding off on insulin on weekdays is that I have to go to work about 30 minutes after I try to feed her and give her the shot. I don't have time to wait for a while and then see if she'll eat. I can't leave food out and know that she ate it because I have other cats. It's pretty much all or nothing on work days. She barely ate anything this morning, so I was afraid to give her the shot. My time limitations also keep me from being able to post and wait a long time for a reply.
 
ah, gotcha. work does interfere with things, doesn't it!? gotta keep our kitters in supplies, though.

i'm not sure what the best situation's going to be in that case. i wonder about shooting a small amount, less than the normal dose. is food available during the day, or do you feed mealtimes? sorry if i'm repeating questions you've already answered, just trying to think what options might work to help in the situation.
 
Sorry, I would have replied last night, but my internet crashed. I feed two times per day, as my vet instructed. She didn't want me to leave food out during the day.
 
FWIW, most of us leave food out. In fact, I use a timed feeder. That may not work for you if your other cats will polish off the food. Would it be possible to keep Furball in a separate room on the days when you're at work? That way, you could leave food out so Furball could eat at her leisure.
 
I'd love to be able to leave food out during the day, but it won't work. I have 8 cats and they are already split into two groups due to some not getting along. I don't have another room I can put Furball in. I don't think a timed feeder would work because the other cats would eat the food too and I wouldn't know who ate it.
 
Just brainstorming here..... Just out of curiosity, are you usually home by +11 (or thereabout)? If so, you might be able to shoot earlier. You'd be able to see if Furball ate and you might be able to get a +1.
 
I'm usually home around +11 time, depending on traffic. I don't know how easy it will be for me to try to get +1 readings, or any other extra readings. It will probably depend on Furball's mood and how much she fights me. I may try that. I am scheduled to take Furball to the vet on Monday for a glucose curve. I will probably do that since I have been having trouble with getting readings. Then I can discuss with my vet any changes we need to make in the insulin timing and/or dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top