Blanche
Member Since 2026
Hello all!
I hope you are all well and that all the kitties surfs whithin the safety nets!


Today was not a very good day for many reasons. One of them, and the most important, is Blanche's numbers. It seems nothing I do matters. Not the food, nor the amount of insulin, she has always a very high PMPS and a very high night cycle. All night on fuchsia numbers. Today, second day after the last reduction her numbers start to jump to fuchsia even at AMPS+9.30!
And then at AMPS +3 she will dive no matter what. After AMPS I test every hour, try to feed the curve but not with HC to protect her afternoon cycle, still nothing works. How can the BG drops after the morning shot and ignore all the PMS insulin, is beyond me.
And therein lies the second reason today was not a very good day. With this morning pattern I cannot in good conscience leave before AMPS+4 not without accepting the possibility not to find her alive when I came back.
I noticed that she doesn't search for food when she dive too low, she eats only If I put it before her. So even if I install a Libre, I'm not confident at all that she will search for food in my absense and she will not sleep her self through an hypo an to a coma (I cannot even write down what come's next).
So I absolutly have to move her AMS 3h earlier in order to be at home at +3 and then leave for the office. I run out of excuses to work at home, I need to go to the office or I will face serious consequences. The shot times were scheduled when we start on caninsulin and the procedure was as simple as "eat-shoot-leave" and with no home test! (It seems a lifetime ago...)
So I'm wondering if there is a protocol of mooving the shot times faster than 15m every 12h, because at this rate I will need 6 days and I don't have them.
The third reason today was not a very good one is that after all that reading here and at Dr Pierson's amazing website I realise that maybe, probably I food poisoning my cats by feeding them "high quality prescription" dry food and that I have to change that asap. Tonight I was desperate to give Blanche something LC to eat with the MC RC diabetic wet, so I boiled an egg and I mix half of it with the wet food. She ate it con gusto and for the first time after almost 10 days she had a yellow PMPS +2!
I want to try to prepare her food, I know my way arround a kitchen, but I would like to hear any imput you have from your experience. Preferably I would like to prepare their food, but that means I have to know what my two other cats suffering from liver condition (and currently under medication) can or cannot eat. I have to know what on earth a "low protein diet" means for a cat. Surely not the 31% kcl from carbs and 46.5% from fat of the RC Hepatic.
So, any words of widsome will be more than welcome...
(The forth reason today was not a good day is that I recieved the PetSure microchip feeder and the hub wont connect to the wifi extenter for no apparent reason. So I cannot set up and use the feeder. But this is a minor problem and one way or another, I will solve it.
)
I hope you are all well and that all the kitties surfs whithin the safety nets!
Today was not a very good day for many reasons. One of them, and the most important, is Blanche's numbers. It seems nothing I do matters. Not the food, nor the amount of insulin, she has always a very high PMPS and a very high night cycle. All night on fuchsia numbers. Today, second day after the last reduction her numbers start to jump to fuchsia even at AMPS+9.30!
And then at AMPS +3 she will dive no matter what. After AMPS I test every hour, try to feed the curve but not with HC to protect her afternoon cycle, still nothing works. How can the BG drops after the morning shot and ignore all the PMS insulin, is beyond me.
And therein lies the second reason today was not a very good day. With this morning pattern I cannot in good conscience leave before AMPS+4 not without accepting the possibility not to find her alive when I came back.
I noticed that she doesn't search for food when she dive too low, she eats only If I put it before her. So even if I install a Libre, I'm not confident at all that she will search for food in my absense and she will not sleep her self through an hypo an to a coma (I cannot even write down what come's next).
So I absolutly have to move her AMS 3h earlier in order to be at home at +3 and then leave for the office. I run out of excuses to work at home, I need to go to the office or I will face serious consequences. The shot times were scheduled when we start on caninsulin and the procedure was as simple as "eat-shoot-leave" and with no home test! (It seems a lifetime ago...)
So I'm wondering if there is a protocol of mooving the shot times faster than 15m every 12h, because at this rate I will need 6 days and I don't have them.
The third reason today was not a very good one is that after all that reading here and at Dr Pierson's amazing website I realise that maybe, probably I food poisoning my cats by feeding them "high quality prescription" dry food and that I have to change that asap. Tonight I was desperate to give Blanche something LC to eat with the MC RC diabetic wet, so I boiled an egg and I mix half of it with the wet food. She ate it con gusto and for the first time after almost 10 days she had a yellow PMPS +2!
I want to try to prepare her food, I know my way arround a kitchen, but I would like to hear any imput you have from your experience. Preferably I would like to prepare their food, but that means I have to know what my two other cats suffering from liver condition (and currently under medication) can or cannot eat. I have to know what on earth a "low protein diet" means for a cat. Surely not the 31% kcl from carbs and 46.5% from fat of the RC Hepatic.
So, any words of widsome will be more than welcome...
(The forth reason today was not a good day is that I recieved the PetSure microchip feeder and the hub wont connect to the wifi extenter for no apparent reason. So I cannot set up and use the feeder. But this is a minor problem and one way or another, I will solve it.
)
Last edited:
