03/19 - Freckles-Judy - PMPS 148, 218@+2

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
last post

I hope everyone is keeping themselves and kitties safe! One thing with this self-isolation is there is plenty of time do do testing now!

Freckles had a nice day of predominately blues. We are set for another increase tomorrow morning unless she impresses me tonight with some green action. Hard to believe that we will be shooting 10 u! When we first started the FD journey I remember phoning the vet's and confirming what 1u looked like because it looked like basically nothing! Here we are at 10u and I would love to be at the point to be shooting 1u. One day we will be back there! :)

Take care everyone!
 
How are you liking levemir Judy?
There are definite + and -. On the + side, Freckles isn't bothered by the high doses now (no more flinching). On the - side, I'm having to get up at around 2:00 am to try and catch the pm nadir - that isn't so great. She has always been a 'flat' cat so the change in insulin hasn't really affected any bounces because she's not a huge bouncer... thank gawd!

Thanks for asking!
 
Why did you switch to Levimir if you don’t mind me asking?
2 reasons. Freckles tests came back insulin resistant so there was a chance that a different insulin would confuse the antibodies that were resisting the Lantus. It didn't work, but it was worth a try. The second reason was Freckles was starting to flinch and squirm when I gave her the shot. At high doses the Lantus was stinging because it has a more acidic base than Levemir.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top