Nice blue start!![]()
I wondered if he'd stay blue all nightPaws crossed for some green today!
Good for you!I have a feeling he did. I was going to set an alarm for +9 or 10, but fell asleep.
Sounds good to me. I would also look at 'how fast' is the drop when deciding what to feed and when. Bounces are from lower numbers and also steep dropsVery similar to the 03/17 AMPS, so I'm not giving MC at +1, I'll use LC, and only use MC if we hit 80 or lower. Trial and error, right?
.
who it was? Either Sly or Keebler.That's enough of a drop that I might feed a little MC @Bandit's Mom what do you think?Someone scarfed and barfed, I just found it...who it was? Either Sly or Keebler.
Sly isn't interested in wet food RN, so, not sure, he ate some dry, but he's already at 111!
That's enough of a drop that I might feed a little MC @Bandit's Mom what do you think?
Did he eat some dry at +1 this AM? If he's not eating wet...I even tried a different food. @Bandit's Mom I fed MC on 03/17 at +1 and he went up fast.
Did he eat some dry at +1 this AM? If he's not eating wet...
When did you feed MC on 3/17 (you want to start noting it down on the SS for future) reference. I think you can do some now, but go easy if he is flat at +2. He went up from there on 3/17.

When did you feed MC on 3/17 (you want to start noting it down on the SS for future) reference. I think you can do some now, but go easy if he is flat at +2. He went up from there on 3/17.
If there is a long gap between meals at night, that could be causing stomach acid build-up. Puking in the morning, drinking a lot of water and then puking could all be signs of that.Because after dry he drinks water, so its too much all at one time. I'll also set my alarm for +7 in the PM Cycle and throw down a tspn of dry so he isn't a maniac in the morning.
If there is a long gap between meals at night, that could be causing stomach acid build-up. Puking in the morning, drinking a lot of water and then puking could all be signs of that.
LOL. OK. Let's see the +2.

Nice greens you’ve got there! Surf safely, sweet Sly![]()
Out of sheer curiosity, at +3 I got enough blood for 2 tests, so I checked the AT2 and it was 81, so now I see the ratio is much tighter at lower readings.
Knowing this, I think holding him in the high 70s on the human meter may be the lowest I want him to drop. My Vet looked back at all his pre-DX BGs and they were between 95 and 120.
Good to see you in the green zone, Sly! Mikan is following his suit today (at +5 69). Let's drive safely and stay in the dark green!![]()
Good for you!
Sounds good to me. I would also look at 'how fast' is the drop when deciding what to feed and when. Bounces are from lower numbers and also steep drops.
ETA also feeding carbs later in the cycle even with an 80 but after nadir can reduce duration and contribute to bouncing.
Such a delicate balancing act![]()

I rememberIf you remember, over a week ago, when you stayed with me and I stalled the 30 minutes, he was trying to drink because he was Mr. Hangry Pants...![]()
. That's adorable. I remember. That's adorable.
Great cycle and fabulous job so far today!
With a diet change, less dry more wet I would err on the side of caution and reduce. But by how much??? I'm out and about but will definitely brain storm with you and some others in a bit.Thanks Ang! I do like these numbers, but I'm honestly on the fence and thinking about taking a 1/4U reduction.
To me, low 70s are a little low, at least for him. He's never had BG in the 80s or 90s (in terms of actual BG prior to DX).
I won't know unless I go back down to the 5.25, and at the worst, I'll have to look at ugly numbers for a week.
Part of this consideration, is the fact that he had his diet cut back too, so maybe this dose TRULY is a bit high based on what he's eating. If he didn't need to drop a few pounds, it wouldn't be a factor.
What are your thoughts?

@Deb and Sylvester I've been thinking about your question all afternoon/early evening.
I reread the sticky on SLGS and I think you should lower the dose. See excerpt from SLGS:
"As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change)." emphasis added.
I'm going to tag more experienced members to advise on the dose since Sly is currently at 5.5 units - @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom please see post #32.
I took the reduction.
Let's see what he does with it this week![]()



Angela was correct that a decrease was earned with the bg under 90 with SLGS. Congrats.
I’d suggest you go back down to 5u instead of 5.25u.
) a reduction. Deb tests a lot! I'm just wondering if she should go down from 5.5 to 5 bc As far as I can see, there being a different reduction point of 70 isn’t mentioned anywhere and on pm of March 17th that wasn’t followed anyway? It makes it somewhat difficult to offer suggestions. Dry food is still in the mix, and it is one of those unknown variables in terms of how kitty’s BG is influenced and for how long.
As for my original comment, that hasn’t changed, I’d go down to 5u.
As far as I can see, there being a different reduction point of 70 isn’t mentioned anywhere and on pm of March 17th that wasn’t followed anyway? It makes it somewhat difficult to offer suggestions. Dry food is still in the mix, and it is one of those unknown variables in terms of how kitty’s BG is influenced and for how long.
As for my original comment, that hasn’t changed, I’d go down to 5u.
It’s good you noted the lower reduction number on your signature as I did not know that. I would still have suggested a .25 reduction since your increases are in .25 increments however if he decides to race down the dosing scale larger reductions may be needed.
Why do you feel reducing is safer in .25 increments? I disagree. If he starts getting low green with you feeding less dry .50 increments might be safer.
Sounds good and actually my feeling too in your case although others disagree. Cats that are not seeing green do need larger increases at higher levels to make an impact. every cat is different. Thanks for clarifying.
