03/19/12 Hershey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
03/19/12
AMPS +12.5 (393) 10:05am .6u - moving shot time

So - the day isn't starting out great...

1) Didn't see the suggestion to reduce shot after last night's (90) with possibly (probable) bounce.

2) Sure hoping the Friskies (Mixed Grill, in particular that says 8%) listed on Binky's list are the Pate ones? Oreo won't eat the Wellness anymore, but will eat the Friskies Pate.

I posted a separate note asking: "We're having a storm. Hershey went running when the thunder clapped. Oreo was eating, so Doug took out the trash - AND - when Oreo left a little around the edges, Hershey thought he should do clean-up duty. He couldn't have gotten very much because Oreo hoovers and because I caught him with a little still left around the edges. "

Great...Wonder what that'll do to his BG


+3 (243)
+6 (187)


PMPS +12.5 (281) 10:30pm .4u Moving shot time
+6 (285) 4:30am
+11 (295) 9:30am
 
Try not to fret the bounce numbers because you know they are temporary AND it's because he had an awesome cycle. After a few more awesome cycles and bounces things should start to settle down for him again.

The Friskies 8% might effect him a little but it's not like he got into kibble or anything.

I hope the storm isn't severe, such awful storms lately.
 
+6 (187)

Yeah, I've been wondering how many nice cycles before his body will stop panicking over those pretty low numbers.

The storm was short-lived here, but I talked my son and he said it was looking bad in Wilmington. Lots of rain, lightning and funny sounding thunder. Said he couldn't see the parking deck from his window because it was raining so hard. It's beautiful and sunny here now and Doug is raking the pine straw so he can plant the blueberry bushes Aunt Tina sent home with us. She said hers needed to be thinned out, so we sacrificed and brought home 8 - sure hope they like it here! :-D
 
It's hard to say how long the bouncing goes on, Hershey had gotten used to it before so it shouldn't be too long.

I'm glad the storm didn't last, I hope your son is ok too.
 
PMPS +12.5 (281) 10:30pm .4u - moving shot time

Well, it's going to be .4u, unless I hear otherwise. Heading to feed. He's been carrying on about food for the better part of the evening. Don't know WHAT time zone his stomach is on tonight! Guess whichever one suits him at the time!!
 
Poor Hershey! His whole schedule has been shaken up the last week or so! I'm sure that's why he's hungry. Hopefully all will return to his "normal" soon.

Grayson has a special surprise for Hershey tomorrow... if I can successfully upload, that is!
 
If I tell him he may get a surprise he might not be able to sleep tonight - and he can't sleep, guess who else he thinks should be awake? ;-) So, I'll wait until it arrives

I don't know why he's been hungrier today. Or, it could just be that he wants extra attention because once he has my undivided attention he stops carrying on.

And, don't feel bad for him about a changing schedule, he does it to me regularly! esp on Saturday nights - just check his SS

Hope all is well at your house -
 
Doug N Libby said:
If I tell him he may get a surprise he might not be able to sleep tonight - and he can't sleep, guess who else he thinks should be awake? ;-) So, I'll wait until it arrives

I don't know why he's been hungrier today. Or, it could just be that he wants extra attention because once he has my undivided attention he stops carrying on.

And, don't feel bad for him about a changing schedule, he does it to me regularly! esp on Saturday nights - just check his SS

Hope all is well at your house -


Oh, the restless nights, filled with anticipation!

Since Grayson stopped doing the dance marathons (Thank God!!!), I've actually done fairly well at staying on schedule... except when I make foolish mistakes like making or accepting dinner invitations for 6 pm when shot time 6:30! I have to admit, however, that it's been hard to hold out the 12 hours when his BG is upper 300s at +10 or so. I'd really rather not see ANY red on his spreadsheet. I had thought we were past those days, but clearly, I was mistaken!

Hopefully you'll have him back to a schedule that works for you both, really soon! The pictures we shot when you were here turned out great!
 
Thank you for the pictures you sent. I kept meaning to send you a note, but don't think I ever did. Sorry :sad: And, thanks, again, for taking care of him while we were gone :smile:
 
Hi Libby,
I know it is hard but try not to fret over the bad cycle
unfortunatey it is part of the dance
Hang int here, it is only 6 more hours to another cycyle
 
I signed off early last night. We were having storms here.

If your AMPS is lower we may need to take another .1u off the lower end of the scale.

I'll check back.
 
+11 (295)

A flat cycle may be a disappointing, but at least his numbers weren't as high as we HAVE seen. So, maybe this is the start in the right direction? So, with meter variance, still not actually rising or falling. Still moving shot time, so will test again at +12.5

Hope all is well with y'all and you didn't see much damage from the storms many of us experienced. We had a doozy overnight, haven't been out to check this morning, but it's thundering, again...or still...and dark, so we aren't finished...

Have a great day -

Libby
 
Hershey's pattern has been whenever he is high and flat it is followed by an extreme drop, so watch for it, he's fooled me twice now with it.

This time maybe we can stay ahead of it and decrease the dose before the big drop.
 
We were just about to shoot .4 (scale right now is 300 - 349 .5u) because the (302) is so close to (300) and he's been so flat. Also, looking at 3/17 we shot .5u into (304) and he rose the whole cycle - until PMPS. And, on 3/16 we shot .5 into (296). He dropped to (201) but was (345) by PS.

Am I tracking right or way off base?

So, .4 or .3?
 
After looking at the last cycle -

We shot .4u into (281) and he stayed flat. +/- 20 would mean the (302) is actually possibly only 1 number different. So, chose the .3u and will hope for the best.

Did my reasoning make sense to anybody else?
 
Doug N Libby said:
We were just about to shoot .4 (scale right now is 300 - 349 .5u) because the (302) is so close to (300) and he's been so flat. Also, looking at 3/17 we shot .5u into (304) and he rose the whole cycle - until PMPS. And, on 3/16 we shot .5 into (296). He dropped to (201) but was (345) by PS.

Am I tracking right or way off base?

So, .4 or .3?


Yep, you are on the right track, you can always look back to see what a dose did on any given PS and adjust up or down.

For Hershey in the past I would be thinking it looked like he needed a reduction but then he would get a high flat cycle that looks like he should increase so I would be on the fence and want to see another cycle or two and them blammo he would drop like a rock, so now I want to see if by reducing now we can stay one step ahead of him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top