03/19 Frankie AMPS 373; +4 171

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan and Frankie

Member Since 2013
I have a confession to make. :o

I have been dosing 0.5 for a few days (note the 2 asterisks on 3-15). I did this because I had made the mistake of jumping her dose to 1.0 when I first started and I wanted to be sure that I did not miss her ideal dose... 0.75 was looking pretty good, but she was still bouncing so high and I was hoping to lower her preshot numbers. I hope everyone can forgive me as I had no intention of misleading anyone, it was for my own purpose of knowing for sure, after reading condos of numerous others, who were concerned about missing their kitty's ideal dose, I needed to be sure, and I did not want/need flack from anyone about it... As of now, she has been on this for 4 days and was given 0.5 this morning. I want to hold the dose for a few more days as it seems that some cats can take up to 7 days to react to a dose change... as of yet, I have seen no real reaction. Except that I am not seeing as much blue, or any green.... I believe this to be a reaction to the dose change. So anyways... Not that it is out in the open, after today when everyone is up to speed, I will revise the SS to reflect what has been the "true" dose.

Again, sorry for going rouge, but I needed to know for myself and I don't think I can be blamed for that.

-Dan

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=91229
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

Dan as always Frankie is your girl, and I know you only have her best intentions in mind, if dropping her back to .5u just to answer the what ifs in your own mind was what you felt you had to do, then so be it..but it also may help to explain the lack of her surfing the blues as she was. I wouldn't hold her there much longer though it you don't start seeing better numbers. But at least you know that down isn't the answer so the only course to head from here on out is up.

I don't think you are the first nor will you be the last that early on in treatment will try a "reboot" been there myself, just because I tend to be a little OCD about those kinds of things and if I think I may have missed something will rewind to give it a go. This is afterall not a sprint but a marathon, so at worse Frankie had a set back of a week and you were able to answering any nagging questions in your own mind. I don't think anyone can fault you for that. But I do think when you raise her back up you can skip over the .75u and go straight to the 1u again and see if now that she has been down to those blues the dose increase will give her more time in the blues and maybe even a sprinkling of green without such high swings back to the reds.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

Dan-

Rebooting is sometimes part and parcel with the FD dance- we've all done it.
So you have a clear head and have gotten some excellent data from it and you know that all the bases were covered.

:-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

Thanks for not burning me at the stakes.... UT for a crazy doc appt.... Need to keep the crazy pills coming.
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

Dan and Frankie said:
Thanks for not burning me at the stakes.... UT for a crazy doc appt.... Need to keep the crazy pills coming.


Poor Dan,

I'm laughing because I so understand the whole I want to try something but I don't want the experts to think I'm challenging their knowledge/don't want to get hollered at/don't want a told you so if it doesn't work/insert whatever reason here.....

I got lots and lots of advice when I posted my first question what seems like forever but was only maybe six weeks ago and it was a bit overwhelming. I had to post in a different place, I had my title wrong, I had my spreadsheet wrong...and then when I decided I just wasn't quite up to all the requirements and I'd lurk - I got private messages with even more suggestions......all of which were intended to be helpful, but it just was just information overload. I finally knew I had to get some guidance and I was lucky enough to find some experienced pet parents here on the relaxed board who are willing to help where they can. To me "relaxed" doesn't just describe the protocol, it describes the attitude and its a good fit for me.

Anyhow - she's your cat - and you are the only person who knows her....everyone else just sees the "numbers" and your stories and might make suggestions based on those factors and their own experience. But I can't imagine anyone here giving you a hard time for doing whatever you feel is best......and if its ever appeared that way, its just because the written word doesn't include the nuances of speech or the body language of face to face.

Em
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

We are not vets, so you don't need to fear us.
Trying stuff is the way lots of us learn, so by sharing what you want to try, you will get good feedback on tips like what to watch if you want to do a reboot - test for ketones, or what to expect if your experiment is working.

