03/15 Pookie AMPS 362, +3.5 376, +8 364, PMPS 320

Still bouncing apparently.

Could be. But it's hard to know for sure without a few more tests here and there, imo. I wonder what Pookie got up to last night. And I also wonder what happened during the day yesterday.
If you can swing a +2 on every cycle, that will give you (and @Pooky kyle/Dalton ) some good data on what Pookie might get up to for the rest of the cycle. If you see a +2 that is much lower than the pre-shot, it means an active cycle (ie lower numbers/possible shenanigans), and you'll know that you will need to get some more tests in. If the +2 is higher, take a poke break. If it's the same, then likely to be a flat, quiet cycle but get in another test or two later on. This is what I would do.

Just my two cents. Have a great day.
 
We weren't around to do a +2, but did one as soon as we got home. We'll do another test later in the day, but his numbers are pretty flat.

We did change his dry food last night that we leave out at night, but we don't leave much more than a tbs out.

We are at the tail end of the insulin, with maybe only a few of doses left. Could that be part of it? As far as I can tell this pen would be about two months old.
 
Did a comparison of the dry food that we leave out.

Original (Royal Canin Sensitive Digestion), 33% Protein, 20% crude fat, 3% fibre
Kirkland Indoor Cat (yesterday), 32% Protein, 10% crude fat, 10% fibre

But he's been high for a couple of days so I don't think the food is the huge contributor.
 
You'd be surprised how much the food can affect things. Are Kyle and Dalton planning to switch completely low carb, no dry?
Yes we are !!but we leave our other cats food out during the night so not totally sure if we should keep leaving some out at night or take away all dry food until the morning for our others, I've stocked up on many many cans of low carb friskies and some PC ones and some beyond ones as well that were all quite low carbs but if it is good to try and leave some dry food out at night should we ??
 
dry food that we leave out
Calculating carbohydrates is kind of murky without the Dry Matter values (what was posted above are the GA values). Using just the GA values (I pulled them off their respective websites...Kirkland here and RC here), both are around ~35-40% carbs - the point being that they are very high carb and very well could be driving up Pookie's numbers - I've read anecdotes on here on how a few pieces of kibble a day have driven up #s.

There is an excellent post from @Marje and Gracie , one of the moderators, linked here - at the highest level, you want to know the carbs as a % of calories and this can be done using either the Dry Matter or As Fed Values...these values typically are not on the packaging but you may find them on the manufacture site (for example, Weruva and Wellness are two I know that post them) or you may find them in the Q&A on Chewy.com.

A lot of use Dr. Pierson's food list - linked here - or the Tanya's CKD one - linked here.

I'm not familiar with the low-carb dry food options personally but I think Dr. Elsey's is one. If you want more info on the low carb dry food options, maybe search the board or throw up a question.

The whole food thing can be overwhelming :bighug: but it's really key to the path to regulation...perhaps even think of it as the gateway to it.
 
Last edited:
@JaxBenji - thanks - that is really high in carbs. We'll try doing without tonight and see what happens. He's been having the Royal Canin all along, mostly because he doesn't seem to get the runs as much when he gets it (balancing poopy bum vs blood sugar).
 
@JaxBenji - thanks - that is really high in carbs. We'll try doing without tonight and see what happens. He's been having the Royal Canin all along, mostly because he doesn't seem to get the runs as much when he gets it (balancing poopy bum vs blood sugar).
You can wait for others to weigh in, but I'd only remove the dry if you are prepared to test just incase it is making a big impact on him (i.e. you would need to get a +2 and, depending on that test possibly more tests to see what he's doing - like Lyla said above).

Does he get any wet at night?

balancing poopy bum
I know this is info overload but depending on what's the cause, a good probiotic may help (e.g., s. boualrdii). Lots of good info on ibdkitties and foodfurlife.

You all are doing fantastic :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Seconding what Susanne said - the food is likely keeping his numbers up, and you'll see some better numbers (and probably lower dose) on completely low carb. BUT if you choose to remove the high carb, it needs to be done slowly and with close monitoring. I suspect the night you had blues and greens he maybe didn't get into the dry food.
 
Pookie, Pookie, Pookie. Still high? Why oh why? He's been eating the dry food every night since we got him, and he eats pretty much the same amount every time. Last night I gave him less dry just because he had a regular snack later in the evening.

He has been high ever since we dropped him from 1.5 to 1.25U. Maybe that's a part of it? It's been 5 cycles at the lower dose.

On the plus side I scored a lancet device from my pharmacist friend and that worked really well just now - he didn't even flinch. It was also using the Microlet Silicone Coated lancets.
 
You probably will have to increase the dose again. Welcome to the dance! Up and down and all around...and who knows why some days lol

As for the pokes, it happens. As long as ear is warm, will just take time for capillaries to form. One helpful tip, wait for a drop of blood about the size of a ball on a ball point pen (or the head of a pin). It's a little more blood than you need, but will save the frustration of error codes.
 
Back
Top