? 03/18 Blanche 302@AMPS, 72@+3, 348@+9.30, 374@PMPS and 3 more questions.

Blanche

Member Since 2026
Hello all!
I hope you are all well and that all the kitties surfs whithin the safety nets!🏄‍♀️🦺😻

Today was not a very good day for many reasons. One of them, and the most important, is Blanche's numbers. It seems nothing I do matters. Not the food, nor the amount of insulin, she has always a very high PMPS and a very high night cycle. All night on fuchsia numbers. Today, second day after the last reduction her numbers start to jump to fuchsia even at AMPS+9.30!

And then at AMPS +3 she will dive no matter what. After AMPS I test every hour, try to feed the curve but not with HC to protect her afternoon cycle, still nothing works. How can the BG drops after the morning shot and ignore all the PMS insulin, is beyond me.
And therein lies the second reason today was not a very good day. With this morning pattern I cannot in good conscience leave before AMPS+4 not without accepting the possibility not to find her alive when I came back.
I noticed that she doesn't search for food when she dive too low, she eats only If I put it before her. So even if I install a Libre, I'm not confident at all that she will search for food in my absense and she will not sleep her self through an hypo an to a coma (I cannot even write down what come's next).
So I absolutly have to move her AMS 3h earlier in order to be at home at +3 and then leave for the office. I run out of excuses to work at home, I need to go to the office or I will face serious consequences. The shot times were scheduled when we start on caninsulin and the procedure was as simple as "eat-shoot-leave" and with no home test! (It seems a lifetime ago...)
So I'm wondering if there is a protocol of mooving the shot times faster than 15m every 12h, because at this rate I will need 6 days and I don't have them.

The third reason today was not a very good one is that after all that reading here and at Dr Pierson's amazing website I realise that maybe, probably I food poisoning my cats by feeding them "high quality prescription" dry food and that I have to change that asap. Tonight I was desperate to give Blanche something LC to eat with the MC RC diabetic wet, so I boiled an egg and I mix half of it with the wet food. She ate it con gusto and for the first time after almost 10 days she had a yellow PMPS +2!
I want to try to prepare her food, I know my way arround a kitchen, but I would like to hear any imput you have from your experience. Preferably I would like to prepare their food, but that means I have to know what my two other cats suffering from liver condition (and currently under medication) can or cannot eat. I have to know what on earth a "low protein diet" means for a cat. Surely not the 31% kcl from carbs and 46.5% from fat of the RC Hepatic.
So, any words of widsome will be more than welcome...

(The forth reason today was not a good day is that I recieved the PetSure microchip feeder and the hub wont connect to the wifi extenter for no apparent reason. So I cannot set up and use the feeder. But this is a minor problem and one way or another, I will solve it. :cat:)
 
Last edited:
Hi Athanasia, Here is a discussion about moving shot times that might help Info - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule.

The prescription food for diabetics is not optimal. @Staci & Ivy and some others on the board make their own food; perhaps she can give you some guidance about what she does for Ivy.

It takes some times to get kitties regulated on insulin, and you are still at the beginning of your journey. Look at Jude's numbers back in 2024--we were well into 2025 before we started seeing any consistent numbers.

If it's possible to wean Blanche off the dry food and switch to TR, you might see better numbers because you won't need to take reductions as frequently and will be able to hold a dose a bit longer due to TR's lower reduction number. It's just a thought.
 
Hi Athanasia, Here is a discussion about moving shot times that might help Info - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule.

The prescription food for diabetics is not optimal. @Staci & Ivy and some others on the board make their own food; perhaps she can give you some guidance about what she does for Ivy.

It takes some times to get kitties regulated on insulin, and you are still at the beginning of your journey. Look at Jude's numbers back in 2024--we were well into 2025 before we started seeing any consistent numbers.

If it's possible to wean Blanche off the dry food and switch to TR, you might see better numbers because you won't need to take reductions as frequently and will be able to hold a dose a bit longer due to TR's lower reduction number. It's just a thought.
Thanks a lot Mary for replying!
Sure, as soon as I have all the info I need for prepare her food and feel confident about, I will switch to TR. And you certainly are right. We are at the very beginning of this journey. And mind you, it isn't that I'm not patient but I hate to feel so helpless when she is hurting with such an elevate BG.

