? 03/21 Eddie AMPS 308 +3 281 PMPS 223 +2 160 +3 92 +4 88 +5 115 (fur shot last night?)

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,
Here is yesterday's story:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-20-eddie-amps-227-3-144.260935/#post-2928003

As you can see, I had to be away at shot time last night. I had someone come in to give Eddie his 7.5 shot at the right time. I had demonstrated how to give the shot and I don't know if this was done correctly after all.

When I came home I found projectile vomit in the hallway. From the food consistency it had to be either Eddie or his brother, Blue, but I could not determine which it was.

Eddie's PMPS +2 was higher than usual and I wondered if something had gone awry with the shot. This morning's AMPS is much higher than usual.

I was going to follow advice from @Wendy&Neko this morning to perhaps go to 7.75 based on his numbers for the past while but I didn't because I'm not sure about last night's dose so I stuck to 7.5. I will retest to see if there's any pattern change.

@Wendy&Neko @FrostD Do you think the #rise is connected to a fur shot?

Thank you.
 
I suspect he went lower during the day, then bounced heading into PM cycle. If you didn't smell any insulin on him then I'd say it went in, did you ask sitter?

If it were me I would hold the dose (1) because you don't know how low he went yesterday, and (2) I don't like to increase during a bounce....plus possible fur shot.

He usually clears bounces fast. I'd see how he does tonight, and if no green I'd increase in the morning.
 
It's ironic if he went bouncing into the PM cycle as he's been pretty good lately. I did not smell insulin on him, found only the vomit and didn't ask the sitter as it was her first time giving insulin and although I emphasized the importance of getting the shot right, I can't be sure she did.

I will hold the dose. I just did a +3 and he's 281. I can't be sure about the fur shot but something tells me something funny was/is going on. :cat:
 
There is no issue with increasing during a bounce, you just want to try to avoid increasing on the same cycle as they clear the bounce. See post #17 on this post for more details: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/

My guess was the same as Melissa's, I would have liked to have seen a later test yesterday AM cycle. Especially since you didn't smell insulin. A fur shot is pretty obvious to the nose. Occasionally I see stories of vomit in lower numbers.
 
There is no issue with increasing during a bounce, you just want to try to avoid increasing on the same cycle as they clear the bounce.
So, if he's still high @ PMPS tonight (now) I could increase to 7.75. That's what I'm understanding you to say.

See post #17 on this post for more details: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/

My guess was the same as Melissa's, I would have liked to have seen a later test yesterday AM cycle.
I can't always do a test when I'm working so that's a challenge to be sure.

Especially since you didn't smell insulin. A fur shot is pretty obvious to the nose.
How long does the smell last for as you see I didn't get back until PMPS +2.

Occasionally I see stories of vomit in lower numbers.
 
Back
Top