? 03/15 Blanche 367@AMPS,187@+2, 73@+3 (41g HC),66@+3.30 (41g MC),63@+4.13 (1 ts LC), 64@+5 (no food),63@+5.30, 81@+6.Did I earn yet an other reduction?

Blanche

Member Since 2026
Hi fellow sugar kitties! (And their awesome moms and dads! ) 💖

At this fine morning (seems years ago) we were not happy - happy with this fuchsia PMPS and an entirely fuchsia night cycle, but were happy because Blanche return to her sassy, bossy, take no prisoners self and we were confident that all will be well (and that maybe I would de able to leave for a few hours and let her ears be).

And then at the AMPS+2 the roller-coaster started! :nailbiting:
We are currently at the +6 and rising, so do I test her again at +8 and +10? Or just at the PMPS?
Other question (maybe a silly one but I will ask any way :) ). As it seems that her night cycle is more lasy - non active, can I shoot 0.75U the PMSs and 0.5U at AMSs?
Is the dosing customisable or it has to be exactly the same each 12h?

Thank you all again and again from the bottom of my ❤️


Previously
 
Last edited:
Hi fellow sugar kitties! (And their awesome moms and dads! ) 💖

At this fine morning (seems years ago) we were not happy - happy with this fuchsia PMPS and an entirely fuchsia night cycle, but were happy because Blanche return to her sassy, bossy, take no prisoners self and we were confident that all will be well (and that maybe I would de able to leave for a few hours and let her ears be).

And then at the AMPS+2 the roller-coaster started! :nailbiting:
We are currently at the +6 and rising, so do I test her again at +8 and +10? Or just at the PMPS?
Other question (maybe a silly one but I will ask any way :) ). As it seems that her night cycle is more lasy - non active, can I shoot 0.75U the PMSs and 0.5U at AMSs?
Is the dosing customisable or it has to be exactly the same each 12h?

Thank you all again and again from the bottom of my ❤️


? - BLANCHE 284@AMPS, 1U, 115@+2 what to do with the dose? UPDATE: So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 (she ate), 73@+3.50, 76@+5, 89@+6.
? - BLANCHE 288@AMPS, 0.75U, 215@+1, 108@+2!
Good questions!! I hope someone will be able to advise, but it sounds like you're on the right track to me!! Here's to a smoother day ahead! 🥂
 
Hi fellow sugar kitties! (And their awesome moms and dads! ) 💖

At this fine morning (seems years ago) we were not happy - happy with this fuchsia PMPS and an entirely fuchsia night cycle, but were happy because Blanche return to her sassy, bossy, take no prisoners self and we were confident that all will be well (and that maybe I would de able to leave for a few hours and let her ears be).

And then at the AMPS+2 the roller-coaster started! :nailbiting:
We are currently at the +6 and rising, so do I test her again at +8 and +10? Or just at the PMPS?
Other question (maybe a silly one but I will ask any way :) ). As it seems that her night cycle is more lasy - non active, can I shoot 0.75U the PMSs and 0.5U at AMSs?
Is the dosing customisable or it has to be exactly the same each 12h?

Thank you all again and again from the bottom of my ❤️


? - BLANCHE 284@AMPS, 1U, 115@+2 what to do with the dose? UPDATE: So 284 AMPS , 115@+2 , 59@+3.37 (she ate), 73@+3.50, 76@+5, 89@+6.
? - BLANCHE 288@AMPS, 0.75U, 215@+1, 108@+2!
Hi Athanasia, yes, Blanche has done it again. She’s earned another reduction by dropping under 90!
Congratulations, she needs less insulin!
Her next dose at Pmps (if she’s high enough to give a shot) will be .50 units.
Be sure to reduce tonight!!

Your goal is to safely give the same dose at each 12 hour period.
If it’s a lower dose that keeps her safe then that’s what you need.
The reason her night cycles are high is because she is bouncing from the low green BG she’s had and it’s a safety mechanism her body does to protect her from going hypoglycemic.