I bet whatever you think of to try, it's been tried before by others, so why not let them tell you how their attempts went.... it may help you a great deal.
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

Blue said:
We are not vets, so you don't need to fear us.
Trying stuff is the way lots of us learn, so by sharing what you want to try, you will get good feedback on tips like what to watch if you want to do a reboot - test for ketones, or what to expect if your experiment is working.

I bet whatever you think of to try, it's been tried before by others, so why not let them tell you how their attempts went.... it may help you a great deal.

This is why I decided to "come out" for lack of better term... I had people suggesting I should go up and some suggesting I should go down... I wanted to bring it out to have everyone on the same page... as some were saying that not enough could look like too much and some saying just the opposite...so this way everyone knows where I am at... for real...

So, I am glad I stuck with it because this is the 1st run of blues I've seen since taking her down to .5, I am intrigued to see what her PMPS will be now that her AMPS has been staring in the mid 300's vs the mid 400s... I'm monitoring closely, not that I am too concerned of her going too low, but that I want to know where her NADIR is at this dose... it seems she has always been around +5.
 
Re: 03/19 Frankie AMPS 373

Dan and Frankie said:
This is why I decided to "come out" for lack of better term... I had people suggesting I should go up and some suggesting I should go down... I wanted to bring it out to have everyone on the same page... as some were saying that not enough could look like too much and some saying just the opposite...so this way everyone knows where I am at... for real...

So, I am glad I stuck with it because this is the 1st run of blues I've seen since taking her down to .5, I am intrigued to see what her PMPS will be now that her AMPS has been staring in the mid 300's vs the mid 400s... I'm monitoring closely, not that I am too concerned of her going too low, but that I want to know where her NADIR is at this dose... it seems she has always been around +5.


Dammit Dan - you made me spit Coke zero all over my monitor with that coming out comment..........But I think she's going to prove you wrong and go lowest at +6...just cause she's a cat :)
 
Dan and Frankie said:
+6.5 193.... I'm callling it... NADIR is 5.5 :lol: I love it when I'm right :lol: :razz:


Hey - you said around 5 - I said 6 - looks like she let us both be right :).......

*and you're married so you know about arguing with females (where's the tongue sticking out icon).

In any case congrats for what looks like a really nice run......

Em
 
Yes, I am married and I'll take any time I can be right, because mostly, I am wrong :sad: I'm very interested in what the PMPS do ;-)
 
Frankie's nadir is +5.5 TODAY,that doesn't mean it will be tomorrow or the next day. :o

Sorry Dan, it can change. :-x It's still a guessstimate on any given day, unless you do what you did today and test every 30 min to find it.

From what I understand, the majority of cats have nadir around +6, so between +5 and +7 is still around +6 in my book. :lol: Lucian has shown +5-+7 so I guess he's still in the majority, although I think he went +8 once.

Can't bet on anything when it comes to cats! :shock: :lol:
 
LOL You are getting smart but cats will always out smart us. Just ask the 14 here, they all managed to stay even after I said no more than 3. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
LOL You are getting smart but cats will always out smart us. Just ask the 14 here, they all managed to stay even after I said no more than 3. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


I must learn to swallow before reading.......that's all there is to it.

Em
 
And her pmps is............? Inquiring minds are dying to know. nailbite_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'm sorry it was 400, but I had to test/shoot 30 mins early because we had a function to attend. I just got back and have a mess of conditions on an appraisal I have to address now because I wont have time to do it in the morning

I'll get a +3 in a few
 
Dan and Frankie said:
I'm sorry it was 400, but I had to test/shoot 30 mins early because we had a function to attend. I just got back and have a mess of conditions on an appraisal I have to address now because I wont have time to do it in the morning

I'll get a +3 in a few


Whew - now I can get to bed.......but I understand the timing thing - I sometimes have to do it myself but generally am not honest enough to confess it :).

Em
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top