03/19 Furball AMPS=?, +11 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday = viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66464

I had a difficult decision to make this morning. I couldn't get a reading from Furball before I fed her and had to give her shot. I have a limited amount of time in the morning before I have to leave for work. I tried three times to get a reading and had no luck. I have scratched up hands to show for it. I decided to give just 1 unit, instead of 2 since she ate good. I didn't think it would be a good idea to skip another day so soon. I had to skip Saturday. I checked her as soon as I got home from work and got the 349 reading.

I'm still not sure what dose I need to be giving her. My vet is convinced 2 units is the right dose, but that seems too much to me. Especially since she doesn't always eat very well. With her weight at about 11 pounds 8 ounces consistently, I think 1 unit is what she needs. Is the 349 a normal reading at +11 for a beginner? I think her glucose is supposed to come back up before her next shot, but I didn't know if this is too high. I just started her on the Lantus this past Friday morning.

I cannot leave food out because I have other cats. I wouldn't know which one ate it. Thanks for your advice.
 
Hi Carla,

+11 will typically be a little higher than the PMPS, but not by too much.

Remember that Lantus has to build up in kitty's system before you start to see results so it will take a day or so before you see decreased numbers. This is why when starting out it is recommended to hold the dose for 3 to 5 days to give time for the shed to fill.

Keep with the routine of Test -> Feed - > Shoot, eventually Furball will get used to it. When you do get a reading make sure to give a favorite treat and lots of praises.
 
Also, did you get a PMPS reading? I am hoping you didn't post it yet because you and Furball are working together to get that drop of blood on the test strip. ;-)
 
A lot can change in an hour. So, you always want to try and get a reading before you shoot. This will become espeically important in a few days once the reserve shed of insulin builds up in Furball's system.
 
I'll keep that in mind. I'm still trying to figure everything out. I'll have to try extra hard to get those pre-shot numbers. Hopefully Furball will calm down soon and stop fighting me so much. Thanks for letting me know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top