Thanks again :bighug:
 
Thanks a lot Mary for replying!
Sure, as soon as I have all the info I need for prepare her food and feel confident about, I will switch to TR. And you certainly are right. We are at the very beginning of this journey. And mind you, it isn't that I'm not patient but I hate to feel so helpless when she is hurting with such an elevate BG.

Thanks again :bighug:
Everyone here understands your concerns about getting her bg down--we've all struggled with that at one time (or more than one time!) or another. You're doing a great job caring for her!!
 
Hi Athanasia, Here is a discussion about moving shot times that might help Info - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule.

The prescription food for diabetics is not optimal. @Staci & Ivy and some others on the board make their own food; perhaps she can give you some guidance about what she does for Ivy.

It takes some times to get kitties regulated on insulin, and you are still at the beginning of your journey. Look at Jude's numbers back in 2024--we were well into 2025 before we started seeing any consistent numbers.

If it's possible to wean Blanche off the dry food and switch to TR, you might see better numbers because you won't need to take reductions as frequently and will be able to hold a dose a bit longer due to TR's lower reduction number. It's just a thought.
I do make Ivy’s food. There are many ways to do this.
Many people use a “completer” with all the vitamins needed.

I work with a veterinarian who is a nutritionist and she formulates recipes for Ivy based on her situation (low carb, medium carb and high carb for diabetes control and with respect to kidney issues).

As you are aware, the nutritional component of what our cats eat is very important to their overall health.

I decided to cook for Ivy even before diabetes was part of our lives. But it’s even more important now I believe.

I’m sure you will find the best solution for your cats. It’s good you’re looking at options!
You’re doing a great job with Blanche 🥰💕😻
 
I cook for my cats but do use a completer. The ones I know of are not available in Greece. I just did a search. Getting off the dry diabetic food will help a lot. You have a bouncy kitty which is quite common at the beginning as Mary said but Blanche is quite dramatic about it!
 
I do make Ivy’s food. There are many ways to do this.
Many people use a “completer” with all the vitamins needed.

I work with a veterinarian who is a nutritionist and she formulates recipes for Ivy based on her situation (low carb, medium carb and high carb for diabetes control and with respect to kidney issues).

As you are aware, the nutritional component of what our cats eat is very important to their overall health.

I decided to cook for Ivy even before diabetes was part of our lives. But it’s even more important now I believe.

I’m sure you will find the best solution for your cats. It’s good you’re looking at options!
You’re doing a great job with Blanche 🥰💕😻

Hi Saci
As you probably know by now, also from Hellen's posts, there is not easy to find a nutritionist vet in Greece. Even so in other than Athens cities. I would be happy to have a consultation with Dr. Pierson but it seems she took a break from consultations. So I have to find a solution elsewhere. And I'm terrified that my other kitties will suffer in the future by the "prescription" pricey food choice. I can also try to prepare Dr Pierson's recipe (I found all the necessairy supplements) but I have to know if it is good for the others too. I'm desperate to understant how you can feed a cat whith liver condition a naturaly low protein diet without add potatos and such.
Does your vet do oversee consultations? Since she came so higly recommeded by Ivy, I'm willing to give a try! 😻 💖


I cook for my cats but do use a completer. The ones I know of are not available in Greece. I just did a search. Getting off the dry diabetic food will help a lot. You have a bouncy kitty which is quite common at the beginning as Mary said but Blanche is quite dramatic about it!
Hi Tiffmaxee!
Quite dramatic it is! I also make a search and I didn't find an available completer though I found all the necessary supplements for Dr Pierson's recipe. I' m working to cut her of the dry food completely, I give her only 14-15gr at breakfast to boost a little her morning cycle and then nothing else but wet RC and half an egg at dinner! I have to admitt I'm quite impressed by the effect egg has at her BG and that she has a very hight carb sensitivity. As soon as her food is MC she is doing ok. If she steal even four kibbles from HC she surfs to the moon!
 
Back
Top