It’s possible she’s headed for remission in that she’s quickly becoming less in need of insulin (anti jinx). But she will tell us as time goes on.
If she begins a fast drop early in the cycle, feed her a teaspoon of medium of high carb to slow the rapid drop (which causes more bouncing).
 
Bouncing can happen when cats have steep drops or hit lower BG than they are used to. For most cats who bounce, bounces will typically clear within 6 cycles (3 days), although we have seen cats (very, very rarely take longer). For bouncy kitties, it’s also a matter of watching whether they begin to clear bounces more quickly, which is where know thy cat comes into play.
Why this is important is because Caregivers who are new and just gathering data on how their cat responds to carbs and insulin will often see higher numbers and think their cat needs an increase.
That’s where patience comes into play!
 
Hi Athanasia, yes, Blanche has done it again. She’s earned another reduction by dropping under 90!
Congratulations, she needs less insulin!
Her next dose at Pmps (if she’s high enough to give a shot) will be .50 units.
Be sure to reduce tonight!!

Your goal is to safely give the same dose at each 12 hour period.
If it’s a lower dose that keeps her safe then that’s what you need.
The reason her night cycles are high is because she is bouncing from the low green BG she’s had and it’s a safety mechanism her body does to protect her from going hypoglycemic.

It’s possible she’s headed for remission in that she’s quickly becoming less in need of insulin (anti jinx). But she will tell us as time goes on.
If she begins a fast drop early in the cycle, feed her a teaspoon of medium of high carb to slow the rapid drop (which causes more bouncing).
Thanks again Staci! 🥰
I will sure reduce the dose! And I'm patient as a monk when their health is at risk. :)
I let her be for now and I will keep you posted! :cat:

Good questions!! I hope someone will be able to advise, but it sounds like you're on the right track to me!! Here's to a smoother day ahead! 🥂
Thanks Morgan! Let's hope! 💖
 
Hi there,
What are you calling MC? On the SS you mention feeding 24%, that's High carb. Not a problem but it makes a difference to those trying to help with dosing.

It seems like you have cut out the diabetic Kibble altogether (also HC)

When was that exactly? Getting rid of the dry can impact the BG hugely once it's out of the system. (I've seen it take 4 or 5 days) Wondering if that's what we are seeing with Blanche.🤔
 
She's looking good and congratulations on earning another reduction👏 🥰

Ps. Please remeber to add the date in your title. That way it's easier for the members to identify what's new.

Happy Sunday
🙋🏻‍♀️🐾🥰☀️😻
 
Hi there,
What are you calling MC? On the SS you mention feeding 24%, that's High carb. Not a problem but it makes a difference to those trying to help with dosing.

It seems like you have cut out the diabetic Kibble altogether (also HC)

When was that exactly? Getting rid of the dry can impact the BG hugely once it's out of the system. (I've seen it take 4 or 5 days) Wondering if that's what we are seeing with Blanche.🤔
Hi Gill and thank you for the remarks!
I correct the MC to HC. I was using the calculator for the only other - than RC Diabetic - wet food I had (Hills i/d ) and I saw the "carbohydrates as fed 7.6%" and I wrote as LC. Then I spoke with @hellen_maggie and she told me that the correct value is the %ME Carbs and I changed at SS but not at the title. My bad. Sorry.
I didn't cut out the diabetic kibble. At the two main meals she eat half/half wet and dry RC diabetic with extra water at the bowl. She eats generally just after the shot. When she ate previously, I mentioned. So, no her diet remains the same.
(I didn't have the time to plan a new diet all together 😿)
Screenshot 2026-03-15 at 12.52.01.png
 
Last edited:
You don’t want to give different doses morning and night unless needed in a particular cycle to keep your cat safe because of lantus being a depot insulin. Just when you get used to higher pm cycles it likely will change. Many cats are lower at night perhaps just to mess with their owners .
 
Thank you Elise! 💖
I'm sure Blanche is lower at morning just for the same reason. She knows I'm a night owl but have to leave at morning, so she does her best to keep me around! 🙃
 
Last edited:
Back
Top